Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 67
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    28

    Squeezebox Radios Reboots, with talk radio in the UK, cable connected , cable connect

    I've got two Squeezebox Radios, although only one use at any one time.

    I get occasional reboots whilst listening typically to a National Talk radio station here in the UK. By reboot, the screen reverts to the normal Logitech symbol and the radio starts from fresh. I've caught the radio pausing and seeing the 'buffering' message on screen just prior to a reboot. Just pulling the RJ45 cablel does not produce a reboot. Buffer overflow ? The offending radio is usually connected via ethernet over mains in normal use (1Gb/s Devolo) but I've seen the same problem running on on a direct router/switch connection. Happens say two or three times worst case on a given day but not every day. I've a 100Mb/s cable modem supplied connection which serves Netflix other services without issues. The broadband connection also tests well with the usual browser test sites.

    My thoughts are:

    i) A hardware fault seems unlikely unless all radios exhibit this problem.

    ii) I've two Touch units which have never rebooted in this manner playing music or radio stations.

    iii) Are others seeing similar 'reboot' issues and have they managed to resolve?


    The ethernet connection to the radio via the Devolo units is reported as approx. 200Mb/s. The radio is mains powered with the original adapter , and I have one for each set.

    Can anybody offer any comment or advice please.



    Firmware Information

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1530185314
    Running on a Rasberry Pi2

    Player Model: Squeezebox Radio
    Player Type: baby
    Firmware: 7.7.3-r16676

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by bayard1music View Post
    I get occasional reboots whilst listening typically to a National Talk radio station here in the UK
    There is a known internal timer bug which reboots Radio after x many hours (can't remeber exact number).

    Which station URL ? The station could be transcoded by LMS or played natively by Radio. If "native" then problem is likely just in Radio otherwise LMS may be involved.

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1530185314
    Many station and internet services are now requiring https which Radio cannop support natively - you should consider upgrading to 7.9.4 or 8.0.0

    edit:

    Spontaneous radio reboot is every 24.855 days
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post966705
    Last edited by bpa; 2020-11-26 at 04:42.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    28

    Assistance with Squeezebox Radio 'reboot's

    Hello,

    Many thanks for jumping in with some help. The main culprit seems to be LBC https://www.lbc.co.uk/

    We notice these reboots mainly on this station but fear I've seen it on another say BBC Radio 2.

    How can I tell whether it needs to be transcoded and where it's done. Sounds like you're hinting it could be peculiar to that station in some way.

    Thanks again.


    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    There is a known internal timer bug which reboots Radio after x many hours (can't remeber exact number).

    Which station URL ? The station could be transcoded by LMS or played natively by Radio. If "native" then problem is likely just in Radio otherwise LMS may be involved.



    Many station and internet services are now requiring https which Radio cannop support natively - you should consider upgrading to 7.9.4 or 8.0.0

    edit:

    Spontaneous radio reboot is every 24.855 days
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post966705

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by bayard1music View Post
    Many thanks for jumping in with some help. The main culprit seems to be LBC https://www.lbc.co.uk/
    That's not a playable station and even though it point to a listening stream , it may not be the one you are playing. What URL are you using ?

    We notice these reboots mainly on this station but fear I've seen it on another say BBC Radio 2.
    Again what station URL - BBC R2 has DASH, HLS and MP3 streams .

    How can I tell whether it needs to be transcoded and where it's done. Sounds like you're hinting it could be peculiar to that station in some way.
    LMS logging is definitive way to show trasncoding but it's hard to check https proxying. So specific URLs are needed to be sure.

    Occasionally stations cause problems. Recently as station changeover to https, users have had lots of problems with station although reboot is not the usual symptom.

    Since other users have not reported this issue, it seems unlikely to be generically hardware/firmware but since it happens on two of your Radios, it indicates a contributory factor outside the Radio device
    If we can exclude station format and LMS, then it will be clear the problem is in the Radio, the local network or power (e.g. dodgy power connector, glitches in mains supply) .

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    26
    Hi,

    Same problem, but with Classic FM. The only common factor is the radio. It's occurred despite using various platforms for the LMS (OSX, PC-based Linux, Raspberry Pi); connection via wifi or ethernet via the ac mains; connecting via mysqueezebox.com or through the LMS.

    It doesn't happen when connecting through my other units, just the radio.

    I have a vague recollection that it didn't happen when the LMS was running on a Sheevaplug but I don't have that anymore so unable to verify if that's the case or not. I recall that the sheevaplug was somewhat limited in its transcoding capabilities so maybe that's a clue to the cause of the behaviour.

    The only thing I've not tried is converting to a UE Smart Radio.

    Hope this helps

    Bob
    LMS Version 8.0.0 running on OSX
    Classic White, Classic Black, Radio , Raspberry Pi +IQAudio, 2 x Raspberry Pi

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by drbob49 View Post
    Same problem, but with Classic FM. The only common factor is the radio.
    Please confirm. The radio reboots when playing Classic FM every couple of hours ?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    28

    URL of station in question, LBC rebooting on my Squeezebox Radio

    OK, this the actual URL stored in my favourites for LBC radio.

    http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?...499603b423f973

    I obtained the above via the Logitech Media Server web interface.

    I've obtained the LBC station on the Radio using the built in list of provided stations. I've not used my own URL.

    Not sure how I can view the URL stored on the actual Preset but believe the above will be it.

    Thanks again.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by bayard1music View Post
    OK, this the actual URL stored in my favourites for LBC radio.

    http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?...499603b423f973

    I obtained the above via the Logitech Media Server web interface.

    I've obtained the LBC station on the Radio using the built in list of provided stations. I've not used my own URL.

    Not sure how I can view the URL stored on the actual Preset but believe the above will be it.

    Thanks again.
    OK, this URL resolves down to two playlists via a https intermediate playlist . Because I am outside the UK it may not be the same for you.
    1. An MP3 mono stream http://media-ice.musicradio.com:80/LBCLondonMP3Low
    2. An AAC stereo stream with metadata http://media-ice.musicradio.com:80/LBCLondon

    They both should play OK natively on Radio and there are a lot of UK SB users so I'd expect a report of issues if it's the station. The "https" part is an intermediary and LMS should deal with it. The ICY metadata on the AAC stream is a bit non standard so it's possible its content at some point might upset the Radio but I think it's unlikely.

    So that probably means issue is with Radio firmware, network or power.

    * Do you have any other radio that are not showing this problem, if so can you swap PSUs. A common reason for odd SB player problems is PSU - often they fail slowly become erratic. Take care - Radio PSU is 18V so it must be another Radio PSU not Touch.
    * Another possible problem could be power connector socket in radio - the connector can become loose from motherboard due to age/solder dry joint. It is easily checked after unplugging PSU.
    * User with Radio using wifi have experienced problem with some newer (e.g. Wifi 6) routers. I don't know if Radio's wifi hardware is turned off when using a wired network connection.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    28

    Squeezebox Radio Reboots, perhaps a hardware/network issue

    Hello,

    I'm sure as you suggest it's not a station issue in view of the quantity of radios in play. Interesting that it's not having to transcode on my Raspberry Pi. In truth I suspect I've had a reboot in the past with Radio 2 as well. It's just the radio is left playing LBC most days.

    Well I've now obtained a 3rd Squeezebox Radio (Number 1 and 2 both reboot with their respective power adaptors.) It had occurred to me (I'm an Electronics Eng.) that it would be great to check operation on a battery . But don't posses one today.
    I've just obtained a 3rd radio to try. So will give this a test and may even purchase a battery.

    As a crude test to check the power supply integrity I've turned the volume control to max. I think this would stress the external and internal supplies . But no reboots occur , which steers me away from this train of thought.

    As mentioned I've intentionally run all of my devices on direct cable connection. WiFi coverage in our Victorian property isn't 100%, even though I've an extra ground floor Devolo WiFi access point (via the mains/ethernet) and a dual band AC2600 router positioned mid way in the house.

    Thanks again for your suggestions.

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    OK, this URL resolves down to two playlists via a https intermediate playlist . Because I am outside the UK it may not be the same for you.
    1. An MP3 mono stream http://media-ice.musicradio.com:80/LBCLondonMP3Low
    2. An AAC stereo stream with metadata http://media-ice.musicradio.com:80/LBCLondon

    They both should play OK natively on Radio and there are a lot of UK SB users so I'd expect a report of issues if it's the station. The "https" part is an intermediary and LMS should deal with it. The ICY metadata on the AAC stream is a bit non standard so it's possible its content at some point might upset the Radio but I think it's unlikely.

    So that probably means issue is with Radio firmware, network or power.

    * Do you have any other radio that are not showing this problem, if so can you swap PSUs. A common reason for odd SB player problems is PSU - often they fail slowly become erratic. Take care - Radio PSU is 18V so it must be another Radio PSU not Touch.
    * Another possible problem could be power connector socket in radio - the connector can become loose from motherboard due to age/solder dry joint. It is easily checked after unplugging PSU.
    * User with Radio using wifi have experienced problem with some newer (e.g. Wifi 6) routers. I don't know if Radio's wifi hardware is turned off when using a wired network connection.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,198
    Quote Originally Posted by bayard1music View Post
    Hello,

    I'm sure as you suggest it's not a station issue in view of the quantity of radios in play. Interesting that it's not having to transcode on my Raspberry Pi. In truth I suspect I've had a reboot in the past with Radio 2 as well. It's just the radio is left playing LBC most days.

    Well I've now obtained a 3rd Squeezebox Radio (Number 1 and 2 both reboot with their respective power adaptors.) It had occurred to me (I'm an Electronics Eng.) that it would be great to check operation on a battery . But don't posses one today.
    I've just obtained a 3rd radio to try. So will give this a test and may even purchase a battery.

    As a crude test to check the power supply integrity I've turned the volume control to max. I think this would stress the external and internal supplies . But no reboots occur , which steers me away from this train of thought.

    As mentioned I've intentionally run all of my devices on direct cable connection. WiFi coverage in our Victorian property isn't 100%, even though I've an extra ground floor Devolo WiFi access point (via the mains/ethernet) and a dual band AC2600 router positioned mid way in the house.

    Thanks again for your suggestions.
    If it is caused by an intermittent socket issue then fitting a battery would allow it to ride through the interruption.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •