Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 70 of 70
  1. #61
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Longtime SB Radio user with no previous trouble connecting to WiFi, and started noticing the WIFI dropping a month or 2 ago. Don't know what caused this behavior as I haven't changed anything on my end with any of the hardware. We use the Comcast/xfinity modem/wifi router so the only thing I can think of is maybe Comcast pushed a firmware update through? Didn't really want to mess with the router/channel settings so I dug up the ASUS WiFi extender that I have to run the ethernet line from that to the Radio. So far so good.

  2. #62
    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    I wonder how many of these problems are from the newer technology routers. I have radios running 15 hours a day that never lose wifi connection. But my routers are probably 4 or 5 year old a/b/g/n routers. Not mesh. (netgear, WNDR3700v2)
    It's not the routers. It's the bad WiFi card of some Radios. I have 2 radios in 2 houses, both loose wifi connection from time to time, from some years. With old and new routers. It works for months without interruptions, but sometimes they don't see the router.

  3. #63
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    11

    WiFi6?

    I recently purchased an ASUS XT8 Mesh. Loved it until it started dumping my Squeezeboxes offline. I spent 8 weeks working with ASUS Tech support to try and resolve, but finally gave up and returned it.

  4. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    108

    Radio consistently losing wifi connection

    I came here to ask about a problem I have been experiencing in the last couple of days, and found this thread.

    In my case, after years of being pretty reliable, the connection has been dropping consistently (red wifi icon). Power cycling the radio seems to bring it back temporarily but invariably if I turn it off (to standby) or pause it, and then try to use it again later, it will have dropped. Sometimes it drops while I am listening to something.

    Nothing has changed on my network as far as I know and all other wifi devices seem to be working as normal.

    I haven't read through the whole thread yet but I wondered if what I am describing sounds like a known failure mode for the Radio (i.e. am I starting to see some hardware issue given its age - somebody mentioned the wifi card earlier?) or whether it's worth trying to mess around with wifi settings.

    Thanks.

  5. #65
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,095
    After years of no issues, all 4 of my radios (but not my Touch) kept dropping WiFi, and only a re-boot temporary re-established the connection. I tried a different Meah router and an ASUS router (which I liked, so it replaced my Google WiFi)
    Nothing in the ASUS settings worked. I’m certain that in my case it’s interference from a neighbors WiFi combined with the old WiFi card in the Radio.

    A WiFi to Ethernet adaptor was my solution (working great for the last 2 months)
    See: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post981597
    And: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post981790
    Last edited by Tony T; 2020-09-22 at 08:19.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  6. #66
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    108
    Thanks for pointing me to that Tony. I'll give one of those a try.

  7. #67
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,191
    There's an alternate s/w solution being devised on thread below but it is not yet ready for unskilled to install.

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post989001

  8. #68
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    There's an alternate s/w solution being devised on thread below but it is not yet ready for unskilled to install.

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post989001
    Thanks bpa.

    I took a quick look but there is a lot to catch up on as I haven't visited the forum for a while. This solution appears in a thread about a 'Community Build' firmware, which is all new to me. What wasn't clear to me was whether the solution only applies in the context of this new firmware or whether I could apply it to a bog standard Radio.

    When you say 'unskilled', I am nowhere near the level of the guys on that thread providing this, but I'm happy to use putty to log into Linux type systems and general command line stuff. Would that be sufficient?

  9. #69
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,191
    Quote Originally Posted by Zoltan View Post
    Thanks bpa.

    I took a quick look but there is a lot to catch up on as I haven't visited the forum for a while. This solution appears in a thread about a 'Community Build' firmware, which is all new to me. What wasn't clear to me was whether the solution only applies in the context of this new firmware or whether I could apply it to a bog standard Radio.

    When you say 'unskilled', I am nowhere near the level of the guys on that thread providing this, but I'm happy to use putty to log into Linux type systems and general command line stuff. Would that be sufficient?
    Unlike LMS, the full sources for Radio and Touch are not available and so firmware updates cannot be readily made.
    The thread is about new firmware for the Radio, users trying to to fix various Radio problems (e.g. reset after x days, WLAn problems) but out of the research POMdev created a script which runs on the standard firmware essentially checking the WLAN connection and if it stops - it is restarted. So while gaps in WLAN connection still occur the script means they are short - not sure what it means for usablity but POMdev seems happy. So if you are interested in the script - just read around the linked post - no need to read whole thread.

    Radio & Touch have a number of patches available which ordinary users can install. This WLAN script has not yet been packaged into a patch and so may be fiddly to install (e.g. download script file, remote ssh login into Radio, copy file into Radio and maybe do a few more commands) and will need to be reinstalled if Radio firmware is reset. I'd be hopeful someone will package the script if it is shown to be successful (i.e. tested by a few more users & maybe enhanced a little bit to take care of corner cases)

    I think putty or Winscp will be ok - download the wlanpoke zip file and look the instruction - they could be considered a bit "technical" as they are also explaining rationale. I don't think you cant break/brick the Radio but if done incorrectly, small possibility it may become unusable and need a reset back to factory settings.
    Last edited by bpa; 2020-09-23 at 03:22.

  10. #70
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    108
    Thanks for the explanation bpa. I might not get to it for a couple of days but I will probably give it a go and if so will report back on whether it fixes my issues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •