Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 147 of 153 FirstFirst ... 4797137145146147148149 ... LastLast
Results 1,461 to 1,470 of 1530
  1. #1461
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13

    Qobuz resampling

    Forgive me if this has been answered, it's a long thread but my search didn't find the answer!

    Does the Qobuz stream pass through the normal LMS resampling mechanism? If I set the Qobuz 'preferred format' option to >96kHz and select a 192k stream it plays perfectly on devices capable of playing that (e.g. a Picoreplayer + DAC), but sounds distorted and choppy on my Transporter.

    If I set it to 96k max things are OK on both devices. I was wondering how the Qobuz sample rate limit works - it seems for some albums in 192k, there is no public-facing equivalent in 96k, but when streaming via LMS there is. Is there a hidden 96k or lower version on the Qobuz stream?

    Andy.

  2. #1462
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,421

    Qobuz.com streaming plugin

    >> There indeed are requests which would return information about the
    >> artist, but not the artist picture. In this case you'd see the generic
    >> icon until more data of the artist has been loaded using some other API
    >> calls.

    >
    > The question is can we change that?


    Well, I could do another API call to get the artwork information. But
    TBH I wanted to save the hassle...

    > The list of "Similar Artists" is displayed.
    > Hopefully it is more than one page.
    > Every artist picture is displayed except Qobuz itself has no picture of
    > this artist.
    > Even if the artist was not yet in the cache.


    As I said: some calls do return the information, some don't. In this
    case we have the artwork.

    > Obviously there must be a difference between "Album Tracklist" and the
    > list "Similar Artists".


    Yep. One would return artwork info, the other not. The problem is I
    can't easily say "check cache or look online", because the latter would
    trigger an async call.

    But I can certainly double-check. When I find time. It's incredible how
    little spare time there is when you have to spend all your time at home...

    --

    Michael

  3. #1463
    Member sveninndh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Well, I could do another API call to get the artwork information. But
    TBH I wanted to save the hassle...
    I already tried that and I was surprised that it did not change at all.
    I think your decision was right not to try this path.

    As I said: some calls do return the information, some don't. In this
    case we have the artwork.
    Not all kinds of artwork, the problem occurs only with artist images.
    For album artwork this behaviour I didn't find anywhere.

    Yep. One would return artwork info, the other not. The problem is I
    can't easily say "check cache or look online", because the latter would
    trigger an async call.
    I think "async call" is the key.
    It looks like the loading of artist pictures is implemented asynchronously.

    But I can certainly double-check. When I find time.
    That would be great.
    I haven't been able to find out where in LMS the menu arrays are interpreted and executed that the Qobuz plugin sends back to LMS.
    I think that without this knowledge it is difficult to impossible to explain the behaviour.

    It's incredible how little spare time there is when you have to spend all your time at home...
    Ohhh yes, I know what you mean.

  4. #1464
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,421

    Qobuz.com streaming plugin

    > Does the Qobuz stream pass through the normal LMS resampling mechanism?

    I'd say so, yes. Anything in the server.log file?

    > If I set it to 96k max things are OK on both devices. I was wondering
    > how the Qobuz sample rate limit works - it seems for some albums in
    > 192k, there is no public-facing equivalent in 96k, but when streaming
    > via LMS there is. Is there a hidden 96k or lower version on the Qobuz
    > stream?


    I don't know how this is handled. In the plugin I can tell Qobuz what
    the maximum supported quality was I want. And they'd always give me the
    highest quality available within this range.

    --

    Michael

  5. #1465
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Does the Qobuz stream pass through the normal LMS resampling mechanism?

    I'd say so, yes. Anything in the server.log file?
    I don't know how this is handled. In the plugin I can tell Qobuz what
    the maximum supported quality was I want. And they'd always give me the
    highest quality available within this range.

    --

    Michael
    Thanks Michael,

    I'll run some experiments and gather some logs and report back. Just server.log or is it worth capturing anything else? I can have a look at the process list to see if a sox instance is active too.

    Andy.

  6. #1466
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    3

    Different sample rates per player?

    Not sure if this is Qobuz specific, but based on C-3PO comments I've seen re: Qobuz and Std Inputs it may be.

    I have several Rpi3s running PCP which can play Qobuz streams up to 192/24 no issue. However, I can't seem to find a way to automatically downsample Qobuz HiRes streams for my legacy SB devices (Duet, Radio, Boom, SB3, etc). When I stream a HiRes title to those devices I get super choppy & corrupted music.

    I have tried running LMS 7.9 & 8.0 on Rpi3 and a PC with the same results. If I set Qobuz to only stream 44.1/16 it works fine but would prefer HiRes for the devices that can handle it.

    Is it possible to play a 192/24 Qobuz track at native format on an RP3 and also automatically downsample to a device that can only handle 48/24 like the Duet/SB3?

    Awesome community here btw, and special thanks to the authors/maintainers of LMS and the plugins!

  7. #1467
    Member sveninndh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82

    V2.0.0 Some album infos are missing.

    @michael,

    today I tried version v.2.0.0.

    Something seems to be broken.

    Plugins::Qobuz::API->getAlbum() returns less information than the same function call in version v1.6.0.

    I tested it with $log->error(Data:ump::dump($album));

    The missing informations are:

    $album->{description}
    $album->{copyright}
    $album->{label}

    If I go back to v1.600 these values are present.

  8. #1468
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,421

    v2.1.0

    v2.1.0 is on the way.

    • Make import of purchases optional
    • Restore copyright/description/label for albums
    • Improved French translation - thanks skimpax!


    Please note that you might need to delete qobuz.db from your cache folder if you want to see copyright/description/label.

    Enjoy the music!
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  9. #1469
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,421

    Qobuz.com streaming plugin

    > Plugins::Qobuz::API->getAlbum() returns less information than the same
    > function call in version v1.6.0.


    I wonder how you're using the plugin...

    --

    Michael

  10. #1470
    Member sveninndh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Plugins::Qobuz::API->getAlbum() returns less information than the same
    > function call in version v1.6.0.


    I wonder how you're using the plugin...

    --

    Michael


    Thanks for your quick fix.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •