Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 358 of 359 FirstFirst ... 258308348356357358359 LastLast
Results 3,571 to 3,580 of 3581
  1. #3571
    Quote Originally Posted by marcoc1712 View Post
    Nope.

    The LMS control only operate on server side. You could then have a volume control in Squeezelite (using, if I well remember -V option) AND in the OS at hardware and software level.

    You should take care of all the option you have.

    In my installation squeezelite is compiled without the support for external volume control, and the mixer for the device does not have ANY control, that way I'm 100% sure is always 100%.
    Server side you have the control I mentioned.

    YOu must take care of both, and I could not understand how moode could do that, being only a client with squeezelite installed.
    When i mentioned moode is with mpd server and not squeezelite.
    In mpd its really simple just edit the mpd.cfg and in the line called MIXER= put software, hardware or disable.... that's it.

    Ok if i understand you there is Os mixer, Server mixer option (squeezelite) and client control (LMS),

    I guess that i need is OS to 100%, server is bypassing by OS, and LMS is set up to 100%, right ?

  2. #3572
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by a491765 View Post
    When i mentioned moode is with mpd server and not squeezelite.
    In mpd its really simple just edit the mpd.cfg and in the line called MIXER= put software, hardware or disable.... that's it.

    Ok if i understand you there is Os mixer, Server mixer option (squeezelite) and client control (LMS),

    I guess that i need is OS to 100%, server is bypassing by OS, and LMS is set up to 100%, right ?
    RIght, but LMS is SERVER and SQUEEZELITE is CLIENT (forget MPD names and concept, ...here the client is the device attached to the DAC, receiving data from the server, the server is where LMS runs and it send data to clients, controllers just controls players via the server.

    I'll try the following:

    1- use hw: to avoid sharing th CARD with OS mixers (on client).
    2- set output to 100% FIXED for the client on LMS /server side).

    if availlable:

    3a- use -U option to unmuute ALSA and set volume to 100%.

    else

    3b - manually check if ALSA MIXER has a control for your card and set it at 100%.

    4- disable ANY -V option.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  3. #3573
    Quote Originally Posted by marcoc1712 View Post
    RIght, but LMS is SERVER and SQUEEZELITE is CLIENT (forget MPD names and concept, ...here the client is the device attached to the DAC, receiving data from the server, the server is where LMS runs and it send data to clients, controllers just controls players via the server.

    I'll try the following:

    1- use hw: to avoid sharing th CARD with OS mixers (on client).
    2- set output to 100% FIXED for the client on LMS /server side).

    if availlable:

    3a- use -U option to unmuute ALSA and set volume to 100%.

    else

    3b - manually check if ALSA MIXER has a control for your card and set it at 100%.

    4- disable ANY -V option.
    Thanks for your reply, LMS and squeezelite are on the same board in my steup (the pi4).

    So to follow your guide i did :



    Name:  1.jpeg
Views: 175
Size:  52.4 KB

    Name:  2.jpeg
Views: 174
Size:  9.2 KB

    Name:  3.jpeg
Views: 176
Size:  3.3 KB

    But with 3B i have an issue , amixer gives :

    Code:
    tc@MusicPlayer:~$ amixer
    Simple mixer control 'Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2',0
      Capabilities: pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback [on]
      Front Right: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2',1
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    But when i try to do :

    amixer sset C2 100% it gives :

    Code:
    amixer: Unable to find simple control 'C2',0
    Same results with Master, Digital, PCM, Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2...

    What would you suggest to do to check if alsa is 100% or to setup it ?

    Thanks.

  4. #3574
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    DUS
    Posts
    859
    Your DAC simply doesn't have HW VC as your printout shows.

    alsamixer is useless at that point.
    that's why all the squeezelite related HW VC settings are also useless.


    Only SW control is left. If locked on LMS it'll be bitperfect.

    That's proven. Otherwise DSD wouldn't work either.


    @Marcoc.

    There's a lot VC also going on on the server. E.g. The whole volume curve generation and mapping is done on the server.
    It's not that simple.

  5. #3575
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by a491765 View Post
    Thanks for your reply, LMS and squeezelite are on the same board in my steup (the pi4).

    So to follow your guide i did :



    Name:  1.jpeg
Views: 175
Size:  52.4 KB

    Name:  2.jpeg
Views: 174
Size:  9.2 KB

    Name:  3.jpeg
Views: 176
Size:  3.3 KB

    But with 3B i have an issue , amixer gives :

    Code:
    tc@MusicPlayer:~$ amixer
    Simple mixer control 'Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2',0
      Capabilities: pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback [on]
      Front Right: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2',1
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]
    But when i try to do :

    amixer sset C2 100% it gives :

    Code:
    amixer: Unable to find simple control 'C2',0
    Same results with Master, Digital, PCM, Cambridge AudioDAC100 USB 2...

    What would you suggest to do to check if alsa is 100% or to setup it ?

    Thanks.
    Not really sure to well understand what you want to archive, but if you just want ALSA to be unmuted and fixed at 100%, -U should do the trick.

    I'm not an expert on PI, but, to check IF the card has a mixer volume control, with alsa you could use alsamixer


    the problem with amixer could well be that C2,0 is not the control name, try amix C2 and see.
    Last edited by marcoc1712; 2020-02-02 at 06:35.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  6. #3576
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by soundcheck View Post
    @Marcoc.

    There's a lot VC also going on on the server. E.g. The whole volume curve generation and mapping is done on the server.
    It's not that simple.
    Not sure why you wrote this, I'm aware volume control is mainly at server side, but if you fix volume at 100% and avoid replay gain, crossfade and others you get bit perfect output to Squeezelite., then avoiding -V you get bit perfect output to ALSA, using -U you then get bit perfect to the sound card.

    There is more than this? Please explain in case.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  7. #3577
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,169
    @491765

    I suggest you make the output setting

    hw:CARD=C2,DEV=0

    remove the other configurations from

    Unmute ALSA contol and the other box

    Save and reboot

    Return to the page and go the the

    Unmute ALSA contol box, expand the red word more and you should see your options there.

    For myself I would just use hw:CARD=C2,DEV=0 in the Output Setting

    and 100% in the LMS settings, leave the other boxes at default blank and forget about it.

    ronnie

    Worry about something worthwhile

  8. #3578
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    DUS
    Posts
    859
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Worry about something worthwhile
    There are many DACs out there offering numerous
    parameters via Alsamixer.

    You never know what default settings a driver offers.
    I ran numerous times into messed up alsamixer settings.

    Usually changes happen accidentally without being noticed.

    That's when I introduced my alsamixer-init script. Since then
    everything runs smooth.

    I do think it's well worth to have look at the subject.

  9. #3579
    Quote Originally Posted by soundcheck View Post
    Only SW control is left. If locked on LMS it'll be bitperfect.
    Ok so i guess this option did what i want.

    Name:  3.jpeg
Views: 159
Size:  3.3 KB


    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Worry about something worthwhile
    There are many DACs out there offering numerous
    parameters via Alsamixer.

    You never know what default settings a driver offers.
    I ran numerous times into messed up alsamixer settings.

    Usually changes happen accidentally without being noticed.

    That's when I introduced my alsamixer-init script. Since then
    everything runs smooth.

    I do think it's well worth to have look at the subject
    Moreover its a pitty to not take the full advantages of a great solution as pcp + squeezelite and LMS...

    Thank you all for you help, i state here.
    Last edited by a491765; 2020-02-02 at 11:28.

  10. #3580
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by soundcheck View Post

    That's when I introduced my alsamixer-init script. Since then
    everything runs smooth.
    Hi soundcheck,

    where can i find your alsamixer-init script ?
    I would like to use it with pCp 6.0.0b9 and Tone Board.
    You are also using Tone Board. What are your sqeezelite options ?

    When i start alsamixer, than i see this:

    Name:  alsa.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  84.6 KB

    VC on LMS is set to 100%

    my are squeezelite options are:

    squeezelite -n rtpiusb -o hw:CARD=Control,DEV=0 -a 120 4 1 -b 20000 400000 -c pcm,flac,mp3,dsd -p 45 -U hw:CARD=Control DEV=0

    or

    /usr/local/bin/squeezelite -n rtpiusb -o hw:CARD=Control,DEV=0 -a 120 4 1 -b 20000 400000 -c pcm,flac,mp3,dsd -p 45

    The -U paramater has no control over alsa. It seems. that alsa is always controlling the output and i would like to "uncontrol" alsa for the sake of good sound, if it is possibel ...

    Any hints ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •