Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Ethernet appears disconnected

    Hi all

    I had a power interruption yesterday and since then my Squeezebox 3 (aka Classic) won't connect to the wireless network. On restarting it came up with 'Ethernet appears disconnected. Please check your network connection' after the network set up prompt. I've tried many factory resets, and restarted the router in various permutations. It works fine on a wired connection, but seems to have completely forgotten that it can connect wirelessly.

    I then thought of the firmware, and found that my server software was out of date (7.6.1), so have updated that to the latest (7.7.2) - I then forced a firmware update using the brightness button. The player says that the firmware version is 137 - the same as before I did the firmware update.

    I have had this problem a couple of times before, but have always found a way around it though annoyingly I can't remember how I did it!

    Any advice would be extremely welcome, as I am out of ideas.

    MTIA
    Jof

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,272
    FW 137 came with 7.6.0 and has not changed since.
    http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/sli...hangelog7.html

    Are you sure the wifi router does not lock out clients based on MAC address ?
    A shot in the dark: try changing (temporarily) the channel used by the wifi router ?
    2 SB 3 • 1 PCP 7 • Libratone Loop, Zipp, Zipp Mini • iPeng (iPhone + iPad) • LMS 8.1 (docker) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput by bpa • Material Skin by Craig Drummond • IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) • Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger • PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple • Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson • BBC Sounds by Stuart McLean • AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 • Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  3. #3
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,313
    Try pressing & holding the BACK (left) arrow, this will put the SB3 in Setup mode. Scroll to Network Setup, select Wireless.

    If it isn't offering Wireless as an option then possibly it's WiFi board is fried or disconnected.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by epoch1970 View Post
    FW 137 came with 7.6.0 and has not changed since.
    http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/sli...hangelog7.html

    Are you sure the wifi router does not lock out clients based on MAC address ?
    A shot in the dark: try changing (temporarily) the channel used by the wifi router ?
    Thanks - I've never used MAC address filtering as I read it added no significant security, just pain. I'll have a go with the channel though, it's worth a try.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Try pressing & holding the BACK (left) arrow, this will put the SB3 in Setup mode. Scroll to Network Setup, select Wireless.

    If it isn't offering Wireless as an option then possibly it's WiFi board is fried or disconnected.
    If I start it with the Ethernet cable in doing a factory reset by pressing the Add button, I get to choose the language, then 'Set up networking', going right on this goes onto Obtain IP automatically...so that's passed or skipped the option to select Wireless?

    Then using the BACK (left) button as you say suggest takes me through the same sequence, with no wireless option.

    I can see that a power interruption could damage, but not displace the WiFi board...I hope not though :-(

    Thanks for the advice

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    I opened it up and reseated the wifi card. All working again now :-)

    Many thanks for your advice and help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •