Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dying Classics?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    240

    Dying Classics?

    Is there any way to get a log of the HARDWARE on a Classic?

    I have 2 classics that periodically die (blank screen, essentially they crash). I know it COULD be the WIFI card, but would like pointers on what else it could be. WIFI signal strength is good, and it's not a change to the server.

    Anyone?

    Any source for WIFI cards if it is that? I can't really use these wired in my current configuration, and getting touches won't work because they're synced (and syncing has never really been nailed with SqueezeOS devices)

    Thanks!
    -Dan

  2. #2
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,270
    Try just re-seating the WiFi cards? Maybe the PSU's are the issue? Loose power connection into SB3?

    PowerLine adapters may make more sense than buying replacement SB3 WiFi cards.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,242
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Loose power connection into SB3?
    I have 1 unit that will reboot if I slightly move the power cable. It came out of the box recently, I guess it was just built that way.
    I also have a buddy who tells me his Logitech Classic did the same from day one.
    So it's not uncommon, but 2 out of 2 in the OP's case seems a bit unlucky.

    I'd suspect wifi or some TCP issue. I never used it but I think the SB3 will serve as a wifi bridge (with older firmwares ?). If so you could hook a PC to a player and perhaps understand what happens ?
    2 SB 3 • 1 PCP 6 • Libratone Loop, Zipp, Zipp Mini • iPeng (iPhone + iPad) • LMS 7.9 (linux) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput, Triode's BBC iPlayer by bpa • IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) • Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger • PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple • Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson • AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 • WeatherTime by Martin Rehfeld • Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  4. #4
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,270
    Quote Originally Posted by epoch1970 View Post
    I have 1 unit that will reboot if I slightly move the power cable. It came out of the box recently, I guess it was just built that way.
    I also have a buddy who tells me his Logitech Classic did the same from day one.
    So it's not uncommon, but 2 out of 2 in the OP's case seems a bit unlucky......
    Yeah, must have been different builds of the SB3 as many say the power input is easily wiggled to cause a reboot while others say it is a very snug fit and cannot be wiggled to cause reboot. Luckily I'm in the latter category.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    240
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Try just re-seating the WiFi cards? Maybe the PSU's are the issue? Loose power connection into SB3?

    PowerLine adapters may make more sense than buying replacement SB3 WiFi cards.
    Just reseated the wifi card and daughterboard and still died a day later. Just did the reprogram xlinix and rbooted just for grins. After this I'll get a wifi bridge going and pull the wifi card to see if that helps. It's mainly a superdatetime weather display these days, but I'd still like to use it as a sb some days...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    240
    Not a loose connector, unfortunately. No amount of wiggle will get it to reboot. I wish it was that, easy fix, as it'd most likely be a Cold solder joint. These were used units I got locally, so I can't vouch for how they were stored.

    I wonder if some of the components on Sb3's have an... Expiration date of sorts. My old thinkpad had a cap or flash chip that failed after 5 years or so, and then I started hearing about other similar failures of the same vintage.

    I'd gladly get other used unit, but worry about a latent failure like above. Touches and radios are out of the question since they don't sync well, and overkill for I need...

  7. #7
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,832
    Quote Originally Posted by plympton View Post
    Touches and radios are out of the question since they don't sync well...
    Huh? In my experience the Touch and Radio sync just as well as the IP3K-based models. I've seen a couple reports of sync problems, but none that conclusively pinned it down to the newer SB models.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    240
    I will admit that my knowledge is probably a little out of date but when I had a touch when they originally came out it would not sync with my classic ever. If that's not the case then touch here I come... Again! :-)

  9. #9
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,832
    It sounds as if you had some issues with your system then, and there's no guarantee you won't have them again. But it hasn't been a general issue of sync'ing Touches by any means.

  10. #10
    This thread has information on wifi cards supported by the SB3:

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...ghlight=WN560G

    Regards,
    pete

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •