Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110

    classic won't power up!

    i have 3 others..so i know it's not the power supply...what's the next diagnostic step?


    thanks
    mike

  2. #2
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,271
    Remove the WiFi card.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Remove the WiFi card.
    so...i need to open her up?? when i remove it, then what??
    thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,271
    Is there a red light emitting from the optical port?
    Does the player show up on your local SBS/LMS server or MySB.com? Does it show up on your network/router?
    i.e. Might just be the screen itself.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Is there a red light emitting from the optical port?
    Does the player show up on your local SBS/LMS server or MySB.com? Does it show up on your network/router?
    i.e. Might just be the screen itself.
    no...and my dac doesn't click when i power up...that would indicate thata device was plugged into th dac

  6. #6
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,271
    Then I'd try removing the WiFi card as a last resort. If no go it is likely a goner unless you can do board level diagnosis & repair.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Then I'd try removing the WiFi card as a last resort. If no go it is likely a goner unless you can do board level diagnosis & repair.
    is the board inside?? do i try to power up with the card out?

    thanks
    mike

  8. #8
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,271
    yes and yes
    It will work fine via ethernet only, absent it's WiFi card.
    But this is assuming the WiFi card is the actual cause of your dead player (which I doubt).

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    update....i was taking the board out of the case..i figured for grins i'd plug it in...i'm now getting the red glow on the optical jack...and it looks like it's recognized in the network..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    another update...while typing my last update..i left the unit plugged in...the sob works now! it looks like possible cold solder spots around the power jack...i'm going to reflow them

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •