Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5

    Moose scanning via MySQL problem

    Iím not able to scan my server DB through MySQL, only if I use the Folders option

    If I try to I get the message about possible firewall problems or if MySQL is bound to the local machine via the my.tt file or server not restarted.

    To make sure that firewall isnít my problem itís temporary switched off on the server pc.

    The server has been restarted 3 times now after the unbound message.

    My settings in Moose are:

    MySQL DB: slimserver
    Port: 9092
    Usr: root
    Pwd: <empty>

    The server is running XP Pro and Squeezebox server 7.6.1 r33110

    My client pc is running XP Pro and Moose 0.76c

    What can I do?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5

    my.tt file content

    Just checked the my.tt file:

    # $Id$
    #
    # Squeezebox Server specific MySQL Server config.

    [mysqld]
    innodb
    skip-locking

    # If you want to have user permissions - you need to setup a valid user, and
    # remove this line below.
    skip-grant-tables

    basedir = [% basedir %]
    datadir = [% datadir %]
    tmpdir = [% datadir %]
    language = [% language %]
    port = [% port %]
    socket = [% socket %]
    pid-file = [% pidFile %]
    log-error = [% errorLog %]
    innodb_fast_shutdown = 1
    max_connections = 4
    thread_concurrency = 4
    log-warnings = 0
    bind-address = [% bindAddress %]
    default-character-set = utf8
    default-collation = utf8_general_ci
    key_buffer = 2M
    max_allowed_packet = 1M
    table_cache = 64
    sort_buffer_size = 512K
    net_buffer_length = 8K
    read_buffer_size = 256K
    read_rnd_buffer_size = 512K

    [client]
    socket = [% socket %]

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Tried to remove this
    bind-address = [% bindAddress %]
    but it didn't help even after restart

    Is there an alternative way to check if the DB is unbound correctly?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    I tried to install MySQL connector/ODBC to test the connection via the Microsoft ODBC administrator (control panel -> Administrative tools).

    With this it didn't work:

    Data Source Name: TestSlim
    TCP/IP Server: 192.168.1.181
    Port: 9092
    User: root
    Password: <empty>
    Database: slimserver

    Ideas?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    215

    Moose scanning via MySQL problem

    On 22 August 2011 21:10, pof
    <pof.4yw15z1314043921 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Iím not able to scan my server DB through MySQL, only if I use the
    > Folders option
    >
    > If I try to I get the message about possible firewall problems or if
    > MySQL is bound to the local machine via the my.tt file or server not
    > restarted.
    >
    > To make sure that firewall isnít my problem itís temporary switched off
    > on the server pc.
    >
    > The server has been restarted 3 times now after the unbound message.
    >
    > My settings in Moose are:
    >
    > MySQL DB: slimserver
    > Port: 9092
    > Usr: root
    > Pwd: <empty>
    >
    > The server is running XP Pro and Squeezebox server 7.6.1 r33110
    >
    > My client pc is running XP Pro and Moose 0.76c
    >
    > What can I do?


    Hi,

    If you're using 7.6.1 the server should be using SQLite rather than MySQL..
    If you click the 'guess' button in the options it should set the radio icon to
    the applicable database and have a go at filling in defaults.
    With SQLite you may need to share your cache folder if your server and moose
    are on different PCs..

    Hope that helps..

    --
    - Dr Lovegrove
    http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove
    http://groups.google.com/group/moosenews

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by DrLovegrove View Post
    On 22 August 2011 21:10, pof
    <pof.4yw15z1314043921 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Iím not able to scan my server DB through MySQL, only if I use the
    > Folders option
    >
    > If I try to I get the message about possible firewall problems or if
    > MySQL is bound to the local machine via the my.tt file or server not
    > restarted.
    >
    > To make sure that firewall isnít my problem itís temporary switched off
    > on the server pc.
    >
    > The server has been restarted 3 times now after the unbound message.
    >
    > My settings in Moose are:
    >
    > MySQL DB: slimserver
    > Port: 9092
    > Usr: root
    > Pwd: <empty>
    >
    > The server is running XP Pro and Squeezebox server 7.6.1 r33110
    >
    > My client pc is running XP Pro and Moose *0.76c
    >
    > What can I do?


    Hi,

    If you're using 7.6.1 the server should be using SQLite rather than MySQL..
    If you click the 'guess' button in the options it should set the radio icon to
    the applicable database and have a go at filling in defaults.
    With SQLite you may need to share your cache folder if your server and moose
    are on different PCs..

    Hope that helps..

    --
    - Dr Lovegrove
    http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove
    http://groups.google.com/group/moosenews
    Thanks.

    So how do I change to SQLite? What are the good things about it vs MySQL?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    215

    Moose scanning via MySQL problem

    On 24 August 2011 16:55, pof
    <pof.4yzenc1314201362 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Thanks.
    >
    > So how do I change to SQLite? What are the good things about it vs
    > MySQL?


    For the past few years, versions of the server prior to 7.6.0 used MySQL.
    For 7.6.0 it switched to using SQLite.
    You dont need to do anything to the server to change, it's all built into it.

    In theory SQLite requires less memory and CPU, especially with smaller
    libraries, so it's ideal for making the server perform better on NAS
    boxes, etc..
    However, SQLite doesnt have network support, so to access the database
    from another machine you have to share the library.db file via folder
    sharing, etc..

    Moose supports both MySQL and SQLite, it's just a case of telling it
    which to use and pointing it at the relevent files.

    In Moose all the action happens in the scanning tab of the options dialog.

    If you've already got Moose talking to your server and dispaying now
    playing information for a player, you can hit the 'guess database'
    button (in the scanning tab) and it'll set some of the options for
    you.

    The important thing with SQLite is to make sure the path to the
    database is set up correctly.
    The 'guess' button's value uses the server's local path to the .db
    file, so (on windows anyhow) you usually get something like this:
    c:\programdata\squeezebox\cache\library.db

    If your server is on a different machine to moose, you'll need to ammend this.
    As an example, if your server is on a remote machine with IP address
    192.168.1.1 and you've shared 'c:\programdata\squeezebox\' as 'bob',
    you need to alter the sqlite path's value to:
    \\192.168.1.1\bob\cache\library.db

    Note that it's a good idea to share the squeezebox folder rather than
    the cache folder as the cache folder can get deleted when doing a
    clean..

    Hope that helps,

    --
    - Dr Lovegrove
    http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove
    http://groups.google.com/group/moosenews

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •