Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    SqueezePlay doesn't see Squeezebox Server

    Can anyone help. I am trying to test out my tag structure of FLAC files using Squeezebox Server (Version: 7.5.2 - r31632 @ Mon Dec 13 13:17:22 PST 2010) and SqueezePlay Beta (downloaded today) both running on the same on Windows XP PC.

    I can play music over the internet but when I go to my music it tells me to down load SBS - but it is running already!! Rebooting hasn't helped

    Unfortunately my Touch won't arrive for another month and I don't want to rip and tag another 500 CDs in case I've got the structure wrong. Would SqueezePlay be a better option if so where can I download it from?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hildesheim, Germany
    Posts
    2,200
    Please check that you have selected Squeezeplay as Player in the Squeezeplay Settings - > Select Player (translated from a German version).
    2 * Classic, 2 * Boom, piCorePlayer on Raspberry PI II B with HifiBerry attached to Objective 2 ( Head 'n' HiFi KIT) with Beyerdynamic DT880, LMS 7.9 on Odroid U3 with Max2Play, 500GB USB HD, controlled by Squeezepad or iPeng on iPad and Orange Squeezepad on Nexus 5x, CD -> FLAC = dbpoweramp, Router AVM Fritz 7490

    last.fm/user/jo-wie

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Still no luck

    Do you mean under settings Squeezebox Name? This was set to SqueezePlay, I changed it to Squeezeplay but getting the same message telling me to down load and install SBS.

    In mySB.com Squeezeplayer is showing as the player!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Problem Solved

    You need to have a router connected, even though SqueezePlay was running on the same PC as SBS.

    I have an unstable 3G connection to the internet, so prefer to manage the dongle directly from my PC and have to unplug my 3G router to do so. Having got SqueezePlay working the first time, if you then disconnect the router it tells you it cannot connect to your folder and to check your network.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    19

    Unhappy Squeezplay can't view Server on same machine

    I am having the same issue. Squeezeplay is installed on my Squeezebox server (a MacMini setup as an HTPC). I want to be able to sync play music both on the MacMini (which is connected to my home theatre sound system) and on my Squeezebox radio next door. When run on the same machine as the SqB server, Squeezeplay is unable to find the SqB server library. However, if I run Squeezeplay on my laptop connected to the same network it finds the server no problem... ?!?!

    Squeezeplay is connecting fine to www.mysqueezebox.com and also detects the name of the server - it just can't connect to it.

    This might be an issue of not being able to view localhost....

    Anyone else have this problem?

    Any idea how to fix it?
    Last edited by saltedlolly; 2011-05-09 at 08:09.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by saltedlolly View Post
    I am having the same issue. Squeezeplay is installed on my Squeezebox server (a MacMini setup as an HTPC). I want to be able to sync play music both on the MacMini (which is connected to my home theatre sound system) and on my Squeezebox radio next door. When run on the same machine as the SqB server, Squeezeplay is unable to find the SqB server library. However, if I run Squeezeplay on my laptop connected to the same network it finds the server no problem... ?!?!

    Squeezeplay is connecting fine to mysqueezebox and also detects the name of the server - it just can't connect to it.

    This might be an issue of not being able to view localhost....

    Anyone else have this problem?

    Any idea how to fix it?
    Same thing on Win XP doesn't seem to be able to talk to the server if they're on the same machine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •