Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,600

    Boom AC power plug for Radio

    Would an AC Power plug for the Squeezebox Boom work for a Squeezebox Radio?
    Last edited by SlimChances; 2013-03-30 at 19:34.
    • Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1578996832 @ Tue Jan 14 12:15:02 CET 2020
    • Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    • Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    • Perl Version: 5.26.1 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    • Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Classic connected by Optical to FX Audio D802C amp and Sinclair bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23

    Boom AC power plug for Radio

    Check the polarity and voltage and if it is AC or DC. Most likely DC. If
    the voltage type (AC or DC) is the same, the polarity of the plug tip (is
    it positive or negative?) and plug size is the same and the rating in MA
    (current) is LESS (which I assume it is) for the Squeezebox Radio than the
    Boom then it will work.

    You can use an adapter with MORE current capacity but not an adapter with
    less current capacity. The radio will just draw from the adapter the
    current it needs, not more.

    David


  3. #3
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,600
    Quote Originally Posted by djringjr View Post
    Check the polarity and voltage and if it is AC or DC. Most likely DC. If
    the voltage type (AC or DC) is the same, the polarity of the plug tip (is
    it positive or negative?) and plug size is the same and the rating in MA
    (current) is LESS (which I assume it is) for the Squeezebox Radio than the
    Boom then it will work.

    You can use an adapter with MORE current capacity but not an adapter with
    less current capacity. The radio will just draw from the adapter the
    current it needs, not more.

    David
    Thanks but I am afraid this is a bit technical for me. I live in North America, hence I figured the Boom plug I have is AC and I have seen 3rd party plugs on Ebay that work for both Radio and Boom so I was hoping that my Logitech plug for my Boom will work on a Radio.
    • Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1578996832 @ Tue Jan 14 12:15:02 CET 2020
    • Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    • Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    • Perl Version: 5.26.1 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    • Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Classic connected by Optical to FX Audio D802C amp and Sinclair bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  4. #4
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by SlimChances View Post
    Thanks but I am afraid this is a bit technical for me.
    What does it say on the label of your Boom plug?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,002
    If you mean "AC plug" you mean the AC-DC power adaptor - According to wiki (see power supply row in http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...are_comparison ) the boom required 12V 2.5A DC and Radio DC 18V 1A so they are not identical.

    IIRC the Boom can take up to 18V (but it makes the display warm ) and the barrel connector size seems to be the same on both Boom and Radio. I have a beta version of Boom which has a 18V 1.67A adaptor. I think if you tried using Radio adaptor plugged into a Boom - it may not work because not enough amps (you should check the spec of a real Radio adaptor to be sure). However it is also possible that the production Boom is not as tolerant as my beta Boom to higher voltages and so may cause damage.

  6. #6
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,600
    By AC Plug I mean the power brick and cable that allows me to connect the radio to the wall jack in the house for power
    The Boom plug says: V06792 Switching Power Supply,Model PSC30R-120, Input 100-240V~50-60Hz 0.8 AMax, Output+12V---2.5A 67-92VA

    Perhaps since I do not understand the jargon I would be better off either getting an adapter for the european plug for the radio or a new power plug
    • Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1578996832 @ Tue Jan 14 12:15:02 CET 2020
    • Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    • Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    • Perl Version: 5.26.1 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    • Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Classic connected by Optical to FX Audio D802C amp and Sinclair bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  7. #7
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by SlimChances View Post
    By AC Plug I mean the power brick and cable that allows me to connect the radio to the wall jack in the house for power
    The Boom plug says: V06792 Switching Power Supply,Model PSC30R-120, Input 100-240V~50-60Hz 0.8 AMax, Output+12V---2.5A 67-92VA

    Perhaps since I do not understand the jargon I would be better off either getting an adapter for the european plug for the radio or a new power plug
    So it is 12V 2.5 A DC. More than enough current for the Radio, but seems that the radio needs 18 V. It should be quite safe to try it with the Radio to see if 12 V is enough.

  8. #8
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,600
    I see the plug adapters are dirt cheap on Ebay (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Universal-2Pi...item27d1566dbe). Would that work with the original EU power plug?

    I can't try the Boom Power plug just yet. The Radio is just being sent over to me this coming week
    Last edited by SlimChances; 2013-03-31 at 13:56.
    • Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1578996832 @ Tue Jan 14 12:15:02 CET 2020
    • Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    • Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    • Perl Version: 5.26.1 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    • Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Classic connected by Optical to FX Audio D802C amp and Sinclair bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  9. #9
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by SlimChances View Post
    I see the plug adapters are dirt cheap on Ebay (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Universal-2Pi...item27d1566dbe). Would that work with the original EU power plug?
    Yes, as long as the power plug works with the lower mains voltage. The Boom plug is OK, being 100-240V AC. I assume the same is true for the one for the Radio, but check before plugging in.

  10. #10
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,600
    Am I risking damaging the Radio trying it with the adapter or is there some other way I should check. Sorry if my questions are dimwitted but I don't really understand the world of Voltage, amperes etc
    • Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.2 - 1578996832 @ Tue Jan 14 12:15:02 CET 2020
    • Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    • Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    • Perl Version: 5.26.1 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    • Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Classic connected by Optical to FX Audio D802C amp and Sinclair bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •