Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    squeeze box V3 not fully turning on

    my squeeze box v3 has stopped working suddenly and now all it does is it turn on the display, show the logitech splash image, scroll over to the squeeze box splash image then it goes blank. a few seconds later it does it all over again in an endless loop. i have tried doing a hard reset of holding the + key on the remote while plugging in the squeeze box and it just very briefly shows the logitech image before it goes blank, then again a few seconds later it does what it was doing before, never getting past the squeeze box image. i know its responding to the remote because as soon as i press the + key it goes blank then restarts again.
    any help on getting it working again would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member JadeMonkee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    208
    I've heard that the AC adaptors on SB3s are not very reliable.
    There is lots of info on this on the forums. You can also find the requirements for a new AC adaptor.
    I'd say this is very likely your problem.
    HTH.
    Active: 1x Transporter | 1x Classic | 1x Boom | 1x Receiver | 1x Raspberry Pi 2 B w/ piCorePlayer, 7" touch screen (IQAudio DAC+ now deprecated in favour of Receiver) | OrangeSqueeze as Android controller
    Deprecated (awaiting a bigger house): 1x Classic | 1x Boom | 1x Receiver | 2x Controllers (aka the dark and terrible things that shall not be used again)
    LMS v7.9.2 running as a Docker in Unraid on a HP MicroServer gen8
    4638 albums with 38525 songs by 8204 artists - and always growing

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    thanks allot

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy I have this problem...

    I have two squeezeboxes(V2 an V3) and the V3 one acts the same way with both power supplies. If I do nothing, it: (1) starts by displaying The ICON Logitech, (2) Scrolls to say squeezebox, (3) crashes. This repeats. If I hold the "+" key, it: (1) starts to display the ICON, (2) crashes. If I press any key during the first scenario, it crashes. Help!
    Any ideas???
    Thanks,
    -Chris

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,528
    People usually try:

    To see if the power-supply contact is not loose .

    Xilink reset . (hold 1 on the remote pointing at the SB3 while powering up )

    If that does not go .

    Factory reset . (hold ADD on the remote pointing at the SB3 while powering up )

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...et_and_Last_FW

    Try another power supply (if you have one) .

    Open the unit to see if the wifi card have come loose and reatach if it is soo.

    Remove the wifi card completely, they can be broken .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States, Florida
    Posts
    11,979
    is it connected via WIFI. Sounds like not getting a network connection. Test by moving it closer or connecting temporarily with ethernet cable

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,528
    Also try the brightness button + you should at least be able to reach the setup menu with arrows if it is working.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    10

    any other ideas?

    As I said, I tried to different power supplies. I don't use the wireless, I connect to a gigabit ethernet. I did open the SB and pulled the wireless module. No change. I put it back in, no change. Any other suggestions? I'm think I need to send it to Logitech for repair. What do you think?

    Thanks,
    -Chris

  9. #9
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,528

    Red face

    Sorry displays is eol not available may i suggest a Touch ? as replacement
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  10. #10
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,273
    Quote Originally Posted by heegard View Post
    .... I'm think I need to send it to Logitech for repair.......
    Unless the SB3 falls under the warranty period (2 years) they won't fix it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •