Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    760 WJR Detroit not Streaming

    Why is my favorite station 760 WJR Detroit, a giant blowtorch of an AM station not streaming on my squeezebox boom?????

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,998
    Because they have changed from using MP3 to AAC which is not supported by Boom when using mysb.com - you need a local SBS server to transcode.

    Development of new firmware feature for Boom has stopped but for a long time there has not been enough space in the older ip3k based player's firmware for new feature and so AAC format cannot be supported.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mike Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    you need a local SBS server to transcode.
    bpa,

    Is there a setting I should check/uncheck in the web UI for this transcoding? I also have a Clear Channel radio station that plays on all my Squeezeboxes except the Boom as of a couple weeks ago. I never connect to mysb.com (unless it happens without me knowing it).

    Feel free to point me at another post if it's been covered already. I know it's a popular issue these days.

    Thanks.
    PGAScores & CollegeHockey (SuperDateTime Add-ons)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,998
    The same transcoding happens for all older Squeezeboxes (i.e. SB1, SB2, SB3/Classic, Transporter, Boom) so if it works for SB3 then it will work for Boom. Transcoding results in a Flac stream which will have higher bandwidth requirments so maybe a wireless issue is happening.

    What is the problem station ?
    What is the server platform ?
    What version of SBS ?
    What model is the working player ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mike Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    The same transcoding happens for all older Squeezeboxes (i.e. SB1, SB2, SB3/Classic, Transporter, Boom) so if it works for SB3 then it will work for Boom. Transcoding results in a Flac stream which will have higher bandwidth requirments so maybe a wireless issue is happening.

    What is the problem station ?
    What is the server platform ?
    What version of SBS ?
    What model is the working player ?
    KFAN 1130 in Minneapolis MN http://www.kfan.com/main.html
    I'm running 7.5.0 on Windows XP
    Station works on SB2, SB3, and Radio but not on either Boom.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Mike Meyer; 2010-06-07 at 14:59. Reason: added station URL
    PGAScores & CollegeHockey (SuperDateTime Add-ons)

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,998
    Unfortunately it is a US only station and I cannot test it.

    If using wireless, is signal strength weaker on Boom than other working player ?

    Do any "interesting" messages in the log file when you try to play on Boom ?

    I think getting a log with player.source and player.streaming set to DEBUG and comparing the log of a SB3 starting and Boom starting might show something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •