Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Lightbulb The alarm worked this morning!

    On the off chance that this helps anyone, I was always getting the horrible looping 'tune' instead of my chosen radio station. I had only set the alarm up while connected to mysqueezebox.com but it had been synchronised to my readynas server.

    Deleting (not just disabling) the alarm on the server appears to have fixed the problem. Admittedly the radio station played for about 23 minutes rather than an hour, but it was a lot better than the horrible noise that it has done every morning recently. I await with interest to see if it works tomorrow morning!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15
    And today it was back to the same old nonsense again.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    274
    It's sad and frustrating, but a working alarm really has become such a seldom event that I kinda psyched when it works once in a lifetime.
    I really don't tend to insult software developers as I'm one myself and know about everything there is to know about messing things up with the best intention.
    Yet really, how is it possible that a big company like Logitech is not able to hire a few people with at least mediocre design and development skills to finally fix this totally messed up amateurish design disaster.
    I waited for more than 6 months now for them to fix the thing to simply play the correct station at the correct time. Instead it changes the background every five minutes, wakes me up with the backup alarm at full volume or stops after a few seconds in the rare cases when it is willing or able to start the correct station.
    Please Logitech, don't ruin this brand like this. Please finally hire some people who actually have some development skills and experience to fix this mess.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    274

    The alarm worked this morning!

    It's sad and frustrating, but a working alarm really has become such a
    seldom event that I kinda psyched when it works once in a lifetime.
    I really don't tend to insult software developers as I'm one myself and
    know about everything there is to know about messing things up with the
    best intention.
    Yet really, how is it possible that a big company like Logitech is not
    able to hire a few people with at least mediocre design and development
    skills to finally fix this totally messed up amateurish design disaster.

    I waited for more than 6 months now for them to fix the thing to simply
    play the correct station at the correct time. Instead it changes the
    background every five minutes, wakes me up with the backup alarm at
    full volume or stops after a few seconds in the rare cases when it is
    willing or able to start the correct station.
    Please Logitech, don't ruin this brand like this. Please finally hire
    some people who actually have some development skills and experience to
    fix this mess.


    --
    0xdeadbeef
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    0xdeadbeef's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2287
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=78345


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    148
    Here, here. Ridiculous. Totally ridiculous. Sheesh.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    148

    The alarm worked this morning!

    Here, here. Ridiculous. Totally ridiculous. Sheesh.


    --
    newy
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    newy's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=18530
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=78345


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    20

    same here... still

    While I am glad there are still tons of these complaints here, it baffles me that this hasn't been officially addressed and/or fixed. I like how each thread puts the burden on the complainer to post logs of the issue, which is - I am sorry - way too frikking complicated and pointless since a: the result always seems to be "huh it looks like your radio lost connection with your server, check your router" or "b: there are SO many of these complaints, what are you hoping to learn that Logitech already doesn't know.
    Just figure out what they broke in the latest firmware and stop pretending this is random and rare, and user error.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    20

    The alarm worked this morning!

    While I am glad there are still tons of these complaints here, it
    baffles me that this hasn't been officially addressed and/or fixed. I
    like how each thread puts the burden on the complainer to post logs of
    the issue, which is - I am sorry - way too frikking complicated and
    pointless since a: the result always seems to be "huh it looks like
    your radio lost connection with your server, check your router" or "b:
    there are SO many of these complaints, what are you hoping to learn
    that Logitech already doesn't know.
    Just figure out what they broke in the latest firmware and stop
    pretending this is random and rare, and user error.


    --
    Nicnac
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Nicnac's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=37411
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=78345


  9. #9
    Senior Member bluegaspode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    3,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Nicnac View Post
    I like how each thread puts the burden on the complainer to post logs of the issue, which is - I am sorry - way too frikking complicated and pointless
    Tell me a better way to offer help !
    I don't like your way of complaining here about people offering their free time to help others.

    If you want to adress Logitech - take their official channels (which is their support site where you will find email and phone numbers).
    Did you know: SqueezePlayer will stream all your music to your Android device. Take your music everywhere!
    Remote Control + Streaming to your iPad? Squeezebox + iPad = SqueezePad
    Want to see a Weather Forecast on your Radio/Touch/Controller ? => why not try my Weather Forecast Applet
    Want to use the Headphones with your Controller ? => why not try my Headphone Switcher Applet

  10. #10
    Senior Member bluegaspode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    3,229

    The alarm worked this morning!

    Nicnac;545555 Wrote:
    > I like how each thread puts the burden on the complainer to post logs
    > of the issue, which is - I am sorry - way too frikking complicated and
    > pointless

    Tell me a better way to offer help !
    I don't like your way of complaining here about people offering their
    free time.

    If you want to adress Logitech - take their official channels (which is
    their support site where you will find email and phone numbers).


    --
    bluegaspode

    1x SB-Controller+Receiver (Duet), 1xSB-Boom. 1xSB-Radio
    Server (7.4.1) running on SheevaPlug (Ubuntu) with attached Western
    Digital MyBook Essential.
    Secondary 7.4 Server on Debianized Buffalo Linkstation LS-CHL.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    bluegaspode's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=31651
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=78345


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •