Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    438

    SBT streamer function and MQA

    Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?

  2. #2

    SBT streamer function and MQA

    Why would you want to do that? I don't think it can but there really is no
    point in any case.

    Andrew

    On Wed, 27 Jan 2021, 18:42 Zombie, <
    Zombie.9w58s0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?
    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > Zombie's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=25009
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    >
    >

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    438
    I just asked if it was possible, not if it had any point

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,568
    Don't know the details of MQA.

    Look at this thread as one user seems to say it is possible for MQA files with LMS on a Pi. Touch has hardware limitation so MQA may not be possible.

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...69-LMS-and-MQA

    However - this thread seems to indicate that Tidal MQA with Touch over Roon works https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post873256
    and Touch with EDO works & USB DAC works with LMS & MQA files.

    So advice would be - you have to try it yourself.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,699
    MQA is packaged in 24/48 PCM samples so Touch should pass it through. You'll need to set Touch at fixed volume. If you reduce volume, you'll cut off the "flag" bits that tell the DAC it's an MQA stream. Same with HDCD. Let us know how it works out.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11

    Please elaborate about why there is "no point" to want to play MQA files

    Please explain your position on this. I am interested in playing the Tidal's MQA files to (hopefully) improve the sound quality I am paying for with the Tidal service. Thank you.


    Quote Originally Posted by sherington View Post
    Why would you want to do that? I don't think it can but there really is no
    point in any case.

    Andrew



    On Wed, 27 Jan 2021, 18:42 Zombie, <
    Zombie.9w58s0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?
    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > Zombie's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=25009
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    >
    >

  7. #7

    SBT streamer function and MQA

    Almost everything I have read from properly independent reviewers, i.e. NOT
    people who are paid to review top end audiophile stuff, who have looked at
    MQA in detail, have said that it is simply not worth spending a single cent
    on it. In essence, it is considered a proper fraud .. only some people can
    "hear" the difference .. but nobody can measure any improvements at all.
    They can measure differences but normally because MQA is actually not
    "better" than the masters - one might say that would be impossible -

    https://archimago.blogspot.com/2016/...r-quality.html

    Archimago is highly respected because he never just "opines" .. he always
    backs up his views with measurable detail ..

    Regards

    Andrew

    On Sat, Jan 30, 2021 at 6:40 PM pweisel <
    pweisel.9wasoo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > Please explain your position on this. I am interested in playing the
    > Tidal's MQA files to (hopefully) improve the sound quality I am paying
    > for with the Tidal service. Thank you.
    >
    >
    > sherington wrote:
    > > Why would you want to do that? I don't think it can but there really is
    > > no
    > > point in any case.
    > >
    > > Andrew
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > On Wed, 27 Jan 2021, 18:42 Zombie, <
    > > Zombie.9w58s0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > >
    > > >
    > > > Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?
    > > >
    > > >
    > > >

    > > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > > > Zombie's Profile:

    > > http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=25009
    > > > View this thread:

    > > http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    > > >
    > > >

    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > pweisel's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=69564
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    >
    >

  8. #8
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,699
    Quote Originally Posted by Zombie View Post
    Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?
    Did you get this to work?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States, Florida
    Posts
    12,357
    Quote Originally Posted by sherington View Post
    Almost everything I have read from properly independent reviewers, i.e. NOT
    people who are paid to review top end audiophile stuff, who have looked at
    MQA in detail, have said that it is simply not worth spending a single cent
    on it. In essence, it is considered a proper fraud .. only some people can
    "hear" the difference .. but nobody can measure any improvements at all.
    They can measure differences but normally because MQA is actually not
    "better" than the masters - one might say that would be impossible -

    https://archimago.blogspot.com/2016/...r-quality.html

    Archimago is highly respected because he never just "opines" .. he always
    backs up his views with measurable detail ..

    Regards

    Andrew

    On Sat, Jan 30, 2021 at 6:40 PM pweisel <
    pweisel.9wasoo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > Please explain your position on this. I am interested in playing the
    > Tidal's MQA files to (hopefully) improve the sound quality I am paying
    > for with the Tidal service. Thank you.
    >
    >
    > sherington wrote:
    > > Why would you want to do that? I don't think it can but there really is
    > > no
    > > point in any case.
    > >
    > > Andrew
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > On Wed, 27 Jan 2021, 18:42 Zombie, <
    > > Zombie.9w58s0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > >
    > > >
    > > > Can the Touch stream MQA files to a MQA compatible DAC?
    > > >
    > > >
    > > >

    > > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > > > Zombie's Profile:

    > > http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=25009
    > > > View this thread:

    > > http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    > > >
    > > >

    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > pweisel's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=69564
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113788
    >
    >

    for example, Neil Young removed most of his albums from Tidal because they were modifying them with MQA. On his Neil Young Archives page, he talks about this decision. And for all his crankiness, one thing Neil is consistent about is his obsessiveness about sound quality.
    Home: Pi4B-8GB/pCP7.x/4TB>LMS 8.1.x>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: rPi4B-4GB/pCP7.x/4TB>LMS 8.1.x>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>foobar2000
    The Wild: rPi3B+/pCP7.x/4TB>LMS 8.1.x>hifiberry Dac+Pro (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone11 & iPadAir3 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, Material Skin, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64)
    Files: Ripping: dBpoweramp > FLAC; Post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes, TuneFusion; Streaming: Spotify

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by Apesbrain View Post
    Did you get this to work?
    Dunno if I want to buy an MQA compatible DAC, that's why I ask. I pay for the damn thing in Tidal but can't see why they use it instead of common hi-res files. Probably copy protection.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •