Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Senior Member erland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    11,046
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterPeter View Post
    Hi Erland, does your low volume for the fallback alarm applet work with 7.5.1 as I cannot find it, "Recommended Applets Only" is unchecked and I can see other applets including your own but no low volume fallback alarm.
    It's not in "Applet Installer" it's in "Patch Installer" menu, you will get that menu after installing the Patch Installer applet.
    Erland Isaksson (My homepage)
    Developer of many plugins/applets

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    When I try to select "Patch installer" nothing happens and there is no "Recommended Patches Only" checkbox option visible.

    Pete
    Last edited by PeterPeter; 2010-05-02 at 05:12.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by erland View Post
    For anyone using 7.5, I've now added a patch for this that can be installed through the third party Patch Installer applet.

    1. Install the third party Patch Installer applet through Settings/Advanced/Applet Installer
    2. Install the "Low Volume Fallback Alarm" patch through Settings/Advanced/Patch Installer (you have to uncheck the "Recommended Patches Only" checkbox to be able to see it)

    The patch will change the volume to 20 instead of the default 43.
    The Patch Installer applet requires 7.5, so this procedure won't work for users using 7.4.* or earlier releases.
    Hey,
    Followed your steps above, but after installation the message was "Patch not installed, contact......." What am I doing wrong or is there things here that┤s not compatible. I don┤t know.

  4. #14
    Senior Member erland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    11,046
    Quote Originally Posted by Kooorpen View Post
    Hey,
    Followed your steps above, but after installation the message was "Patch not installed, contact......." What am I doing wrong or is there things here that┤s not compatible. I don┤t know.
    Which firmware version are you using ? (See Settings/Advanced/About)
    Have you edited the file manually yourself earlier ? If you have, you will have to restore it to how it looked originally first, either by manually editing the file or doing a factory reset.

    Did it really say "Patch not installed, contact....." ?
    Or did you mean "Patch not applied, failure during patching. For more information see /tmp/PatchInstaller.rej" ?
    Erland Isaksson (My homepage)
    Developer of many plugins/applets

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    15

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by erland View Post
    Which firmware version are you using ? (See Settings/Advanced/About)
    1.Have you edited the file manually yourself earlier ? If you have, you will have to restore it to how it looked originally first, either by manually editing the file or doing a factory reset.

    2.Did it really say "Patch not installed, contact....." ?
    Or did you mean "Patch not applied, failure during patching. For more information see /tmp/PatchInstaller.rej" ?
    1. Yes I did, sorry
    2. Yes it said just so.
    Thank you anyhow for the patch. Many users are surely helped by it.

  6. #16
    Senior Member adamslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    1,226
    My attempt to patch it failed in the same way.

    I shall ssh into my consumer device, LOL
    PC, JRiver/Qobuz, Digital XO, Asus Xonar u7, Restek Sextet, JBL L300
    LMS: 3xBoom, 1xRadio, SB3

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    104
    Argh! After a recent system update, my Touch updated its firmware and I was back to the unpatched Fallback Alarm. And did not I know it when the disco beat hit me at full blast. So I spent hours googling around, for I had lost the bookmark from when I originally patched it years ago. Finally I found it again here. So I thought I add a post to summarize from this thread the steps necessary on Windows 10 to drop the volume:

    To enable access on the Touch (cf post #4):
    Home > Settings > Advanced > Remote Login > Enable SSH

    the Touch will reveal its IP, eg 192.168.1.42

    To access the thus enabled Touch from Windows 10, from the CMD shell run:
    ssh -oKexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -caes128-cbc root@192.168.1.42

    You will be prompted for a password, which the Touch would have revealed when you enabled SSH. The password is most likely "1234".

    Once logged into the Touch (cf post #1)
    # cd /usr/share/jive/applets/AlarmSnooze
    # vi AlarmSnoozeApplet.lua

    When inside the vi editor, scroll down (or type "/soundFall" ENTER) to

    function soundFallbackAlarm(self)
    log:warn("*** Alarm: soundFallbackAlarm()")
    self.alarmVolume = 43 -- forget fade in stuff, just do it - it's an alarm!
    -- cache previous volume setting

    Navigate to the 43, DEL DEL.
    Press "i" to insert your preferred volume level (eg 12). ESC. You should now have eg

    self.alarmVolume = 12 -- forget fade in stuff, just do it - it's an alarm!

    Enter ":wq" to write the file and quit.
    # exit

    PS: I cannot understand why after all these years this volume parameter has not made it into the Settings/Players/Advanced in LMS. This is really an arcane procedure to patch a volume level.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •