Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Vortexbox - external USB drive

Hi I'm a total linux noob.

I'm installing votexbox right now.
    I have my music on an external usb-drive.
    How do I mount it the right way and make sure both SBS and windowsclients connecting with Samba/smb have the right rights.
    BR Mogens

2 Radios (1 battery), 2 Controllers, 2 Receivers, SqueezeCommander, OrangeSqueeze and SqueezePlayer on Samsung Galaxy Nexus.

The best option is to copy the files over to your VortexBox machine.
    rip, tag, get cover art… All you do is insert the CD!
    http://vortexbox.org

agillis
    Lead Developer VortexBox

Thanks for the reply.

It's not really an option. There is not eneough space on the pc's own disk. And I don't want to buy a new disk for the old machine I use as server.

I think I saw another thread where someone had managed it. I did say I'm a linux-noob. But I'm far from a novice when it comes to general IT skills. So even if it does require some work, I would prefer to try and set it up.

Vortexbox looks really good and from the few dozens of albums I copied to it it appears to perform quite a bit better than winxp on it.
    BR Mogens

2 Radios (1 battery), 2 Controllers, 2 Receivers, SqueezeCommander, OrangeSqueeze and SqueezePlayer on Samsung Galaxy Nexus.

Quote Originally Posted by Muele View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

It's not really an option. There is not eneough space on the pc's own disk. And I don't want to buy a new disk for the old machine I use as server.

I think I saw another thread where someone had managed it. I did say I'm a linux-noob. But I'm far from a novice when it comes to general IT skills. So even if it does require some work, I would prefer to try and set it up.

Vortexbox looks really good and from the few dozens of albums I copied to it it appears to perform quite a bit better than winxp on it.