Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Senior Member jimzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    663

    Acer Aspire Revo: Good Server Bones?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...L0B-_-83103228

    Add a 2TB external HD and this looks like an excellent, small, energy efficient, inexpensive SB server.

    Thoughts?
    http://zzzone.net
    http://have-a-nice-day.org
    http://www.last.fm/user/zzzoneDOTnet
    http://somethingsomethingsomething.net

    SBS 7.9 - i7 nuc - Win 10 64bit
    5 Booms, 2 Radio, 3 Touch, 1 Duet, 5 piCorePlayers including 3 touchscreen, 1 Avy
    2 controllers, various tablets/phones
    Apps including iPeng, Squeeze Ctrl etc.
    Library: 425,000+ FLAC/MP3 files - 18 TB HD

  2. #2
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    I think it would do the job very well indeed.

    [Project Log] Funkstars Digital Lifestyle - HEXUS.Community

    In use: 1x Touch, 1x Boom, 2x SB3, 1x Controller
    In a box: 1x Radio, 1x (Beta) Controller, 1x Receiver, 1x SB2 wired (silver), 1x SB (black), 1x SliMP3 (with rear shield)

    If you have any others, let me know, I'm interested!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member linvale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    127
    Have been using this as a server for several weeks and am very happy with the performance, efficiency, really not had to reboot since original install of 7.4. Runs silently and very cool. Have is tucked away out of sight, but is a very compact and attractive design - plenty of USB connections. Picked it up at Best Buy with a further discount -so was even better value. No inbuilt Wifi - so hard wire, no CD/DVD drive so need to rip from different machine or add external drive. Some folks have added extra memory on top of the base 1Gb but for the original XP SP3 and SBS I've not yet done so - nor felt the need. Also has very reasonable video capability and HDMI out. Highly recommended (there's reported to be an even cheaper version out there with Linux version installed which could be great as a dedicated server.)
    Squeezcenter running on ACER R1600 Windows XP
    Fileserver ReadyNAS Duo
    Main Listening Transporter / Controller
    Kitchen : SB3
    Bedroom : Boom
    Bath : SBRadio
    Study: Duo

  4. #4
    Watcher of the Windows build
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,260
    I've been trying to get the Aspire Revo 3610 (2nd Generation) with a Core Duo Atom 330 processor and Win 7 64bit, but no reputable US based store or online retailer has it in stock. The MSRP is $329. I can only find it for more money in eBay from a Taiwanese outlet or from an outlet in Canada. I was hoping that Acer was going to announce something about the Revo at CES, but I have not heard anything yet. There is either something wrong with the US supply pipeline for 3610 series or the series has been discontinued.

    It appears as a deactivated item at newegg
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...20r3610%20revo

    One issue that some folks have reported is that they're unable use WOL to remotely wake up the Revos. There is supposedly a BIOS setting to enable this function, but it appears not to be working. Anyone here running SC on an Aspire Revo and using WOL?
    Last edited by tamanaco; 2010-01-09 at 10:36.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    202
    Hi tamanaco

    After my old PC finally gave up the ghost I have just purchased one of the REVO 3160's running windows 7 64bit and it does make a good Squeezecentre Server.

    BUT - I can't get WOL to work here either, its very frustrating, I'm looking to see what the problem is, I've updated to the latest bios but its still not working.

    I find it difficult to believe that such a simple function can be so hard LOL!

    UPDATE: Managed to get it working, still not quite sure how. I want to leave it for a couple of hours and then try to WOL again, as a couple of other people seem to have got it working until it goes into deep sleep!



    kantblue
    Last edited by kantblue; 2010-02-15 at 07:02.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438
    I've just ordered the 3610 Win7. I was reading the revo forums and apparently there's issues with WOL that can be fixed with an update http://www.revouser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=274
    Last edited by dave77; 2010-02-16 at 02:08.
    Boom - Controller - Touch - Radio

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    sheffield, uk
    Posts
    406
    I bought the Linux Revo 3600 and put Ubuntu 9.04 on it. Happily running SBS, Twonky and various other stuff. Currently I have a couple of USB drives attached for storage, I want to use eSata but apparently ION doesn't have a port multiplier so no connecting one box with multiple drives

    Otherwise it's great

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hove, UK
    Posts
    237
    I just bought the 3600, 1GB RAM (ú140 from ebuyer), comes with rubbish o/s so got rid of that, whacked ubuntu 9.10 on it, put SBS on it, put XMBC on it and connected to tv via HDMI, handles full 1080 hd video too,

    not worried about WOL as its pretty much my home server now so stays on 24*7.

    first time using ubuntu and not too tricky though i am a geek at heart.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by trouty00 View Post
    I just bought the 3600, 1GB RAM (ú140 from ebuyer), comes with rubbish o/s so got rid of that, whacked ubuntu 9.10 on it, put SBS on it, put XMBC on it and connected to tv via HDMI, handles full 1080 hd video too,

    not worried about WOL as its pretty much my home server now so stays on 24*7.

    first time using ubuntu and not too tricky though i am a geek at heart.
    Sounds like just what I need.

    Can you point to any tutorials (linux newbie!)

    Does both the SBS and XBMC run direct from the ubuntu OS are are you dual booting the XBMC from usb?

    Any help much apreciated.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight View Post
    Sounds like just what I need.

    Can you point to any tutorials (linux newbie!)

    Does both the SBS and XBMC run direct from the ubuntu OS are are you dual booting the XBMC from usb?

    Any help much apreciated.
    There's Windows 7 versions if you're not comfortable with Linux, just got mine setup yesterday with SBS and XBMC. It's worth getting a model with wireless keyboard/mouse too.
    Boom - Controller - Touch - Radio

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •