Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 18 of 20 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 199
  1. #171
    Senior Member ralphpnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,675
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    Won't help me in my 100% defenestrated environment
    Nicely stated! I wish all Apple users were like you - NOT all up in your face about bad Windows is and how great Apple is.

    I do a have a few quick questions for you:

    1) Do you iTunes/LMS or just LMS?

    2) Do you use flac files or Apple lossless or lossy (mp3/aac) files?
    Living Rm: Transporter-SimAudio pre/power amps-Vandersteen 3A Sign. & sub
    Home Theater: Touch-Marantz HTR-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Linn sub
    Computer Rm: Touch-Headroom Desktop w/DAC-Aragon amp-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Energy sub
    Bedroom: Touch-HR Desktop w/DAC-Audio Refinement amp-Energy Veritas 2.0
    Guest Rm: Duet-Sony soundbar
    Garage: SB3-JVC compact system
    Controls: iPeng; SB Controller; Moose & Muso
    Server: LMS 7.9 on dedicated windows 10 computer w/2 Drobos
    Last.fm

  2. #172
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphpnj View Post
    Nicely stated! I wish all Apple users were like you - NOT all up in your face about bad Windows is and how great Apple is.
    That's because I am not an Apple user either (but my wife is, so we are not an entirely fruitless household).

    1) Do you iTunes/LMS or just LMS?
    Just LMS on Linux.

    2) Do you use flac files or Apple lossless or lossy (mp3/aac) files?
    Flac at home, mp3 in car and DJ setup.

  3. #173
    Senior Member ralphpnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,675
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    Just LMS on Linux.
    Flac at home, mp3 in car and DJ setup.
    Thanks for the answers. Now I understand.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    That's because I am not an Apple user either (but my wife is, so we are not an entirely fruitless household).
    That explains your lack of Apple fanboy behavior. Now I wonder why linux users never behave as badly as Apple fanboys so often do?
    Living Rm: Transporter-SimAudio pre/power amps-Vandersteen 3A Sign. & sub
    Home Theater: Touch-Marantz HTR-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Linn sub
    Computer Rm: Touch-Headroom Desktop w/DAC-Aragon amp-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Energy sub
    Bedroom: Touch-HR Desktop w/DAC-Audio Refinement amp-Energy Veritas 2.0
    Guest Rm: Duet-Sony soundbar
    Garage: SB3-JVC compact system
    Controls: iPeng; SB Controller; Moose & Muso
    Server: LMS 7.9 on dedicated windows 10 computer w/2 Drobos
    Last.fm

  4. #174
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphpnj View Post
    Now I wonder why linux users never behave as badly as Apple fanboys so often do?
    Because a Linux user knows that their OS isn't perfect - and they also know the only reason it isn't is that they (the users) themselves haven't gotten around to fixing it... yet...

  5. #175
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    161

    Recommendation for flagging SB3

    Hi All,

    I have an SB3 where the output volume levels via the RCA connectors have definitely decreased over time. I have no idea as to why this is (I have tried a hardware / DSP reset but with no success) and my concern is that my beloved SB3 is dying.

    I have tried to connect an Audio Engine D1 via TOSLink to my amplifier and it works well for anything except streaming radio which results in significant crackles and pops. Again, I do not understand why this is.

    I would welcome any recommendations:
    - Use a different DAC? (I don't want to go over $200)
    - Get a replacement SB3 vie eBay?
    - Get a bigger amp?
    - Anything else?

    Thank you in advance.

  6. #176
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    91

    A little off topic

    I'm actually using an Audio GD Ref7 dac with my Transporter, running twin monobloc Audio Note P4's to Quad ESL 63's.

    Sounds pretty darned good, but I'm an afflicted modder....

  7. #177
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaizen28 View Post
    I have tried to connect an Audio Engine D1 via TOSLink to my amplifier and it works well for anything except streaming radio which results in significant crackles and pops. Again, I do not understand why this is.
    I assume what you have is the Audioengine connected to the SB3 with TOSlink, and the analog output from the Audiongine connected with analog connectors to your amp?

    You don't get the crackles and pops on the analog output of the SB3?

  8. #178
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,528
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaizen28 View Post
    Hi All,

    I have an SB3 where the output volume levels via the RCA connectors have definitely decreased over time. I have no idea as to why this is (I have tried a hardware / DSP reset but with no success) and my concern is that my beloved SB3 is dying.

    I have tried to connect an Audio Engine D1 via TOSLink to my amplifier and it works well for anything except streaming radio which results in significant crackles and pops. Again, I do not understand why this is.

    I would welcome any recommendations:
    - Use a different DAC? (I don't want to go over $200)
    - Get a replacement SB3 vie eBay?
    - Get a bigger amp?
    - Anything else?

    Thank you in advance.
    The crackles and pops are they in song transition or just random . Sometimes some DAC's does not handle sample rate changes in a good way ,for example different radio channels can have 32, 44, 48 kHz
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  9. #179
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    I assume what you have is the Audioengine connected to the SB3 with TOSlink, and the analog output from the Audiongine connected with analog connectors to your amp?

    You don't get the crackles and pops on the analog output of the SB3?
    Yes, that is correct.

  10. #180
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    The crackles and pops are they in song transition or just random . Sometimes some DAC's does not handle sample rate changes in a good way ,for example different radio channels can have 32, 44, 48 kHz
    The crackles and pops are random. I'll hear them within 10 seconds of listening to a radio stream like NPR.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •