Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Touch as server

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438

    Touch as server

    When I get a Touch i'd like to use it as a server and attach my 500Gb HD to it so I can do away with my current SBS.

    Some questions!
    Will my Boom see the Touch and be able to play music from it (i'm sure I read it can but the spec isn't clear)
    Assuming the above is yes....
    Will the Touch need to be on for the Boom to access music or will it work if the Touch is on standby?
    Can the Touch display/rotate images when in standby?
    I understand I will be able to map a drive on my PC to access the Touch to add new music, how do I then re-scan as there is no web interface?

    Finally, The Touch will replace my SB3, as present both Boom and SB3 are wireless and my SBS is wired to the router. When I lose the SBS, would it be best to wire the Touch so that the Boom will not need to make 2 'hops' to get to the music, eg Boom ---> Router ---> Touch
    Last edited by dave77; 2009-10-30 at 08:29.

  2. #2
    Former Squeezebox Guy andyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    7,396

    Touch as server

    On Oct 30, 2009, at 11:25 AM, dave77 wrote:

    >
    > When I get a Touch i'd like to use it as a server and attach my
    > 500Gb HD
    > to it so I can do away with my current SBS.
    >
    > Some questions!
    > Will my Boom see the Touch and be able to play music from it (i'm sure
    > I read it can but the spec isn't clear)


    Yep.

    > Assuming the above is yes....
    > Will the Touch need to be on for the Boom to access music or will it
    > work if the Touch is on standby?
    > Can the Touch display/rotate images when in standby?


    There is no such thing as standby.

    > I understand I will be able to map a drive on my PC to access the
    > Touch
    > to add new music, how do I then re-scan as there is no web interface?


    Rescan will be automatic as soon as you drop new files on the share.

  3. #3
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    Quote Originally Posted by andyg View Post
    There is no such thing as standby.
    But there is "off", which like most of the SBs, doesn't really turn it completely off. Does TinySC keep serving if you turn the SBT "off" via the button on the upper left of the screen? I would think so, but I haven't tried it yet.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by andyg View Post
    There is no such thing as standby.
    So the Touch will need to be turned on before other players see it?

    Quote Originally Posted by aubuti View Post
    But there is "off", which like most of the SBs, doesn't really turn it completely off. Does TinySC keep serving if you turn the SBT "off" via the button on the upper left of the screen? I would think so, but I haven't tried it yet.
    yeah that's what I meant by standby, like when I power off the Boom and it displays the time/screensaver

  5. #5
    Former Squeezebox Guy andyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    7,396

    Touch as server

    On Oct 30, 2009, at 12:15 PM, dave77 wrote:

    >
    > andyg;479578 Wrote:
    >> There is no such thing as standby.

    >
    > So the Touch will need to be turned on before the Boom will see it?


    If by on you mean plugged in, yes. But TinySC will still be running
    if you turn it "off" as in, to clock mode.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by andyg View Post
    If by on you mean plugged in, yes. But TinySC will still be running
    if you turn it "off" as in, to clock mode.
    That's good

    In that same "off" mode, ahem standby , can the Touch rotate images from the attached HD as a screensaver?

  7. #7
    Former Squeezebox Guy andyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    7,396

    Touch as server

    On Oct 30, 2009, at 12:23 PM, dave77 wrote:

    >
    > andyg;479591 Wrote:
    >>
    >> If by on you mean plugged in, yes. But TinySC will still be running
    >> if you turn it "off" as in, to clock mode.

    >
    > That's good
    >
    > In that same "off" mode, ahem standby , can the Touch rotate images
    > from the attached HD as a screensaver?


    It wouldn't be hard to add.

  8. #8
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    Quote Originally Posted by andyg View Post
    It wouldn't be hard to add.
    In fact, erland already has written the "Album Flow" plugin that works quite well, though there are still some bugs to be squashed: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=68376.

  9. #9
    How is the performance of the Touch as a server? Will I notice any lag on the interface for example? I would like to move away from using my PC as a server.
    "O wad some Power the giftie gie us
    To see oursels as ithers see us!
    It wad frae monie a blunder free us,
    An' foolish notion."
    Robert Burns

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by aubuti View Post
    In fact, erland already has written the "Album Flow" plugin that works quite well, though there are still some bugs to be squashed: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=68376.
    That looks good but I was thinking more photos than album art

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •