Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Wi-Fi connection details

    The specifications of the radio list everything from good old WEP to WPA2. So it must be possible to enter a SSID and password making use of all 255 characters available in the ASCII set, correct? See a listing here.

    A radio from a different manufacturer I tested also claimed to be WEP and WPA2 compatible, yet had a very limited set of characters thus failing at the very first step of setting up a network connection.

  2. #2
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    WPA uses a key made up not of the full 255 character 8-bit ASCII set but the so-called "printable ASCII" set (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASCII#A...ble_characters) which is a subset of the original 7-bit set. As far as I know, Radio will let you enter any of those.
    Last edited by radish; 2009-10-09 at 16:26.

  3. #3
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,302
    I'm not tech savvy enough to understand exactly what you are asking.
    But I can tell you that my network is WPA2 with a 63 character key generated from one of those web sites that randomly selects a combination of numbers, letters, symbols...... and all of my SB players including Radio connect fine.

    All players will ask for you to enter your SSID if your SSID is hidden.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3
    Here is an example of how the SSID would look: "QZW"`T!+ZZdQu"a$s(yH

    My router and all computers on it don't complain about the special characters but if you say the character set is limited on the radio it will probably be just like the one I tested before. Too bad really.

    Strange enough, the feature guide only talks about WEP keys, which in my opinion nobody should use anymore if the security of their networks is worth anything to them.


    Setting up the radios could be made a lot easier if it had USB to transfer network credentials from a computer to the device for example.


    Thanks for your answers.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Phil Leigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    9,991

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    I'm not tech savvy enough to understand exactly what you are asking.
    But I can tell you that my network is WPA2 with a 63 character key generated from one of those web sites that randomly selects a combination of numbers, letters, symbols...... and all of my SB players including Radio connect fine.

    All players will ask for you to enter your SSID if your SSID is hidden.
    ...and hiding your SSID is just pointless and makes life hard for you.
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  6. #6
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by fully View Post
    Here is an example of how the SSID would look: "QZW"`T!+ZZdQu"a$s(yH
    Why on EARTH would you set your SSID to that?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    341
    If you want to secure your network you should learn a bit about wireless security. Crazy SSID or non-broadcast ID do absolutely nothing to secure your network. Nothing. Any idiot with a a tool to break your encryption will also be able to find your network whether or not it has an SSID.

    Also, the characters valid for your passphrase has nothing to do with the characters allowed for an SSID.

    A number of products don't properly support WPA nor WPA2. The most popular product I can think of is called Windows. XP doesn't (generally) support WPA nor WPA2. Well, if you call a pass phrase of *exactly* 13 characters "support" - that's not to spec.

    WPA2 with AES is the only thing you need to set up and then pick yourself a decent pass phrase. WEP can be broken faster than you can type a new pass phrase and WPA with TKIP can be figured out pretty quickly according to reports (never done that one myself).

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3
    Maybe I should have said "Here is an example of how the SSID and passphrase would look". WPA2 is running with keys generated for both SSID and passphrase on my network.

    Now why would it be so hard to support that kind of line, if you forget for a second how cumbersome it will be to enter it into the radio?

  9. #9
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by fully View Post
    Now why would it be so hard to support that kind of line, if you forget for a second how cumbersome it will be to enter it into the radio?
    Because that's exactly the problem. WPA key is defined as a limited subset of 7-bit ASCII, so that's already covered. Any valid WPA key can be entered on the Radio. The character set for SSID is however not defined, it's actually just spec'ced as bytes, so the text representation is up to the implementation. Adding the entire 8-bit ASCII set to the text entry control would slow down everyone else's entry speed significantly just to cater to an edge case.

    I'll ask again - why would you want to set your SSID to something that looks like a CRC error? It doesn't provide any additional security so I just don't see the point. Having said that, it would probably work if you stopped hiding the SSID as well....which is another pointless non security-enhancing measure that people seem to think is a good idea.

  10. #10
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by MelonMonkey View Post
    XP doesn't (generally) support WPA nor WPA2.
    Huh? I have a bunch of XP boxes that would like to disagree with you. I'm using WPA2/AES with a 16-char key.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •