Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19

    internet radio problems with squeezeslave

    Hello,

    Since 2 weeks i have a problem with my music system.
    My softsqueeze(squeezeslave!) player on my server doesn't play internetradio anymore.
    I found out that it still plays some radio channels (but not the ones i like)
    I can't think of anything that i have changed in the setup, and the duet in my livingroom play all radiostations normal.

    Is there anybody who can tell me how to solve this??
    I would really appreciate to be able to listen to the radio again while i am having my breakfast....
    Last edited by bassa; 2009-09-17 at 05:35.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,276
    Information please what version of SC and softsqueeze ?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19
    stupid, should have given more info on my first post....

    squeezecenter version 7.3.2 (platform i686linux)
    running on ubuntu server 8.04.1 (hardy) kernel: 2.6.24-23-generic

    I don't know the what version of squeezeslave i am running...
    (how can i check the version?)
    Last edited by bassa; 2009-09-17 at 05:28.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,276
    Please clarify are you running Softsqueeze or squeezeslave - they are totally different applications ?

    If you are running Softsqueeze you will find the version on the confiuguration/settings page on it UI.

    If using Softsqueeze, you should try Softsqueeze 3.9b1 installed using Extension Downloader under the "alternative" heading. See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=62060

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19
    squeezeslave, (it's a headless server)
    I see i wrote softsqueeze by mistake in my first post... i was tired, sorry
    Last edited by bassa; 2009-09-17 at 05:36.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19
    found out this morning:
    Tried to break the silence in my kitchen this morning, so i took my duet-controller to listen to the radio.
    but the controller seems to have the same problem! it also doesn't play my preferred radiostations....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,276
    Sounds like you are trying to play some stations that need transcoding (e.g. WMA) but you haven't installed the right app or perhaps some compatibility libraries if you are using a 64bit kernel.

    Give details (i.e. URLs) on the stations that don't work

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19
    I listen to the stations that is presented in squeezecenter.
    mostly my national radio station (radio 1, 2 and 3)
    If you do a search for "3fm serious radio" you should get it.

    The stations are streamed from radiotime, i can't find what the format is they use. The website says that they have several streams, but they are opened in a web-player, and i can't find the direct adres of it.

    What app or library should i install?

    And why did't use to work in the past
    (well sometimes it also didn't work, i had the same problem, but after 1 or 2 days it always started working again by itself)

    Thanks for your reply's so far bpa! I hope you can guide me to a solution.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,276
    mostly my national radio station (radio 1, 2 and 3)
    What country Spain, Italy, UK, Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Sweden ... ?

    The stations are streamed from radiotime, i can't find what the format is they use. The website says that they have several streams, but they are opened in a web-player, and i can't find the direct adres of it.
    When a station is playing - look on SC WebUI with your player selected on top RHS - under the station name it will give the format and speed if available.

    hat app or library should i install?
    Depends on your problem.
    Are you using a 64bit kernel ?
    Are you playing WMA streams ?
    They have different solutions - identoify the problem then solution can be given.

    If playing WMA on Softsqueeze - it is usual to install AlienBBC which also provides WMA transcoding for SB1, Softsqueeze and Squeezeplay players

    [quote]

    And why did't use to work in the past
    I presume you mean "did work in the past" - usually because something has changed. Has anything changed since it used to work.

    If it started working properly after 1-2 days - usually means a restart or cache got cleared. In which case - reboot (i.e. power off, wait a few minutes - then on) all devices - routers, switches, PCs and players.

    You need to characterise the problem fully - then a solution can be suggested.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The neterlands
    Posts
    19
    I'll try to be give as much info as possible

    My location is the netherlands, (thought it would be visible, it wasnt, now it is)
    I looked for the stations, they are MP3, constant bit rate 128 KBps
    The station that does work (but do not like) is a WMA stream
    (it works on the squeezeslave player, not on the squeezeremote)

    Right now, the squezeremote play al the stations fine.... :S

    So i am only listening MP3 streams, i have a generic kernel, (generic is 32-bits)

    I will do a restart right now, (i hardly ever restart my server by the way)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •