Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 43 12311 ... LastLast

Lightbulb Announce: SqueezeIR - A Generic Infra-Red Remote Control Applet for the Duet's SBC

SqueezeIR - A Generic Infra-Red Remote Control Applet for the Logitech Squeezebox Duet Controller

NB: This is my first attempt at an applet for the SBC so I cannot guarantee that it won't cause problems but it works for me.

NNB: There has been a major re-write of SqueezeIR and any posts on this thread prior to #158 are now largely meaningless.

After much pulling of hair (I'm almost bald now!) I have finally completed the first release candidate of my promised remote-control applet. I hope it's of some use to you guys!

Overview:
    SqueezeIR (pronounced "squeezier") is an applet for the Logitech Squeezebox Duet Controller (SBC). It's purpose is to provide a set of user-customisable menus to send infra-red remote control codes (IR codes) to auxillary equipment such as amplifiers, CD players etc... Each menu can also have any of the SBC's physical keys mapped to send IR codes instead of, or in addition to, the keys' default behaviour. Macro commands are supported as are having different IR codes defined for the press and hold actions of keys or menu items. Holding a key can optionally repeat the IR code or just send it once.

The functionality of the applet is defined within a configuration file (SqueezeIR.xml). My file has been included with the distribution and includes a selection of device IR codes, examples and help with the syntax.

Limitations:
    - The Scroll-Wheel cannot have its functionality changed (but hold events allow for continuous changes).
    - Very little (make that no) error checking of SqueezeIR.xml, so if your file has the slightest error then the applet won't work. You have been warned!