Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    album plays on SS but not SB

    I have an album in FLAC format that will not play on the squeezebox. The album plays on SoftSqueeze on a WiFi computer. However, it will not play on either of my SB3's (using WiFi or powerline ethernet). It's weird since the squeezecenter shows that the song is playing and the time bar is moving, but on the squeezebox itself the song title is there but the time bar is not moving and stuck at 0:00. I did a network test on both squeeboxes and they are at worst 90% on 5000kbs. Any thoughts? Is there something about how the album was ripped that is tripping up the SB?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Phil Leigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    9,991
    Quote Originally Posted by UNCMo96 View Post
    I have an album in FLAC format that will not play on the squeezebox. The album plays on SoftSqueeze on a WiFi computer. However, it will not play on either of my SB3's (using WiFi or powerline ethernet). It's weird since the squeezecenter shows that the song is playing and the time bar is moving, but on the squeezebox itself the song title is there but the time bar is not moving and stuck at 0:00. I did a network test on both squeeboxes and they are at worst 90% on 5000kbs. Any thoughts? Is there something about how the album was ripped that is tripping up the SB?
    just this one album?
    what level of flac compression does it use?
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  3. #3
    Just this one album. The bitrate is 950-990 VBR.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Phil Leigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    9,991
    Quote Originally Posted by UNCMo96 View Post
    Just this one album. The bitrate is 950-990 VBR.
    Not the bitrate... the compression level (Flac = 0-8 I think). I recall an issue if compression level 8 was used, but can't quite recall the full story...
    Best thing to do is to convert to WAV temporarily and make sure it plays OK then re-FLAC it.
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,580
    all of my FLAC files are compressed as "8" so I doubt that is the issue.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Phil Leigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    9,991
    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    all of my FLAC files are compressed as "8" so I doubt that is the issue.
    OK - but convert it to WAV and see if it plays.
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •