Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    17

    can a wired SB3 be upgraded to wireless?

    i got a SB3 recently and found out to my dismay that it was wired. is there a way to upgrade it to wireless?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,232
    Quote Originally Posted by hardflipman View Post
    i got a SB3 recently and found out to my dismay that it was wired. is there a way to upgrade it to wireless?

    cheers
    I don't think they made an SB3 without a wireless card in it.
    You sure it's an SB3? Not an SB1 or SB2 or other?

    Have you tried resetting it and connecting via WiFi?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17

    There was wired version SB3

    I saw it on an auction site, about two years ago.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    32
    SB3s used to be sold in wired or wired & wireless versions. I have one of each.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    The hardware should be there (mini-PCI slot) and the firmware should support it as there is only one version of the firmware.

    The tricky part will be finding the exact wireless card. You have to find the exact one, and IIRC it's an Asian OEM that only sells to corporations. The model number has been listed on this forum but I'm not sure what search terms would find it.

    It would probably be easier and even cheaper to wire it to a wireless bridge.
    Current: SB2, Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), SBC (early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta), Squeezebox Touch (late beta)
    Selling: Transporter
    Sold: SB3, Duet

  6. #6
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Lanctot View Post
    It would probably be easier and even cheaper to wire it to a wireless bridge.
    I expect Mark's right about this. Another alternative would be to bring the wire to where you're using the SB3. If you don't want to pull ethernet cable to that location, you could look into homeplug adapters, which run the network signal over your home's electrical wires.

  7. #7
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,232
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyM View Post
    SB3s used to be sold in wired or wired & wireless versions. I have one of each.
    Well I'll be..... I had never heard that before. Thanks.

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston area (NE USA)
    Posts
    662
    hardflipman - you can run two separate network connections over a single piece of CAT5/6. Only two pairs are used for twisted pair ethernet, and there are four pairs in CAT5/6.
    There are simple "dongles" that convert one-to-two (you'd need one for each end, or you can do it with a pair of punch down blocks if you're using keystone plates and want to keep clutter down. Note that it's an actual separate circuit so you'd need to have an extra port at the router/hub at the far end. Also - you may slow g-bit down a bit doing this (depends on the length of the CAT5/6.

  10. #10
    Are you sure you can upgrade the SB3 to wireless?

    I have a wired only SB3 & in searching on this forum I was lead to believe by a fairly convincing post that the SB2 wired only units had the mini-pci slot, but the SB3's did not.

    I've not opened mine up to find out since it's sitting next to a WRT54GL that's a client bridge to another building anyways, but in the future it might be nice to upgrade it if possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •