Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Does Logitech even care???

    Have been having problems with squeezecenter / squeezebox losing info and I keep having to reinstall squeezecenter.

    I emailed Logitech 10 days ago, and got an automated response saying they would respond in 24 hours. Since then, absolutely nothing. And no, it's not in my spam folder.

    Very poor, and unacceptable IMHO.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Nij Beets, The Netherlands
    Posts
    480
    I don't know if Logitech in your country cares. I never contacted them; always found solutions to problems here. But this is a user to user forum. If you expect help here, you have to explain your problem.

    Teus

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,925
    You have give some details of your problem in other posts. Details of your system enable suggestions to be made.

    What OS ?
    What version of SC ?
    Are you files and SC Database on a NAS ?
    If Windows any security s/w
    Are there any "interesting" messages in the server and scanner log file ?
    Do you run any automated procedures that could affect SC such as clearing cache, rebuild database ?
    Just before info was lost - did you add more albums, change settings or any other SC action besides browse and play ?

  4. #4
    I have a strong suspicion that it is down to me making significant alterations to the itunes database as it always seems to happen after doing that, so I am not actually TOO worried about the problem as I think and hope once all my CDs are ripped it will be fine.

    My point is about Logitech not replying to support requests which is, I think, pretty poor.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    112

    Get use to it

    Very savvy company. They produce a product, sell it, and leave it to users to solve any problems. Keeps the overhead down. Actually pretty typical of computer companies - sorry to say.

    For what it is worth. This was my experience before they were bought by Logitech.

  6. #6
    Senior Member iPhone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,295

    Sorry to hear that, my expereinces have been positive

    Quote Originally Posted by regalma1 View Post
    Very savvy company. They produce a product, sell it, and leave it to users to solve any problems. Keeps the overhead down. Actually pretty typical of computer companies - sorry to say.

    For what it is worth. This was my experience before they were bought by Logitech.
    Strange to hear that. I have called the Tech Support Help line and my issue was solved all three times. Once before the take-over and twice after. I have E-mailed Tech Support and had my issue resolved every time. Was it as quick as calling tech Support, no it was not. But it was never 10 days before hearing back from them either.

    Yes itĺs only my opinion, but they make a wonderful product and have some the best support I have ever received. And last but certainly not least, they have the best Users Forum hands down. When the owner of the company of Slim Devices takes the time to follow the Forum, that is company awareness. YMMV.
    iPhone
    Media Room:
    ModWright Platinum Signature Transporter, VTL TL-6.5 Signature Pre-Amp, Ayre MX-R Mono's, VeraStarr 6.4SE 6-channel Amp, Vandersteen Speakers: Quatro Wood Mains, VCC-5 Reference Center, four VSM-1 Signatures, Video: Runco RS 900 CineWide AutoScope 2.35:1, Vandersteen V2W Subwoofer

    Living Room:
    Transporter, ADCOM GTP-870HD, Cinepro 3K6SE III Gold, Vandersteen Model 3A Signature, Two 2Wq subs, VCC-2, Two VSM-1

    Office: Touch with Vandersteen VSM-1s
    Kitchen: Touch in-wall mount w/ Thiel Powerpoint 1.2s
    Bedroom: Squeezebox BOOM
    Bathroom: Squeezebox Radio
    Around the House: SliMP3, SB1, SB2, SB3
    Ford Thunderbird: SB Touch, USB drive
    Ford Expedition: SB Touch, USB drive

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    124

    Does Logitech even care???

    regalma1 wrote:
    > Very savvy company. They produce a product, sell it, and leave it to
    > users to solve any problems. Keeps the overhead down. Actually pretty
    > typical of computer companies - sorry to say.
    >
    > For what it is worth. This was my experience before they were bought by
    > Logitech.


    Keep in mind the server was developed by many of the people who frequent
    this list. Not Logitech. And if you want to be one of those people, you
    can be.

    Also, keep in mind that problems that developers / users hate are
    usually resolved quickly unlike commercial music servers. For years now
    I have heard people complain about iTunes creating double entries of
    music collections. From what I can tell, it would be simple for Apple
    to solve this problem. I don't believe this is a problem with SC.

    Getting back to the original post - why are you ripping using iTunes?

    Here are some of the questions I would ask if I were doing what you are
    doing:

    Doesn't this put you into a position of always transcoding music from
    Apples AAC format? (Ripping inside of iTunes probably creates these
    types of files, right? This is not native to SB players AFAIK. So,
    will your server always need to transcode from AAC to MP3 or FLAC or
    something else on the fly every time you play somethine?)

    If you rip with iTunes will you always have to run iTunes to access your
    music? (So, correct me if I am wrong. But you will need to run iTunes
    and SC and MySQL and what ever transcoding software you need to convert
    from iTunes to a stream the SB will understand. Wow, what a lot of
    overhead for something that should be simple.)

    If you rip with iTunes now before they get rid of DRM will you be locked
    into iTunes. Will there be a reason that will cause you to re-rip your
    CD collection after DRM is removed from iTunes (if/when that happens)?

    If you rip with iTunes will you be able to easily support other music
    appliances like sony walkman phones, gramin GPSs, ... ect with out
    re-ripping your CD collection?

    What I do is rip my CD collection to MP3s which is fairly universal,
    even w/iTunes. And if you are really picky, you can try FLAC, which is
    not as universal. This way I can play back my collection on just about
    every music appliance I own.

    ....hope that helps.








  8. #8
    Steve Bernard, Jr
    Guest

    Does Logitech even care???

    I'm not commenting on this thread as a whole but I want to correct a
    few misconceptions about iTunes where I am able.

    On Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 3:52 PM, stuart wrote:
    >
    > Getting back to the original post - why are you ripping using iTunes?
    >
    > Here are some of the questions I would ask if I were doing what you are
    > doing:
    >
    > Doesn't this put you into a position of always transcoding music from
    > Apples AAC format? (Ripping inside of iTunes probably creates these
    > types of files, right? This is not native to SB players AFAIK. So,
    > will your server always need to transcode from AAC to MP3 or FLAC or
    > something else on the fly every time you play somethine?)


    AAC is the default ripping format of iTunes, but iTunes also comes
    with built-in support for ripping to AIFF, Apple Lossless, MP3 and
    WAV. But, yes, the SqueezeBox firmware does not natively decode AAC
    files.

    > If you rip with iTunes will you always have to run iTunes to access your
    > music? (So, correct me if I am wrong. But you will need to run iTunes
    > and SC and MySQL and what ever transcoding software you need to convert
    > from iTunes to a stream the SB will understand. Wow, what a lot of
    > overhead for something that should be simple.)


    This is incorrect. Music ripped with iTunes can be played back using
    any other application that can decode that file type. You can point
    SqueezeCenter at your AAC/MP3 library and never tell it iTunes is in
    any way involved and they will play fine (tracks you've ripped
    yourself or iTunes Plus tracks, that is). iTunes integration with
    SqueezeCenter has to do with SqueezeCenter reading your iTunes library
    information for info about your music. iTunes is not invoked in any
    way to facilitate the actual playback.

    > If you rip with iTunes now before they get rid of DRM will you be locked
    > into iTunes. Will there be a reason that will cause you to re-rip your
    > CD collection after DRM is removed from iTunes (if/when that happens)?


    This is another misconception. Music that you rip yourself with
    iTunes has never been encumbered by DRM. Only certain music files
    purchased from the iTunes store use DRM that would restrict playback
    with other players.

    > If you rip with iTunes will you be able to easily support other music
    > appliances like sony walkman phones, gramin GPSs, ... ect with out
    > re-ripping your CD collection?


    Yes, if your other device can play MP3, AAC, AIFF, WAV, or Apple
    Lossless then you would be able to play back files ripped with iTunes
    on those devices.

    > What I do is rip my CD collection to MP3s which is fairly universal,
    > even w/iTunes. And if you are really picky, you can try FLAC, which is
    > not as universal. This way I can play back my collection on just about
    > every music appliance I own.


    I personally maintain a FLAC library ripped with EAC for my
    SqueezeCenter music and use foobar2000 and the Nero AAC encoder to
    maintain a lossy library for my iTunes/iPod. I find that this works
    well for my purposes. However, using iTunes as a ripper does not
    cause the sorts of far-reaching problems you seem to be imagining.

    -Steve

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    124

    Does Logitech even care???

    Steve Bernard, Jr wrote:
    > I'm not commenting on this thread as a whole but I want to correct a
    > few misconceptions about iTunes where I am able.
    >
    > On Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 3:52 PM, stuart wrote:
    >> Getting back to the original post - why are you ripping using iTunes?
    >>
    >> Here are some of the questions I would ask if I were doing what you are
    >> doing:
    >>
    >> Doesn't this put you into a position of always transcoding music from
    >> Apples AAC format? (Ripping inside of iTunes probably creates these
    >> types of files, right? This is not native to SB players AFAIK. So,
    >> will your server always need to transcode from AAC to MP3 or FLAC or
    >> something else on the fly every time you play somethine?)

    >
    > AAC is the default ripping format of iTunes, but iTunes also comes
    > with built-in support for ripping to AIFF, Apple Lossless, MP3 and
    > WAV. But, yes, the SqueezeBox firmware does not natively decode AAC
    > files.


    Yes, but I bet most people are "flying w/the default settings" (i.e.
    ripping to AAC).

    >> If you rip with iTunes will you always have to run iTunes to access your
    >> music? (So, correct me if I am wrong. But you will need to run iTunes
    >> and SC and MySQL and what ever transcoding software you need to convert
    >> from iTunes to a stream the SB will understand. Wow, what a lot of
    >> overhead for something that should be simple.)

    >
    > This is incorrect. Music ripped with iTunes can be played back using
    > any other application that can decode that file type. You can point
    > SqueezeCenter at your AAC/MP3 library and never tell it iTunes is in
    > any way involved and they will play fine (tracks you've ripped
    > yourself or iTunes Plus tracks, that is). iTunes integration with
    > SqueezeCenter has to do with SqueezeCenter reading your iTunes library
    > information for info about your music. iTunes is not invoked in any
    > way to facilitate the actual playback.


    Ok, but what about all those "bought" files? I thought, and maybe I'm
    wrong here, that the SC / iTunes feature was created to allow playing
    back of the bought (i.e. DRM encoded) music.

    >> If you rip with iTunes now before they get rid of DRM will you be locked
    >> into iTunes. Will there be a reason that will cause you to re-rip your
    >> CD collection after DRM is removed from iTunes (if/when that happens)?

    >
    > This is another misconception. Music that you rip yourself with
    > iTunes has never been encumbered by DRM. Only certain music files
    > purchased from the iTunes store use DRM that would restrict playback
    > with other players.


    Good to know.

    >> If you rip with iTunes will you be able to easily support other music
    >> appliances like sony walkman phones, gramin GPSs, ... ect with out
    >> re-ripping your CD collection?

    >
    > Yes, if your other device can play MP3, AAC, AIFF, WAV, or Apple
    > Lossless then you would be able to play back files ripped with iTunes
    > on those devices.


    Again, I'm betting most iTunes users rip mindlessly to AAC. Further,
    I'm betting AAC files don't play back on the above music appliances.

    >> What I do is rip my CD collection to MP3s which is fairly universal,
    >> even w/iTunes. And if you are really picky, you can try FLAC, which is
    >> not as universal. This way I can play back my collection on just about
    >> every music appliance I own.

    >
    > I personally maintain a FLAC library ripped with EAC for my
    > SqueezeCenter music and use foobar2000 and the Nero AAC encoder to
    > maintain a lossy library for my iTunes/iPod. I find that this works
    > well for my purposes. However, using iTunes as a ripper does not
    > cause the sorts of far-reaching problems you seem to be imagining.
    >
    > -Steve


    Hey, thanks for clearing these questions up. I'm a "lite" iTunes users
    and these questions have bothered me for some time.

    ---

    Say, would you be able to solve my biggest iTunes problem? I create m3u
    files when I rip my CD collections. This works well on the many music
    clients I use including SqueezeCenter. But iTunes always creates double
    entries because of these files. I understand if the paths match and are
    absolute this may not happen. But I routinely mount my collection on
    different computers at different locations. Therefore I'm not willing
    to forsake the powerful advantage of relative paths just to satisfy
    iTunes. Besides, windows does not handle absolute paths well as the
    user has little control over the mounting point (i.e. the windows drive
    letter). Is there an iTunes setting such that it will ignore or
    properly use the m3u files?




  10. #10
    Steve Bernard, Jr
    Guest

    Does Logitech even care???

    On Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 5:55 PM, stuart wrote:
    >
    >> This is incorrect. Music ripped with iTunes can be played back using
    >> any other application that can decode that file type. You can point
    >> SqueezeCenter at your AAC/MP3 library and never tell it iTunes is in
    >> any way involved and they will play fine (tracks you've ripped
    >> yourself or iTunes Plus tracks, that is). iTunes integration with
    >> SqueezeCenter has to do with SqueezeCenter reading your iTunes library
    >> information for info about your music. iTunes is not invoked in any
    >> way to facilitate the actual playback.

    >
    > Ok, but what about all those "bought" files? I thought, and maybe I'm
    > wrong here, that the SC / iTunes feature was created to allow playing
    > back of the bought (i.e. DRM encoded) music.


    Nope. SC will not play back a DRM-encumbered AAC file from the iTunes
    store. Other appliances like the Sonos or Roku players have the same
    limitation. In fact, as far as I know the only hardware players that
    will play protected AAC files are the Airport Express and Apple TV/

    >>> If you rip with iTunes will you be able to easily support other music
    >>> appliances like sony walkman phones, gramin GPSs, ... ect with out
    >>> re-ripping your CD collection?

    >>
    >> Yes, if your other device can play MP3, AAC, AIFF, WAV, or Apple
    >> Lossless then you would be able to play back files ripped with iTunes
    >> on those devices.

    >
    > Again, I'm betting most iTunes users rip mindlessly to AAC. Further,
    > I'm betting AAC files don't play back on the above music appliances.
    >


    Walkman phones have played back AAC since 2005. (cf.
    http://www.macdailynews.com/index.ph...comments/4998/ ). AAC is
    also supported on Blackberry phones, Palm devices (including phones),
    Nokia phones, and others. From some brief research, it looks like
    Garmin GPS-only units will only play MP3 files. The Garmin nuvifone
    plays AAC, as do many car stereo units with Garmin GPS integrated such
    as Alpine, Kenwood, etc.

    I'm no codec evangelist, but I do think it's worth pointing out that
    AAC is not some marginal codec that nobody supports. There are plenty
    of software and hardware products that will play the files. Hell,
    even the Zune will play AAC files. If you have a whole library of
    *non-DRM* AAC files in your iTunes and you decide the iPod isn't for
    you, you can easily take those files with you to, for example, a Zune,
    a Creative Zen, a Sandisk Sansa View, any number of Cowon players, or
    an Archos (although it looks like you have to buy a plugin to make it
    work on the Archos. Blech), so you're in no way locked into Apple
    hardware.

    >
    > Say, would you be able to solve my biggest iTunes problem? I create m3u
    > files when I rip my CD collections. This works well on the many music
    > clients I use including SqueezeCenter. But iTunes always creates double
    > entries because of these files. I understand if the paths match and are
    > absolute this may not happen. But I routinely mount my collection on
    > different computers at different locations. Therefore I'm not willing
    > to forsake the powerful advantage of relative paths just to satisfy
    > iTunes. Besides, windows does not handle absolute paths well as the
    > user has little control over the mounting point (i.e. the windows drive
    > letter). Is there an iTunes setting such that it will ignore or
    > properly use the m3u files?


    I don't have a great answer for this as I too find that iTunes has
    pretty crummy support for external playlists. I guess the simplest
    option would be to not use the "Add file to library" or "Add folder to
    library" functions within iTunes, but instead right click at the top
    of your library and select Search. Then search for *.mp3 and wait for
    all the results to come up. Then ctrl-A to select all and drag them
    all into the iTunes library, That'll let you import only your MP3
    files a none of your playlists.

    -Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •