Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    25

    What sound card should I use to get accurate sync between SB3 and SoftSqueeze?

    My current cards (on-board and SB-Live) typically can't pull it off. Is there a card, preferably an inexpensive one, that can?

    I'm using SqueezeCenter 7.2 and SoftSqueeze 3.7.

    Thanks,
    Oren

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by orenb View Post
    My current cards (on-board and SB-Live) typically can't pull it off. Is there a card, preferably an inexpensive one, that can?
    I've never been able to get them to sync, using a variety of machines over a number of years. They are close, but never spot-on. I don't think it's possible.

    I just did get a second Squeezebox and was amazed that their sync is perfect, even when using Rhapsody content over-the-internet.

    Lerch

  3. #3
    Senior Member Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kurt Vonnegut's Neighborhood
    Posts
    2,367
    I must be one of the lucky ones. It was working ok with on-board sound card, which is being listed as Realtek AC97.

    Mine was set at lowest quality sample rate conversion and medium hardware acceleration. Maybe you could try adjusting some settings or minimizing DSP?
    'The Buddha resides quite as comfortably in the circuits of a computer as he does at the top of a mountain or in the petals of a flower'.
    -Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by thing-fish View Post
    I just did get a second Squeezebox and was amazed that their sync is perfect, even when using Rhapsody content over-the-internet.
    If the SB3 hardware can do it, then why can't a good sound card? I'm not happy about spending hundreds of dollars just to be able to get my PC to sync properly.

    Oren

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Skunk View Post
    I must be one of the lucky ones. It was working ok with on-board sound card, which is being listed as Realtek AC97.
    Can you share the motherboard brand and model? I'm curious to find the sound chipset it uses.

    Mine was set at lowest quality sample rate conversion and medium hardware acceleration. Maybe you could try adjusting some settings or minimizing DSP?
    I'll try that, thanks.

    Oren

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283

    What sound card should I use to get accuratesync between SB3 and SoftSqueeze?

    orenb wrote:
    > thing-fish;352136 Wrote:
    >
    >> I just did get a second Squeezebox and was amazed that their sync is
    >> perfect, even when using Rhapsody content over-the-internet.
    >>

    >
    > If the SB3 hardware can do it, then why can't a good sound card? I'm
    > not happy about spending hundreds of dollars just to be able to get my
    > PC to sync properly.
    >

    The problem is that lots of software and drivers cause delays. I've been
    playing with some music software and virtual synths recently and an
    unavoidable problem with those is latency, very short delays between the
    time that you press a key on the (music) keyboard and when the sound
    appears. This is not a problem when playing music - that's why a
    standard PC system doesn't bother minimizing latency, but it becomes a
    big annoyance when you're playing the piano or guitar over the PC. Or,
    when you're trying to sync an SB with a PC.

    The best solution is to use a sound card (or sound interface) that has
    ASIO drivers. These drivers bypass most of the Windows/Mac sound driver
    layers and access the hardware directly so that the latency is as small
    as possible. Using ASIO an acceptable latency of 3 of 4 ms is possible
    on fast systems. Of course SB's have a latency of their own, so to get
    perfect sync you should probably be able to tune the latency on the PC,
    that's possible with most ASIO drivers. You can adjust the latency.

    I haven't really tried it, but I have my PC soundcards (AC97 and M-Audio
    Transit) as well as an SBR connected to a mixer, so I could do some
    tests to see if I can get the SBR and SoftSqueeze on the PC to get
    synced perfectly. I wouldn't need it myself (I have 7 SD devices) but it
    could be interesting to find out.

    Regards,
    Peter


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by peter View Post
    The best solution is to use a sound card (or sound interface) that has
    ASIO drivers.
    Can you recommend an inexpensive card that supports ASIO?

    I haven't really tried it, but I have my PC soundcards (AC97 and M-Audio
    Transit) as well as an SBR connected to a mixer, so I could do some
    tests to see if I can get the SBR and SoftSqueeze on the PC to get
    synced perfectly. I wouldn't need it myself (I have 7 SD devices) but it
    could be interesting to find out.
    Thanks, this could be very helpful.

    Oren

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283

    What sound card should I use to get accurate syncbetween SB3 and SoftSqueeze?

    On Wed, 22 Oct 2008 11:10:22 -0700, "orenb"
    <orenb.3hp2ez1224699301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> said:
    >
    > peter;352196 Wrote:
    > >
    > > The best solution is to use a sound card (or sound interface) that has
    > >
    > > ASIO drivers.

    >
    > Can you recommend an inexpensive card that supports ASIO?


    I could, but it wouldn't do you much good. After sending my first
    reaction I realized that softsqueeze probably won't support the ASIO
    interface. The application needs to be ASIO-aware. I confirmed that when
    trying it out.

    > > I haven't really tried it, but I have my PC soundcards (AC97 and M-Audio
    > >
    > > Transit) as well as an SBR connected to a mixer, so I could do some
    > > tests to see if I can get the SBR and SoftSqueeze on the PC to get
    > > synced perfectly. I wouldn't need it myself (I have 7 SD devices) but
    > > it
    > > could be interesting to find out.

    >
    > Thanks, this could be very helpful.


    As ASIO wasn't available I just tried the M-Audio Transit (which is a
    USB interface) and the Dell PC's built in audio (which is not an AC97 as
    I said, but a 'Soundmax'. Turns out the Soundmax did pretty well, I
    think there was probably a slight letancy that could be heard when I
    mixed the SBR signal with it over the headphones. The M-Audio OTOH, did
    horrible, the sound was totally out of sync. Possibly because it's
    optimized as an ASIO interface and the standard Windows interface won't
    be used very much.

    Not much help to you, I'm afraid.

    Don't buy an expensive card but experiment with cheap ones or get a
    (also cheap) SB Receiver instead. That oughta work without problems.
    That Soundmax card produces horrible interference noise from the video
    card. It changes when I open windows and things. It's best to keep the
    analog sound generation outside your PC.

    Regards,
    Peter

  9. #9
    Senior Member iPhone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,295
    Quote Originally Posted by orenb View Post
    If the SB3 hardware can do it, then why can't a good sound card? I'm not happy about spending hundreds of dollars just to be able to get my PC to sync properly.

    Oren
    One answer might be that SqueezeCenter is contolling all the Slim Devices as dumb slave units. The PC is a smart device.

    And here is my question. Why would anybody "WANT" to sync PC playback to the quality playback of any of their Slim Devices? Of course, I know there are a few reasons to use softSqueeze to just listen to ones music on the PC. But if one actually owns Slim Devices, why would you want to also sync the PC? Maybe I have too many Squeezeboxes (of course there is no such thing) to understand the need to sync the PC also, but also for me, I don't even care for music being played on my Creative Labs sound card (great for games, barely OK for music).

    After all, isn't the "WHOLE" idea behind Squeezebox to free one from the crappy music that comes from a PC? I guess Squeezebox has made me see the light about PC music.
    iPhone
    Media Room:
    ModWright Platinum Signature Transporter, VTL TL-6.5 Signature Pre-Amp, Ayre MX-R Mono's, VeraStarr 6.4SE 6-channel Amp, Vandersteen Speakers: Quatro Wood Mains, VCC-5 Reference Center, four VSM-1 Signatures, Video: Runco RS 900 CineWide AutoScope 2.35:1, Vandersteen V2W Subwoofer

    Living Room:
    Transporter, ADCOM GTP-870HD, Cinepro 3K6SE III Gold, Vandersteen Model 3A Signature, Two 2Wq subs, VCC-2, Two VSM-1

    Office: Touch with Vandersteen VSM-1s
    Kitchen: Touch in-wall mount w/ Thiel Powerpoint 1.2s
    Bedroom: Squeezebox BOOM
    Bathroom: Squeezebox Radio
    Around the House: SliMP3, SB1, SB2, SB3
    Ford Thunderbird: SB Touch, USB drive
    Ford Expedition: SB Touch, USB drive

  10. #10
    Senior Member androidtopp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    207
    iPhone - I'm doing exactly what you're questioning the need for. My house is arranged such that I can walk the circuit from office (no SB, using SoftSqueeze) to bedroom (SBB) to living room (SB3) while tidying, etc, going about weekend tasks. I just start up a playlist, sync all three, and I never walk out of range of the music.

    Eventually, I might upgrade to a hardware SB in the office, but for right now, I have higher end PC speakers with decent sound, and having the music going in the office is nice. I'll forgo audiophile quality (since I don't have that anywhere to begin with) just to have it playing.

    I don't think you have too many squeezeboxes, but...I think you may have more disposable income than I do...;-)

    Now, on another note - I routinely sync all three players, and I can detect little to no lag on the PC. Even moving my SBB into the office and syncing? I can make myself hear a sync difference, but it's incredibly slight, if anything.

    I'm running onboard sound from an ASUS motherboard, Windows Vista Ultimate x64. So nothing terribly fancy, hardware wise.
    A Touch + Cambridge DAC Magic has replaced my venerable SB3. May it rest in peace.

    http://www.last.fm/user/androidtopp

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •