Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    280

    Choppy playback, unlistenable :

    I upggraded to SC7 a few weeks ago, and after a AVS issue, everything worked great.
    This week i replaced the graphics card in my pc, switched it back on, and now my sb3 is unplayable. Every song is choppy, stuttering etc. Occasionaly it plays 2-3 mins fine, then breaks up. (SC7 is the only application running on XP SP3 machine, 2gb memory, 3.5ghz dual core cpu.) Looking at running running processes, mysqld and sc7 jump from 0-20% cpu usage about every 20 seconds or so, and the buffer usage on my SB3 is 0-4%. Its not like the song plays and stops, its like a record thats jumping, it just doesn't seem able to play anything at all, then occasional it plays fine, then back to stuttering.

    Help ...

    SC log has no errors btw, wireless signal is 89.

    BT
    Last edited by BigTony; 2008-06-15 at 12:52.
    We're Only In It For The Music! www.zappateers.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    280
    Update.

    The only item in the log was a DNS error, saying it couldn't find the DNS. Will this effect playback? and how do I fix it?

    Cheers

    Tony
    We're Only In It For The Music! www.zappateers.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,288
    DNS issue is unlikely to affect playback from local files.

    It sounds like your AVS issue again - you may need to re-enter the settings again to exclude checking of SC and database files.

    Another likely cause of stuttering is wireless interference from a another newly setup Wifi net or a new electrical device. Use Netstumbler to see what nets are in your area ?

    What format are the files ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    280
    I swithced off the AVS, just to make sure (AVS didn't interfere with playback, just artwork display on my N800).
    I ran netstumbler before and didn't find anything bad, I live at the end of a cul-de-sac with a field behind me (unless someone sneaks into the field at night!).
    Is there anything else to try? I've reset my SB3, reinstalled SC7, re-scanned my music collection?
    All my files are FLAC's.

    BT
    We're Only In It For The Music! www.zappateers.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,288
    In open country wifi has a range of a couple of miles and some people have also upped the power output of their routers.

    Electrical interference can comes from a number of sources including anecdotally from items such as fluorescent tubes and burglar alarms.

    Eliminate wireless as a possibility by wiring Sb3 to router (if
    necessary move SB3 closer to router and use earphones to test).

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    280
    Ok, I'll give it a try by wiring it directly to the router.
    The question then is, if that works, how do I get it back working wirelessley? as a 10M network cable in the lounge won't go down very well!

    Cheers

    BT
    We're Only In It For The Music! www.zappateers.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by BigTony View Post
    Ok, I'll give it a try by wiring it directly to the router.
    The question then is, if that works, how do I get it back working wirelessley? as a 10M network cable in the lounge won't go down very well!

    Cheers

    BT
    Change the channel on your wireless access point could be an option. Try different ones and perhaps you can avoid the issue. If it is a wireless interference issue it could be tricky to fix.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,288
    If it is wireless changing channel may help - 13 is less used in Europe.

    However since the problem seems to have occurred when you change graphics card you may have a rare problem related to PCI latency. It doesn't happen very often so it is a long shot.


    See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31748

    I don't knwo how to cure it on XP but it may be a BIOS setting.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    280
    Before I go in search of a 10M cable I decided to see if a stream to my N800 would suffer the same fate. ANd the answer is nope, its plays faultlessly (even as I sit writing this) so whats evers up is only affecting the SB3 (I've sat the n800 next to the SB3, so any wireless interference should be the same).

    Anyone got a spare hammer?

    One additonal point, its very hard to turn the Sb3 on/off - it doen't seem to respond to the remote, and sometimes the screen on the Sb3 just goes completely blank!

    Ok, just tried it out with a network cable, exactly the same problem. Buffer approximately 0%, playback stutters etc .. I have a sinking feeling that the box has died..... bummer

    BT
    Last edited by BigTony; 2008-06-16 at 06:09.
    We're Only In It For The Music! www.zappateers.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,288
    Does the N800 play the files as Flac or transcoded into MP3 ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •