Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,137

    Running SqueezeCenter on *2* Computers

    That might sound strange, but I have 2 Computers in then house that I like to work on:

    - Vista Ultimate 64 bit
    - Ubuntu 8.04

    I wonder if there's a way to make one the primary server, but have all the Squeezeboxes automatically seek out the secondary server when the first one is switched off. And vice versa. Basically,I'd like the ability for the SB to switch from one to then other...

    Any ideas on how this would work?

  2. #2
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    They can't switch automatically, but it's only a few remote presses to get from one to the other.

  3. #3
    Senior Member jaffacake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by radish View Post
    They can't switch automatically, but it's only a few remote presses to get from one to the other.
    Indeed, I currently have 4 SC servers running in my house.

    The controller or player will never switch between them without a push, even if the active one is shut down.
    Ben - eco conscious techie and author of Jaffa's Green Blog - http://www.jaffacake.net

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,904
    Why not just leave the squeezecenter running on the Ubuntu machine, and control it remotely via the web interface?

  5. #5
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,137
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperQ View Post
    Why not just leave the squeezecenter running on the Ubuntu machine, and control it remotely via the web interface?
    Indeed, that is what I think I will end up doing. The Ubuntu machine runs on a fast and power-efficient Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 which does some neat power stuff when idle, and offers grat power-lowing capabilities in BIOS. A perfect always-on machine. I also like to use the Ubuntu machine for email and web browsing, since one doesn't have to worry all that much about viruses.

    The Windows Vista machine is Opteron 185 based, fast, a totally silent machine from endpcnoise.com, extremely stable (albeit no more so than the Ubuntu machine, which has a stellar reliability track record) and I use it to run the usual business applications from the home office and run my side business. It is a tad less power efficient than the Ubuntu machine, and thus a secondary SC choice.

    My nerdy side would like to switch them around at times, and I probably will do it from time to time anyhow, but I'll use the Ubuntu machine as my always-on home server that runs SC and supports all central storage and backup.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Siduhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    deepest, darkest, south-east London
    Posts
    3,238
    Quote Originally Posted by radish View Post
    They can't switch automatically, but it's only a few remote presses to get from one to the other.
    Doesn't the ServerSwitcher plugin speed up the process a bit? Not sure how up to date the current plugin is, however.

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...serverswitcher
    Who am I on LAST.FM?
    "Siduhe Loved Tracks radio got the thumbs up. Feedback included: yeah, it's good... got the odd dodgy track tho..." (c) ModelCitizen

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,904
    Quote Originally Posted by pablolie View Post
    My nerdy side would like to switch them around at times, and I probably will do it from time to time anyhow, but I'll use the Ubuntu machine as my always-on home server that runs SC and supports all central storage and backup.
    Seems like a good solution.

    OT: What are you using for backups? I have been using backuppc to auto-backup several linux/mac laptops.

  8. #8
    formerly known as Fletch
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2,260
    What version of SC are you using? I believe that ServerSwitcher has not been updated fro SC7 and is Linux only.

    You may want to try SC 7.1. It has a feature (which I haven't tried) which discovers other SC instances on your network and allows you to switch players between them.

  9. #9
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,137
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperQ View Post
    Seems like a good solution.

    OT: What are you using for backups? I have been using backuppc to auto-backup several linux/mac laptops.
    I have a Drobo RAID array connected to the Ubuntu 8.04 server. That is where everything goes for backup for now - both from Ubuntu and Windows, using their standard tools. While Drobo claims Linux is unsupported, it works just fine.

    That said, regularly I back up the entire music collection onto a drive using SynchoMagic, a nice utility for that kind of things. I then take the drive to my office and keep it there.

    I had experimented with an online storage service, but the load times are too long until we get fiber to the home. :-)

  10. #10
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,137
    Quote Originally Posted by Siduhe View Post
    Doesn't the ServerSwitcher plugin speed up the process a bit? Not sure how up to date the current plugin is, however.

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...serverswitcher
    I hand't heard about serverswitcher - thanks for the pointer!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •