Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Turning rescan off??!

    I have recently upgraded to Squeezecentre. In the previous SlimServer, I could instruct the system NOT to rescan the computer every time there was a change in the music play list.

    I can't find this in Squeezecentre. Everytime I turn on my computer, it is rescanning my library (which is fairly large). This takes - on average - 38 minutes each time (!!) during which my computer is rendered nearly useless as this process soaks up all of my CPU!

    I have tried changing the settings in both the basic and advanced areas, and have tried un-clicking the plug-in but to no avail.

    Please - any help with this is greatly appreciated!! I don't want a rescan just becuase I downloaded my daily news podscast!!

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,355

    Turning rescan off??!

    > I can't find this in Squeezecentre. Everytime I turn on my computer, it
    > is rescanning my library (which is fairly large). This takes - on


    Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
    later? Are you running SC as a service (assuming you're on Windows)?

    Michael

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Turning rescan off??!

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
    later? Are you running SC as a service (assuming you're on Windows)?

    Michael
    Thanks very much for responding so quickly!

    The first part of your question, I will check later today when I get home. As for the second, yes I am on Windows (XP), but not sure what you mean by running SC as a service. I did a regular install of the programme, which has SC start automatically when I start the computer and has it running in the background. I believe SC detects there has been a change to my playlist (for example, after downloading a daily news podcast), and then kicks in with server.exe automatically.

    Will come back when I try to stop SC manually and restarting it.

    Thanks!
    David

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,355

    Turning rescan off??!

    > you mean by running SC as a service. I did a regular install of the
    > programme, which has SC start automatically when I start the computer
    > and has it running in the background.


    I was asking because this is no longer default behaviour. In
    Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool to manage the startup
    method. What is it set to?

    > I believe SC detects there has
    > been a change to my playlist (for example, after downloading a daily
    > news podcast), and then kicks in with server.exe automatically.


    Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

    Michael

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Turning rescan off??!

    In Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool to manage the startup
    method. What is it set to?


    It is set to "Start SqueezeCentre when I log in". (The only other option I see is "Start SqueezeCentre automatically when the computer starts.")

    Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

    I am using iTunes.

    Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
    later?


    I tried this, but it didn't work. What I did was: downloaded a podcast to iTunes. Restarted the computer (and kept an eye on the Windows processes). SqueezeCentre starts automatically. As soon as it was fully running, scanner.exe kicked in. I then stopped the SqueezeCentre but the scanner.exe continued to run. I restarted SqueezeCentre and scanner.exe still continued to run.

    Thanks again for your continued help!
    David

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,355

    Turning rescan off??!

    > was fully running, scanner.exe kicked in. I then stopped the
    > SqueezeCentre but the scanner.exe continued to run. I restarted
    > SqueezeCentre and scanner.exe still continued to run.


    You'll have to let SC finish its scan before shutting down SC.

    Michael

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Turning rescan off??!

    You'll have to let SC finish its scan before shutting down SC.

    Yes, and this is normally the case. If I restart SC afterwards, all is fine. However, the next time there is a change to my music file directory (for example, with a podcast), the whole process starts again.

    In Slimserver, there was an option to choose "Do not scan my library or playlists", and this worked fine. I could choose manually when I wanted it to rescan, but I cannot fine any option for this in SC. Thus, scanner.exe keeps starting anytime there is a change (or when I restart my computer after a change).

    Many thanks,
    David

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Vallier View Post
    [B]In Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool
    Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

    I am using iTunes.

    Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
    later?



    Thanks again for your continued help!
    David
    If you are using iTunes then set the reload time in the SC7 iTunes settings
    to 0 . If set to any nonzero value I find that restarting SC7 causes the
    scan to start. I control all my scanning via the scheduled scan option.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Turning rescan off??!

    Quote Originally Posted by ipxlittle View Post
    If you are using iTunes then set the reload time in the SC7 iTunes settings
    to 0 . If set to any nonzero value I find that restarting SC7 causes the
    scan to start. I control all my scanning via the scheduled scan option.
    I tried the above (it was set to 3600), and it has worked perfectly!

    Many thanks for everyone's assistance with this. Scanner.exe was starting to drive me a bit round the bend.

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Similarly, if you use MusicIP, set the Reload Interval=0.
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •