Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1

    Linux Noob Warning-Squeezecenter Installed-Nothing Happens

    I have successfully installed Squeezecenter on Ubuntu 7.10, and I just found the Startup scripts. I copied and pasted the second one into a terminal window with no results. Can anyone give a poor helpless noob some guidance as to how to implement them?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Linux NoobWarning-Squeezecenter Installed-Nothing Happens

    buelligan wrote:
    > I have successfully installed Squeezecenter on Ubuntu 7.10, and I just
    > found the Startup scripts. Can anyone give a poor helpless noob some
    > guidance as to how to implement them?


    What do you need?
    Did you use apt-get or Synaptic to do the install? if so, its normally
    is done, ready and running.

    How do you know 'nothing' is happening?

    On the Ubuntu box, have you tried Firefox going to localhost:9000?


    --
    Pat Farrell
    http://www.pfarrell.com/


  3. #3

    Umm... Squeezecenter Loads.

    Dear pfarrell,
    Thanks for responding so quickly. I assumed (always a good idea!) that because there was no symbol in the system tray that it wasn't working. But I tried it in Firefox and it loaded right up.

    My second (of three that I know of) problem is that I use an Acommdata USB hard drive to store my library. The drive is accessible from Ubuntu (I can see all of the music files) but the music library selection doesn't show the /media/HD Part in its listing. (My USB drive has an annoying "feature"; a CD ROM partition with OpenOffice and other apps irreversibly loaded.)

    My third problem is that I can't figure out how to make Ubuntu see my Linksys WRT54GS router, but that's an Ubuntu issue.

    Any additional help is even more appreciated.

    Thanks again,
    buelligan

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,905
    Squeezecenter may not be able to see the music library on boot because the disk may not be mounted until you login. It may be better to keep your music on the internal drive.

    How are you trying to connect to the WRT54GS? Wireless or wired ethernet?
    What kind of computer is this?

    What do you see when you open a terminal and run "iwconfig"

  5. #5
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Linux NoobWarning-Squeezecenter Installed-Nothing Happens

    buelligan wrote:
    > My second (of three that I know of) problem is that I use an Acommdata
    > USB hard drive to store my library. The drive is accessible from
    > Ubuntu (I can see all of the music files) but the music library
    > selection doesn't show the /media/HD Part in its listing. (My USB
    > drive has an annoying "feature"; a CD ROM partition with OpenOffice and
    > other apps irreversibly loaded.)


    On your Ubuntu on the top (usual place) there is a Places -> Computer
    option that fires up something close to Windows Explorer. Do it and
    drive around and see if you can find the files.


    > My third problem is that I can't figure out how to make Ubuntu see my
    > Linksys WRT54GS router, but that's an Ubuntu issue.


    Sadly, wireless on Linux has a fair amount of black art to it.

    Have you tried the System -> Administration -> network
    and drove around in it? There are semi-friendly GUI setup stuff.

    The best place for wireless support on general Ubuntu stuff is
    http://www.ubuntu.com/support


    --
    Pat Farrell
    http://www.pfarrell.com/


  6. #6
    Dear Super Q,

    Here is what I got:
    henry@henry-desktop:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    henry@henry-desktop:~$

    I must confess that I have very little Linux experience. What there has been hasn't been that good. Anyway, thanks for responding,
    buelligan

  7. #7

    So near and yet so far...

    Dear pfarrell and SuperQ,

    I am able to see all of my music files by clicking the HD Part icon on my desktop. I can navigate through all my music and play them on Amarok by clicking on the files and selecting Open with Amarok as well as by opening them through Amarok and going to /media/HD Part/My Music.

    If only Squeeze center would just see them, I'd be one step closer. Am I mistaken in thinking that the drive is mounted because everything else seems to see it?

    Thanks,
    buelligan

  8. #8
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,528

    regarding network

    In Ubuntu you have an icon besides the clock that looks like 2 small computers, thats the "manual Network Configuration" you have a manual configuration option at the bottom when you scrool, it also show's wireless network's if any.

    As comparison it doesn't look like you have any working wifi on your pc ?

    Heres my "iwconfig"

    mikael@mikael:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wifi0 no wireless extensions.

    ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:13 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
    Retryff RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-96 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:88014 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    I don't use the wifi in my pc (have router for that part) but it is ok and working

    Take a peek here:

    System > Administration > Restricted Drivers Manager

    I have to use "Atheros Hardware Access Layer (HAL)" otherwise the wifi NIC named ath0 wont work.

    Try the Ubuntu forums, and just google around, I'm also a linux n00b i started 2 months ago and i'm truly amazed by the wealth of information that is aviable on Linux, if you fine tune your googling skills you find everything

  9. #9
    Senior Member Diana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by buelligan View Post
    ...My third problem is that I can't figure out how to make Ubuntu see my Linksys WRT54GS router, but that's an Ubuntu issue.
    Although we've started talking about wireless, I'm still not clear how your computer is connected to your router - is it connected with a cable, or do you want to connect it by wireless?

    Two issues:

    1. The wireless connection between a squeezebox and your router is a separate matter from how your computer connects to the router. Assuming your router is allowing wireless access, the squeezebox will just connect to it when you input the details it asks for at startup. But...

    2. It's preferable to keep the wireless 'hops' between your computer that's running Squeezecenter and the Squeezebox to a minimum, so a wired connection between computer and router is better.

    So, before we get into sorting out wireless networking for your computer, please say whether you can wire your computer to your router, and what happens if you do.
    Last edited by Diana; 2008-04-05 at 23:05.

  10. #10

    Update

    First of all thanks to everyone for helping me out. I am connecting my computer (desktop) to my wireless router with a wired connection. And now, the embarrassing part; it appears that my wireless connection to my Squeezebox was working and I didn't know it. My router sits behind my monitor so I couldn't see the wireless activity indicator flashing.

    I didn't know it because I didn't do anything to configure it and the SB3 is the only device on the WLAN, so I had no way of testing. And since the SB3 came up with the display dimmed, I assumed (I really have to stop that!) that there was no connection. To my surprise, I am able to receive internet radio and my connection is stable.

    As a temporary measure, I loaded some of my library onto my on-board drive, and specified it in setup. The SB3 can browse the library, but it gets connection timed out errors. I am guessing that there is some permissions problem. I will be proactive and do some digging.

    Anyway, thanks to all for your help in getting me this far.
    buelligan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •