Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Update firmware: nb alloc failed in slimproto

    When i updated from slimserver to squeezecenter my squeezebox wants to do a firmware update but it can never finish. It always says nb alloc failed in slimproto and then reboots. I have tried wireless and not wireless and even connected to another computer but it doesn┤t matter

    My firmware is now 81 and seems to stay there forever...
    Last edited by evosex; 2008-04-01 at 02:49.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    No one that has a clue what it can be?

    I want to listen to my music again

  3. #3
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    I'd recommend you call/email support, not something I recall seeing before, and if you've tried resets (hold Add as you connect power) I don't know what else to suggest.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by radish View Post
    I'd recommend you call/email support, not something I recall seeing before, and if you've tried resets (hold Add as you connect power) I don't know what else to suggest.
    Yes i also tried to reset but no difference

    I read something about that firmware updates is being done in a different way with squeezecenter, and that is obviously the problem. I had no problem with firmware updates with slimserver.

    I have mailed to Slimdevices support yesterday, but no answer yet...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by radish View Post
    ..., not something I recall seeing before, ....
    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=45415

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43990

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43949

    ...

    And I have downloaded & installed SC7 about 10 times now, every 3-4 days...
    (Win XP), still; no go...

    Arne K

  6. #6
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobra2 View Post
    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=45415

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43990

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43949

    ...

    And I have downloaded & installed SC7 about 10 times now, every 3-4 days...
    (Win XP), still; no go...

    Arne K
    Ok, so there are two of you with the same problem. Redownloading the server isn't going to help you, something is unhappy in the SB itself. The other threads you linked to have nothing to do with this problem as far as I can tell, so I'm not sure what you want me to get from them.

    Like I said, I recommend you contact support.

  7. #7
    Founder, Slim Devices seanadams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,879
    Try connecting to Squeezenetwork and forcing an update by holding brightness

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by seanadams View Post
    Try connecting to Squeezenetwork and forcing an update by holding brightness
    I can connect to Squeezenetwork with no problem, but the same problem happens when i press brightness. nb alloc failed in slimproto

    The Squeezebox is still working perfect in Squeezenetwork and has never caused me any problems before, except from this updating problem

  9. #9
    Founder, Slim Devices seanadams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,879
    In that case something is probably wrong in the Squeezebox unit itself. I've never heard of this error under such normal circumstances - you may need to send it in. Sorry for the inconvenience.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by seanadams View Post
    In that case something is probably wrong in the Squeezebox unit itself. I've never heard of this error under such normal circumstances - you may need to send it in. Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Is it even possible to fix it or do i need to buy a new one? My warranty ran out one month ago, really funny.

    Why did i try to upgrade i ask myself

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •