Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Problem With SB3 Responding To Remote

    Hello everybody

    Firstly - can I just say that this is my first post. I've been lurking for four or five months now and finally got my SB3 two weeks ago (after a year and a half of persuading Mrs Boosh that we really needed one and, yes, curtains are more important).

    Squeezecentre is great - very intuitive and well laid out. The SB3 is absolutely superb, the size and devotion of the forums are a testament to just how good SB is.

    I have got one problem though: When a song is playing the remote responds perfectly - accessing / scrolling is nice and quick and the remote seems to function as it should.

    However, once a song or playlist ends the remote doesn't seem to function at all. I have to go back to the PC and start another song or switch the SB off.

    Squeezenetwork works without a problem when I first switch on - but I obviously can't get to it once the remote freezes.

    My network set up is quite basic - there's no other traffic apart from the SB.

    I have a Netgear DG834 router in the dining room. This links to the PC (running XP) and a homeplug connection.

    The homeplug emerges in the sitting room and goes into a Netgear switch. This then goes in to the back of the SB. I couldn't get the SB to obtain an IP address without the switch, but it worked first time going through the switch.

    SC7 is on my C Drive and music files are on a Freecom external drive.

    AVG provides anti-virus protection.

    The router has a firewall but, as far as I can tell, there are three exceptions in it allowing SB traffic through. I have the windows firewall on as well.

    I've disabled all screensavers in SB to no avail.

    Any advice and help will be very gratefully received.

    Mighty Boosh

    PS For anybody interested, the first artist to be played on my SB was the late, great Warren Zevon. RIP.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ceejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,314
    Not sure I have the magic answer, but a couple of observations.

    First, you didn't need to open up the firewall in the router to allow the slimserver ports through, unless you're intending to access slimserver from the internet. It won't be the cause of your problem, but close those ports off.

    Second, for troubleshooting, you might want to simplify the network a bit. What happens if you connect the SB directly to the netgear router?

    Finally, is iTunes involved at all? If it is, turn off the connection and see if that makes a difference.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10
    ceejay

    Thanks for your response. I've attached the SB directly to the router and the problem is still there (I've also taken out the firewall rules as you suggest).

    Could the problem be in the configuration of the router?

    Regards

    MB

  4. #4
    Senior Member ceejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,314
    Well, since the problem isn't solved yet its hard to be certain but ... it seems unlikely to be anything to do with the router. If both PC and SB are directly connected, and they can talk at all, then its probably ok.

    I'd look to the server configuration.

    You didn't answer the question about iTunes?

    Ceejay

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    See http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...formanceIssues

    Usually when this happens it means the server can't get data to the player. That's most often due to network bandwidth issues (probably not so in your case) or a congested server (more likely).

    The wiki article should indicate where the problem lies.
    Current: SB2, Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), SBC (early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta), Squeezebox Touch (late beta)
    Selling: Transporter
    Sold: SB3, Duet

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston area (NE USA)
    Posts
    662
    I had this same problem - and a squeezebox of approximately the same vintage (got it about two months ago, now).
    You could try resetting your squeezebox's settings back to default.
    Unplug the sb
    wait 3 seconds or more
    plug the sb back in while holding the [+] key down on the remote

    Sadly, this didn't work for me, but it was the first thing tech support suggested and it might work for you.

    Failing that, contact tech support, see what else they suggest, and get the unit replaced if none of those things work.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Problem With SB3 Responding To Remote

    Sorry - I meant to say that I use iTunes to manage my iPod only. I've got
    the iTunes options unchecked in SC7.

    I've rescanned a small test library on the C Drive, rather than on the
    external hard drive. There has been a very minor improvement in that the SB
    text now sometimes moves, albeit very, very slowly.

    Once again, when a song is cued directly from SC7 everything is fine. But as
    soon as that song or playlist end, the remote doesn't respond. I can access
    Squeezenetwork with no problem though, and the remote here is nice and
    responsive.

    I've taken the SB3 off the network and plugged it directly into the router
    along with the PC running the test library.

    I appreciate any and all help on this - I'll contact the logitech support
    address to see if they can shed some light as well.

    Thanks for your help.

    MB

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: "ceejay" <ceejay.34ojqz1202840101 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
    To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, February 12, 2008 6:10 PM
    Subject: Re: [slim] Problem With SB3 Responding To Remote


    >
    > Well, since the problem isn't solved yet its hard to be certain but ...
    > it seems unlikely to be anything to do with the router. If both PC and
    > SB are directly connected, and they can talk at all, then its probably
    > ok.
    >
    > I'd look to the server configuration.
    >
    > You didn't answer the question about iTunes?
    >
    > Ceejay
    >
    >
    > --
    > ceejay
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > ceejay's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=148
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43370
    >
    >

  8. #8
    Web Monkey mvalera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Under my desk
    Posts
    679
    Have you updated to a new nightly version? It could have been a bug, SqueezeCenter is in beta.

    Mike
    Michael Valera
    Internet Marketing Manager
    Corsair.com

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Problem With SB3 Responding To Remote

    Mike

    Following on from your message I downloaded Slimserver 6.5.4 and the issue
    has disappeared. The remote responds perfectly now.

    I'll follow this up with a bug report for SC7.0 - in the meantime I guess
    I'll need to stay with Slimserver, which is a shame because SC7.0 is a much
    nicer interface all round.

    Thanks to Mark and Bob for helpful repsonses.

    MB




    ----- Original Message -----
    From: "mvalera" <mvalera.34qtgn1202946001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
    To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
    Sent: Wednesday, February 13, 2008 11:37 PM
    Subject: Re: [slim] Problem With SB3 Responding To Remote


    >
    > Have you updated to a new nightly version? It could have been a bug,
    > SqueezeCenter is in beta.
    >
    > Mike
    >
    >
    > --
    > mvalera
    >
    > Michael Valera
    > Online Communities Manager
    > Logitech Streaming Media Systems
    > slimdevices.com
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mvalera's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=11086
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43370
    >
    >

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •