Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by schatzy View Post
    It seems from reading the linksys support site that you should in fact have WOL setting such as Magic Packet in the driver control panel
    Hi! Thanks for helping me out (this goes to everybody chiming in on this thread, really).

    Would you be so kind as to give me a link to this information you're referring to?

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    994
    BTW - I think I might have had a similar problem to you.

    Whenever my PC went into standby, it would instantly wake again.
    I discover that my Intel NIC had another WOL setting called WakeOnLink. Basically being connected to a router was enough to bring the PC out of standby. Because any traffic at all directed to the PC will cause the link activation.

    Check the settings in Device Manager->Network Adapters->Your Wired Nic

    When you locate your NIC, you maybe have to dig around on some tabs to find the settings for your card.

    Look here for the manual for your NIC, chapter 7

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=7281189795B05

    General product info

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=8979522279B10

    Oh yeah, if you find Wake On Link, disable it.
    Last edited by oreillymj; 2008-01-23 at 06:27.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    605
    The problem is there are no settings referring to WOL, Magic packets or Wake on Link. But the card is sold as being fully WOL compliant.

    I already looked into the manual, to see if I was missing them somehow. But there's not trace of them. I always supposed that the "Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby” and “Only allow management stations to bring this computer out of standby” were enough (one waking up on both link and magic packets, the other specifying the need for a magic packet to be received).
    Last edited by gorman; 2008-01-23 at 07:15.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Gardner, MA - USA
    Posts
    124
    The magic packet settings were in the Diagnostic Utility for the Version 2 and has been stripped from the Version 3 Diagnaostic Utility.

    Linksys has told me that there is other software that they recomend to be able to take better use of al the functionality of their EG1032 V3

    here are the links from Linksys online support. Just be ware these are third party and I do not have any experience with these, so risk in using these is up to you.

    http://www.depicus.com/wake-on-lan/wake-on-lan-gui.aspx
    http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/cont.../magic_pkt.exe

    http://www.matcode.com/wol.htm

    Schatzy

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by schatzy View Post
    The magic packet settings were in the Diagnostic Utility for the Version 2 and has been stripped from the Version 3 Diagnaostic Utility.

    Linksys has told me that there is other software that they recomend to be able to take better use of al the functionality of their EG1032 V3

    here are the links from Linksys online support. Just be ware these are third party and I do not have any experience with these, so risk in using these is up to you.

    http://www.depicus.com/wake-on-lan/wake-on-lan-gui.aspx
    http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/cont.../magic_pkt.exe

    http://www.matcode.com/wol.htm

    Schatzy
    Hi Schatzy! Thanks for your continued help.

    The problem with what Linksys told you is that those third party utilities are used to Wake up a different computer. You launch the magic packet from them, targeted at another NIC.
    And, btw, that functionality is present in the Diagnostic Utility for v3.
    What is lacking is the ability to configure the NIC to magic packet or simple activity. Other NICs expose it on their drivers settings tab. This card doesn't. But I'm not sure it's a limitation of the Realtek chipset or not.

    I've been trying to install the generic drivers from Realtek (which are far more recent, the Linksys ones were last updated in 2004). So far no luck.

  6. #26

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by oreillymj View Post
    Does this work well for you? Is it capable of differentiating from Wake on link and Wake on magic packet?

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357

    Unending trouble with Wake on LAN

    > > Does this work well for you? Is it capable of differentiating from Wake
    > on link and Wake on magic packet?


    I can't speak for that model (PRO/1000 GT) but I have a PRO/1000 MT in
    my PC running SqueezeCenter. It responds to Wake on Lan from the
    squeezebox and quite happily remains off when it is supposed to be
    off, with 3 squeezeboxes connected to the network.

    Richard

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    994
    I have an Intel PRO/100 VE network adapter.

    I'm extremely happy with it. As you'd expect from a huge company, Intel's driver support is excellent. WOL works fine with it.

    I'm using driver version 8.0.21.0 for this card released in June 2005, but I'm guessing that Intel still support the card and are still issuing updates to it.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    279

    Intel Gigabit NIC

    Works well for me on Windows, has a number of WOL settings in the driver:
    • Enable/disable Windows control of WOL
    • Enable/disable Wake-on-Link (in driver)
    • Determine whether traffic, a magic packet, or both will be can wake PC (in driver)

    My SlimServer is not on a Windows PC, so I can't confirm that the Intel gigabit NIC drivers work as expected with SB3, but would be surprised if it did not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •