Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9

    low sound on squeezebox thru surr snd system?

    I tried hooking my squeezebox up throu the audio ports on my PIONEER Home Theatre in a box system, but wen I switch to the audio 2 on the remote, I get very low sound coming thru my surr sound speakers.

    I hook up my turntable with a powered preamp? or filter before connecting to my HTB and it works great.

    Do I need a small amp before hooking into the audio ports on my HTB? if so, what is a recommended amp for that situation? it should be small and relatively inexpensive as it would only be for the squeezebox.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    The Squeezebox should be comparable in volume to your other components.

    Is the Squeezebox volume turned down? Press volume up on the SB remote.

    Is there any attenuation on the Preamp Volume Control? Player Settings - Audio, should be 0 (i.e. no attenuation).

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9

    low sound on squeezebox thru surr snd system?

    I turned the volume up on the squeezebox...I actually placed an audio/video (non powered) A/B switch on the audio jack on my HTB so I could switch between my turntable and the squeezebox. The turntable worked fine, but the squeezebox lost volume. The HTB is a PIONEER and is quite different from a conventional system...the amp and speaker hookups are actually on the subwoofer. The dvd player has the peripheral hookups for sat, audio, video etc. So, my sat receiver audio, turntable etc are hooked up on the back of the dvd player.

    That is why I think the squeezebox in this situation is not amplified.

    ????

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    Quote Originally Posted by duke2555 View Post
    I actually placed an audio/video (non powered) A/B switch on the audio jack on my HTB so I could switch between my turntable and the squeezebox.
    What happens if you bypass the switch and connect directly to the HTB? Just for experimentation purposes.

  5. #5
    Ben Sandee
    Guest

    low sound on squeezebox thru surr snd system?

    On Dec 7, 2007 12:39 PM, duke2555 <
    duke2555.318i8n1197052801 (AT) no-mx...limdevices.com> wrote:

    >
    > I turned the volume up on the squeezebox...I actually placed an
    > audio/video (non powered) A/B switch on the audio jack on my HTB so I
    > could switch between my turntable and the squeezebox



    If you are connecting the SB through the "phono" jacks, that could be the
    problem. Phono is not the same as all other RCA cable pair jacks. Do you
    have a CD-in or AUX-in that you can use at least to test?

    Ben


  6. #6
    You shouldnt connect the squeezebox up to phono but one of the aux connections. On my setup I am using the digital output of the squeezebox into a digital input of my amp. This does bypass the squeezebox dac but it does mean I can play dts files

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    622
    Also--ReplayGain (usually) reduces playback volume. It's off by default though. It's called "Automatic Volume Adjustment" by SlimServer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •