Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 60
  1. #11
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,156

    Wireless channel 13?

    I'm really not certain where I should post this stuff... or even if I'm welcome to post it.... but here goes anyway...

    I can't get my new Jive to see my wireless network. My guess is that it's 'cos I'm using channel 13. Has anyone got it to connect to 13?

    Yes I did select "Europe" on the opening set up screen.

    I've tried typing the settings in manually (oh why oh why did I choose such a long SSID?) but still no joy.

    My wireless network is:
    Channel 13
    G & B
    64 bit WEP encrypted (authentication: automatic)
    Broadcast SSID
    No MAC filtering.

    Any hints welcome.

    Cheers.

    MC
    Last edited by ModelCitizen; 2007-09-17 at 15:13.
    Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known
    Last.fm/user/ModelCitizen

  2. #12
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Got it! Cheers Dean.
    MC
    I had the same question, but just figured a little force would be ok. My next question is how to actually control my Squeezebox. I got it to recognize the wi-fi. I installed SS7. Now what?
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

  3. #13
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by ezkcdude View Post
    I had the same question, but just figured a little force would be ok. My next question is how to actually control my Squeezebox. I got it to recognize the wi-fi. I installed SS7. Now what?
    Well you're doing better than me. I can't get SS7 installed. The battery was no problem though ....

  4. #14
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Yes I did select "Europe" on the opening set up screen.
    If you back out of that setting, then go back, is it still saying Europe? At one point, the firmware wasn't handling anything other than America, thus CH13 would be invalid. I'm not sure which firmware version you might have, but it's an easy one to work around:

    Try changing channels temporarily.

    -kdf

  5. #15
    Senior Member ceejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    2,312
    Quote Originally Posted by kdf View Post
    If you back out of that setting, then go back, is it still saying Europe? At one point, the firmware wasn't handling anything other than America, thus CH13 would be invalid. I'm not sure which firmware version you might have, but it's an easy one to work around:

    Try changing channels temporarily.

    -kdf
    Similar problem here. Couldn't get my unit to connect to wireless at all - I have two WAPs on different channels (1 and 6) and couldn't connect to either of them. I seem also to have the firmware that won't let me change region to Europe, but if I'm using 1 and 6 is that a problem?

    In my case it turned out that the first problem was that the MAC address printed on the unit (00:04:20:1A:00:62) was completely wrong: its actually 00:13:e0:a1:58:ba and my MAC filtering was stopping it connecting.

    I've now allowed both addresses and I can connect to one wireless but not the other - no idea why, and life's too short to worry about that, at least I'm connected now and can move on to the next step.

    Odd about the MAC address though.

    Ceejay

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,921
    I found the wifi reception not great so get close to the WAP.

    If you have an SD card - it may be helpful to upgrade firmware manually by copying jive.bin from the nightly to the SD.

  7. #17
    Senior Member Siduhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    deepest, darkest, south-east London
    Posts
    3,238
    Quote Originally Posted by kdf View Post
    If you back out of that setting, then go back, is it still saying Europe? At one point, the firmware wasn't handling anything other than America, thus CH13 would be invalid. I'm not sure which firmware version you might have, but it's an easy one to work around:

    Try changing channels temporarily.

    -kdf
    Same here - Will not stick on "Europe" and keeps reverting to US & Mexico. Works if I select a lower channel.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dixon View Post
    Well you're doing better than me. I can't get SS7 installed. The battery was no problem though ....
    Can anyone who understands perl here help please.

    SS7 appears to depend on libjson-xs-perl & libfile-next-perl, neither of which are installable on ubuntu and via CPAN. They also don't appear to exist in the SS7 nightly tar file - so I am dead in the water as far as testing this remote is concerned.

    What are these modules, and why are they not available to me - and more importantly how do I install them?

  9. #19
    Ben Sandee
    Guest

    [SlimDevices: Jive] First Impressions - Jive hardware/software

    On 9/18/07, Patrick Dixon <
    Patrick.Dixon.2x3pan1190110201 (AT) ...limdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    >
    > Patrick Dixon;227669 Wrote:
    > > Well you're doing better than me. I can't get SS7 installed. The
    > > battery was no problem though ....

    >
    > Can anyone who understands perl here help please.
    >
    > SS7 appears to depend on libjson-xs-perl & libfile-next-perl, neither
    > of which are installable on ubuntu and via CPAN. They also don't
    > appear to exist in the SS7 nightly tar file - so I am dead in the water
    > as far as testing this remote is concerned.
    >
    > What are these modules, and why are they not available to me - and more
    > importantly how do I install them.



    They are on debian.slimdevices.com, if you are using Ubuntu then add the
    'unstable' repository to your sources.list.

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DebianPackage

    Ben


  10. #20
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Sandee View Post
    On 9/18/07, Patrick Dixon <
    Patrick.Dixon.2x3pan1190110201 (AT) ...limdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    >
    > Patrick Dixon;227669 Wrote:
    > > Well you're doing better than me. I can't get SS7 installed. The
    > > battery was no problem though ....

    >
    > Can anyone who understands perl here help please.
    >
    > SS7 appears to depend on libjson-xs-perl & libfile-next-perl, neither
    > of which are installable on ubuntu and via CPAN. They also don't
    > appear to exist in the SS7 nightly tar file - so I am dead in the water
    > as far as testing this remote is concerned.
    >
    > What are these modules, and why are they not available to me - and more
    > importantly how do I install them.



    They are on debian.slimdevices.com, if you are using Ubuntu then add the
    'unstable' repository to your sources.list.

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DebianPackage

    Ben
    Thanks Ben

    However I have
    deb http://debian.slimdevices.com unstable main
    in sources.list
    and it doesn't find them. Something, somewhere, in the debian install seems broken.

    OK - I've just looked and the 386 version appears very different to the amd64 version - which I guess I'm on. Who is maintaining the debian build?
    Last edited by Patrick Dixon; 2007-09-18 at 07:42.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •