Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Title Display

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    74

    Title Display

    Hello,

    I have a question concerning the format of my tracks are showed in the display.

    When I search music, I use the "music folder" option because I have made folders from a-z and in that folder for every artist a separate folder.

    I have one problem the tracks in the folders are showed in the display as the filename of the tracks and not as the id3 tags.

    I download a lot of music (included .cue file) and therefor I hope I don't have to change all the filenames.

    For example: I have a music file with the filename "MIKA - 01 - Relax Take It Easy". I would like to show it as "01 - Relax Take It Easy"

    I hope there is a way to show the music files by id3tag while using the "music folder" option.

    When I go into "artists" or "album" than the Squeezebox shows the ID3tag right but that is not the way I want to look for my music

    I hope my question is crystal clear for you guys and there is a way out

    Cheers.
    Jordi

  2. #2
    Senior Member erland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    11,077
    I don't have the answer to your question, but until someone else give you an answer I have some questions.

    Why do you want to browse by music folder if your music is correctly tagged ?

    Do you miss some browsing mechanism in the standard tag based browsing menus which results in that you need to use browse music folder ?
    Erland Isaksson (My homepage)
    Developer of many plugins/applets

  3. #3
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    I understand exactly what you mean, but unfortunitely SlimServer either uses the file structure, or it uses it's database which is derived from the tags. There isn't an option to use both.

    As it stands you are either going to have to brows your music the way SS displays it, or re-name your files to the way you want them to be displayed.

    Why don't you like the way SS displays your music? Did you know you can jump to the first letter of an artist by milti-tapping the number keys on the remote? So to jump to Mika, you would press 6. Scissor Sisters would be 7,7,7,7.

    Just thought. There is a custom browse plugin, i don't know if that would help you or not.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    74
    Hi Erland and Funkstar,

    @Erland, The reason I prefer of going through my music library manual is that I can see the artists/albums I have.

    If I use the remote for example I would forget a lot of albums/artists I have.

    Therefor I prefer browsing manual by alphabetical folders.

    @Funkstar, do you know the name of the custom browse plugin? And do you think it can do the job what I'm looking for?

    Cheers
    Jordi
    Last edited by jordi.c; 2007-08-25 at 08:29.

  5. #5
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    I don't get it. I don't see how you would remind yourself what albums you have when browsing through Music Folder as opposed to Album or Artist.

    How is your music stored and named?

    Mine is as follows:
    Code:
    FLAC
      ¦- Artist 1
      ¦  ¦- album 1
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦  ¦- album 2
      ¦
      ¦- Artist 2
      ¦  ¦- Album 1
      ¦  ¦
    etc.

    This is basically the same way as SS lists everything under the Artist list. Up and down on the remote to scroll through the artists and the right into their album list, up and down to view the list.

    Wouldn't viewing the Music Folder be exactly the same?

    The custom browse plugin is cleverly called... "Custom Brows Plugin"

    See the wiki: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?PluginsAudio

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by funkstar View Post
    I don't get it. I don't see how you would remind yourself what albums you have when browsing through Music Folder as opposed to Album or Artist.

    How is your music stored and named?

    Mine is as follows:
    Code:
    FLAC
      ¦- Artist 1
      ¦  ¦- album 1
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦      ¦- <artist> - <album> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
      ¦  ¦- album 2
      ¦
      ¦- Artist 2
      ¦  ¦- Album 1
      ¦  ¦
    etc.

    This is basically the same way as SS lists everything under the Artist list. Up and down on the remote to scroll through the artists and the right into their album list, up and down to view the list.

    Wouldn't viewing the Music Folder be exactly the same?

    The custom browse plugin is cleverly called... "Custom Brows Plugin"

    See the wiki: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?PluginsAudio
    My music is archived as follow.

    FLAC
    Artists A
    ¦- ABBA (ARTIST)
    ¦ ¦- 1992 - The Greatest Hits (YEAR - ALBUM NAME)
    ¦ ¦- <artist> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
    ¦ ¦- <artist> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
    ¦ ¦- <artist> - <track no.> - <title>.flac
    ¦ ¦- album 2 (YEAR - ALBUM NAME)

    Artists B
    ¦- etc.

    I will explain why I do this

    The first folder is of course for the Artist the subfolder I have first the year because than I can go fast to an old or new album of that artists.

    Also I think it is unnecassry to type the artist name again before the subfolder.
    I have the letters on the display at large so I want to see as much information as possible. The artist I already know, so the year and album name are the only vital information for the subfolder.

    Cheers
    Jordi
    Last edited by jordi.c; 2007-08-25 at 09:03.

  7. #7
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    I can't see how you can get round this without renaming all your files and sorting them into the folder structure you want.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by erland View Post
    I don't have the answer to your question, but until someone else give you an answer I have some questions.

    Why do you want to browse by music folder if your music is correctly tagged ?

    Do you miss some browsing mechanism in the standard tag based browsing menus which results in that you need to use browse music folder ?
    Hi Erland,

    Indeed I miss the feature of sorting the albums of an artist by year.

    I prefer the format:
    ARTIST NAME [main folder]
    YEAR - ALBUM NAME [subfolder]

  9. #9
    Robin Bowes
    Guest

    Title Display

    jordi.c wrote:
    > erland;222750 Wrote:
    >> I don't have the answer to your question, but until someone else give
    >> you an answer I have some questions.
    >>
    >> Why do you want to browse by music folder if your music is correctly
    >> tagged ?
    >>
    >> Do you miss some browsing mechanism in the standard tag based browsing
    >> menus which results in that you need to use browse music folder ?

    >
    > Hi Erland,
    >
    > Indeed I miss the feature of sorting the albums of an artist by year.
    >
    > I prefer the format:
    > ARTIST NAME [main folder]
    > YEAR - ALBUM NAME [subfolder]


    Er, that's possible with the std. interface.

    Click on an artist, and in the upper RHS of the left-hand frame there
    should be a drop-down list box. Choose "Year, Album". Job done.

    R.


  10. #10
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Bowes View Post
    Er, that's possible with the std. interface.

    Click on an artist, and in the upper RHS of the left-hand frame there
    should be a drop-down list box. Choose "Year, Album". Job done.

    R.
    wow. you learn something new every day! Thanks Robin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •