Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    14

    HA : Can I broadcast a signal to slimserver ?

    Hi Guys,

    I have a slimserver PC and a couple of squeezeboxes with some speakers about my home. I'm also looking at installing a few more with ceiling speakers and bits....A kind of distributed home audio system.

    I'm also curently playing with a few bits of Home Automation, particularly in respects to my cinema set-up and just hit on the idea of re-using some stuff that i already have - Ie the Squeezebox network.

    So, is it posible to do a broadcast to the squeezebox, say such as a doorbell message or similar - Ie briefly interupt the curent program, play the message then resume the current program for that box ???

    Would be a wonderfuly useful feature if its posible ???

    Thanks,
    Lee

  2. #2
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    Have a look at the Plugins that have already been written.

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?SlimServerPlugins

    Announcement may well do what you want as it can play a file and display a message from an external trigger:-

    http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver...m#announcement

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    14
    Hi There,

    It looks interesting, however it is a perl script and from having a quick read through it, it has only been tested on Linux. I'm running a win NT/2000 server for my server box !

    Ta,
    Lee

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    HA : Can I broadcast a signal to slimserver ?

    > It looks interesting, however it is a perl script and from having a
    > quick read through it, it has only been tested on Linux. I'm running a
    > win NT/2000 server for my server box !


    I've been running perl scripts on Windows platforms all the time - not
    only SlimServer related scripts. That's no problem.

    Michael


  5. #5
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    perl on Windows is essentially the same as perl on linux, so you can check it out easily by installing perl on your server. It's free software http://www.activestate.com/Products/ActivePerl/

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    14
    Hi There,

    Yeah i've used that before a long while back....However i still think of perl as linux based !

    Curiously do you have to run this script on the slimserver box, or can it be from anywhere ???

    Ta,
    Lee

  7. #7
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    They are slimserver plugins, so they must be installed in slimserver's plugins directory. Slimserver takes care of triggering the script.

    NB: slimserver itself is written in perl (although there is a compiled exe for Windows) and all the plugins are perl scripts.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by aubuti View Post
    They are slimserver plugins, so they must be installed in slimserver's plugins directory. Slimserver takes care of triggering the script.
    The Announcement script Patrick suggested is a standalone script that uses the CLI, so it does not need to run on the same machine as Slimserver itself. It will need TCP access to the CLI service on the Slimserver host, and appears to require that any sound files be accessible by the Slimserver application as simple files (I haven't run the script, but I expect Felix's note that $szSound should be "path on the machine where announcement.pl runs" is wrong, and $szSound should be the path on the machine where Slimserver runs).

    -Peter
    owner of the stuff at https://tuxreborn.netlify.com/
    (which used to reside at www.tux.org/~peterw/)
    Note: The best way to reach me is email or PM, as I don't spend much time on the forums.
    Free plugins: AllQuiet Auto Dim/AutoDisplay BlankSaver ContextMenu DenonSerial
    FuzzyTime KidsPlay KitchenTimer PlayLog PowerCenter/BottleRocket SaverSwitcher
    SettingsManager SleepFade StatusFirst SyncOptions VolumeLock

  9. #9
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    Oops! Sorry for the misinformation I posted, and thanks to Peter for setting it straight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •