Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

Syncing between SlimServer on Windows, iTunes on Mac

I'm new to Squeezebox and SlimServer. So new, in fact, that I haven't received the Squeezeboxes yet.

I'm reading the SlimServer Wiki and thinking about my network/environment and would like some advice on how things should be installed/configured. A bit of background first.

---Hardware---
    1 MacBook Pro laptop with iTunes (and iPod)
    1 Windows XP SP2 with external hard drive with 17,000+ .mp3 files that's nothing more than a file server (iTunes is *not* on this machine)
    1 Linksys WRT54G wireless router
    2 Squeezeboxes (soon)

---Software---
    iTunes on the Mac is configured to read the files on the Windows external hard drive.

SlimServer

Goals:
    1. Allow music to be played even when laptop is not on the network. To me this means that I need SlimServer on the Windows box. Is this correct?

2. Keep iTunes "last played" current so that my iPod can be updated. My iPod connects to iTunes through the MacBook Pro. Specifically, I have smart playlists that I listen to that are: Songs rated 4 or higher that haven't been played in 30/60/90 days. This means I'm always listening to songs I like, but haven't heard in a while.

Looking at the Wiki I found this:
    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...sGuideToiTunes

"...SlimServer looks for those tracks. Therefore SlimServer also needs to be able to see the music files. Does the path in iTunes XML have to match with SlimServer's view of files?"

Does anyone have an answer for the question from the wiki? I suppose the answer is irrelevant though if I end up installing iTunes on the Windows box.