Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Moved iTunes ALAC Library From One Drive To Another and Transporter Can't See It?

    I just finished relocating my iTunes library from the hard drive where it previously existed, to a new network drive. The new drive consists of three 500gb drives in Raid 5. I was able to move it succesfully and change iTunes to redirect there, but the Transporter somehow can't see those files. The only thing it does see on that drive is one track that I ripped using EAC.

    I know it can't access the handful of files that I purchased via iTunes, but what do I need to do to get it to access everything else?

    Thanks for any help with this.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Eric Seaberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    772
    Did you totally re-scan the library? Are you on a Mac? How about re-setting your iTunes prefs?

    I do use iTunes to rip files to Apple Lossless and for tagging, but prefer NOT to have Slim use iTunes' library. Change your library settings to look at /Volumes/(your external HD name)/iTunes library (if applicable).

    I just have a 500GB drive called Music. All artist folders appear when you double-click on the drive... therfore, my library setting is /Volumes/Music and it works. Obviously, I check "DO NOT USE ITUNES".

    g'luck!
    Eric Seaberg - San Diego
    A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
    eric@seaberg.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
    Did you totally re-scan the library? Are you on a Mac? How about re-setting your iTunes prefs?

    I do use iTunes to rip files to Apple Lossless and for tagging, but prefer NOT to have Slim use iTunes' library. Change your library settings to look at /Volumes/(your external HD name)/iTunes library (if applicable).

    I just have a 500GB drive called Music. All artist folders appear when you double-click on the drive... therfore, my library setting is /Volumes/Music and it works. Obviously, I check "DO NOT USE ITUNES".

    g'luck!
    Eric,

    Thanks for the info. Just to be sure, and please bear with me, I'm totally new to this, where exactly are you checking "DO NOT USE ITUNES" ?

    And where are you changing the library settings?


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member Eric Seaberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    772
    Connect to your server using a web-browser. If you're opening a browser on the server machine, go to "http://localhost:9000" (without the quotes). Look for the link SERVER SETTINGS. You should see the ITUNES options as well as a place to enter the new location of your music library.

    If you're connecting to the server from a different computer/browser, then you enter the server's IP address, i.e. "http://192.168.1.1:9000" (or whatever your IP is).
    Eric Seaberg - San Diego
    A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
    eric@seaberg.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12
    Eric,


    Thanks to your help, I think I'm almost there, but I'm having one last issue.

    My music is stored on my network drive which is D: on the pc used for the music server, and which I moved all the files to.

    I went into the Slim Server server settings and changed the setting to D:, the first time, rescanned it, and it verified and took the new setting, but the Transporter still didn't see the music.


    When I go to My Computer, the music is located at:
    D:\Music-Home\iTunes\iTunes Music

    I've tried to type that into the server settings "Music Folder" window, and rescanning, but it comes back with

    "new value for music folder rejected"

    oops D:\Music-Home\iTunes\iTunes Music doesn't seem to be a valid directory. Please try again."


    What am I doing wrong? And thanks again.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Eric Seaberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    772
    The only other thing I can think of is that you are STILL using the iTunes library folder setup, i.e. iTunes\iTunes Music. Try keeping your setting to USE ITUNES but type in D:\Music-Home\iTunes and leave it at that.


    Otherwise, someone else that's more PC savvy is going to have to chime in here. I'm a Mac guy, after all.
    Last edited by Eric Seaberg; 2007-04-08 at 20:33.
    Eric Seaberg - San Diego
    A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
    eric@seaberg.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    494
    SlimServer may not be recognizing the mapped drive. Have you tried entering as the music folder:

    \\Host\Music-Home\iTunes\iTunes Music

    where Host is the network name of your network drive?

    You should be able to find that name in "My Network Places."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •