Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    54

    Bye bye Squeeze Box, sob, sob, sniff, sniff...

    I used my squeezebox for about a year running of a Linux Fedora box. The wireless functionality stopped working and it sat in a box for a while.

    I bought a new barebone PC the other day especially for it as a SlimServer. After trying 3 flavours of Linux and finally XP I think it has bitten the bullet.

    I'm fairly technical and understand firewalls DHCP etc but the little b*gger won't connect.

    So whats the verdict? Shall I bin it and what shall I do with the barebone PC?

    :'(

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,354

    Bye bye Squeeze Box, sob, sob, sniff, sniff...

    > So whats the verdict? Shall I bin it and what shall I do with the
    > barebone PC?


    Just describe the current state in some more detail, and what you've tried
    before. Try to connect it using cable (not wireless). Does it power up at
    all?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    489
    Won't connect to router or to slimserver ?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    54
    Unfortunately not.

    "Obtaining IP address...."

    Screen goes blank. Tried factory reset. Resinstalled different OS's.


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    54
    I've been using a crossover cable to the PC and I've tried it connected on the network with normal ethernet cable.

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,354

    Bye bye Squeeze Box, sob, sob, sniff, sniff...

    > I've been using a crossover cable to the PC and I've tried it connected
    > on the network with normal ethernet cable.


    Can you access your slimserver from your PC? Did you try to configure it
    using fixed IP addresses? Can you ping the box from your PC?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR


  7. #7
    Senior Member servies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Groenlo, the Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Maybe DHCP isn't working correctly. Try to assign an IP address manually.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    54
    I tried manually assigning and it worked!

    Wow wee it worked!!

    Lets hope it isn't a temporamental issue. I got it working a week or so ago and it stopped working.

    Ok so it connected with XP. I don;t have a license for it so I'll try Ubuntu again. Fingers crossed.

  9. #9
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,156
    Check that it has the correct mac address. Sometimes Squeezebox's lose their correct Mac address and then you get exactly what you're descibing.
    I assume you've already factory reset it.
    MC
    Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known
    Last.fm/user/ModelCitizen

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    54
    Thanks, I've done a factory reset. I'm trying Ubuntu Desktop 6.10 to see how that goes.

    Fingers crossed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •