Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15

    Slim Server Woes

    Is there a way to configure Slimserver to stream without an internet connection?

    I'm running an SB3 wirelessly from a computer in my home office.

    I get random loss of service events with my connection to Comcast, but my network is humming along just fine. When I get disconnected from the internet my Slimserver stops streaming to the SB3. I assume (alwaya dangerous) this is becuase the Slimserver 'requires' an active connection to the internet to function properly.

    Can I configure it to run regardless of a connection to the internet? Am I way off base and it doesn't require an active connection to operate correctly. Is there another software that can stream to the SB3 without an active connection to the internet?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Matt

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    494
    No, you should not need an internet connection for SlimServer to play files that are on your local network. Check your network settings to make sure the SB3 is on the same subnet as the SlimServer machine. Maybe someone else will chime in with other ideas.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    Unless you're streaming Internet radio, it shouldn't be affected.

    However maybe it's your modem or router that's disconnecting you, and maybe that's having an impact? Perhaps one of them has its DHCP server go down, and if it's the router, perhaps it's rebooting?
    Current: SB2, Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), SBC (early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta), Squeezebox Touch (late beta)
    Selling: Transporter
    Sold: SB3, Duet

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for the responses.

    I'm not streaming internet radio, just my CD collection stored on my PC in the office.

    You guys got me to thinking though....

    I am NOT using a static IP on the PC and when it gets disconnected from the internet it is polling to find another available wireless netowrk to hook up to. I live in a Condo building with at least 10+ networks nearby and at least 4 of those are not secured.

    I suppose that is what might be happening to the connection? I get dropped by Comcast and then the PC hunts for another network to get internet connectivity even though I'm not interested in connecting to the internet, just maintaining my local wireless network connection and being able to stream to my SB3.

    Can I effectively eliminate this hunting by setting a static IP for my PC to my router?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Spidey9534 View Post
    You guys got me to thinking though....

    I am NOT using a static IP on the PC and when it gets disconnected from the internet it is polling to find another available wireless netowrk to hook up to. I live in a Condo building with at least 10+ networks nearby and at least 4 of those are not secured.

    I suppose that is what might be happening to the connection? I get dropped by Comcast and then the PC hunts for another network to get internet connectivity even though I'm not interested in connecting to the internet, just maintaining my local wireless network connection and being able to stream to my SB3.

    Can I effectively eliminate this hunting by setting a static IP for my PC to my router?
    Perhaps not. When you get disconnected from the Internet, you lose Internet access, sure, but you should still maintain wireless access with your router - unless it's the one that's actually failing, as I wondered.

    Most wireless utilities can be told to limit "roaming" and only connect to one AP.

    BTW - is your SlimServer wireless? This can cause its own set of problems.
    Current: SB2, Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), SBC (early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta), Squeezebox Touch (late beta)
    Selling: Transporter
    Sold: SB3, Duet

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    Yes,

    It's wireless per my first post. I know this might not be the best option, but it is the most reasonable with my current physical layout having the PC that has my collection of music located approx 45' away from my main stereo.

    I'm not sure about the router failing as I suspect that it might be the internet connection and thus the router is in roaming mode looking for a new net work to connect to,

    Matt
    Last edited by Spidey9534; 2007-02-26 at 17:58.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,904
    Quote Originally Posted by Spidey9534 View Post
    Yes,

    It's wireless per my first post. I know this might not be the best option, but it is the most reasonable with my current physical layout having the PC that has my collection of music located approx 45' away from my main stereo.

    I'm not sure about the router failing as I suspect that it might be the internet connection and thus the router is in roaming mode looking for a new net work to connect to,

    Matt
    This sounds more like the router failing than your ISP failing. Does your cable modem indicate it's reconnecting when you have problems with the PC connecting to the internet?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Spidey9534 View Post
    Yes,

    It's wireless per my first post. I know this might not be the best option, but it is the most reasonable with my current physical layout having the PC that has my collection of music located approx 45' away from my main stereo.
    Your SB is wireless, as is mine - that should work OK.

    What I was asking is whether the SlimServer computer is also wireless.

    I'm not sure about the router failing as I suspect that it might be the internet connection and thus the router is in roaming mode looking for a new net work to connect to,
    ? But it's your router that provides the connection to the Internet for your whole network. Do you mean to say you have wireless Internet? Short of very advanced WiMAX connections, this is exceedingly rare.

    What does your network look like? See http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?NetworkDesign Do you have your modem wired to your router, or does your router get Internet access by some other means?

    If the router loses Internet connection, it shouldn't do anything. However if a wireless client, like the SlimServer PC in your case, loses wireless connection then yes, it might go looking for another network.
    Current: SB2, Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), SBC (early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta), Squeezebox Touch (late beta)
    Selling: Transporter
    Sold: SB3, Duet

  9. #9
    Senior Member maggior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    nj
    Posts
    2,124
    Are you using any plugins (RSS ticker, weather, etc) or screen savers which require internet access. If so, perhaps disabling these would help.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    Sorry, you're quite right, I mistyped what I meant to say. It's NOT the router that is roaming, but my PC. DOH!

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperQ View Post
    This sounds more like the router failing than your ISP failing. Does your cable modem indicate it's reconnecting when you have problems with the PC connecting to the internet?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •