Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    355

    CLI - Telnet Client

    Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI? In addition what should be the settings? From the doc I see it outputs UTF-8 but how can I transalte the output parameters such as "%3A" to ":" by default?

    Many thanks,

    Paul
    Paul

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Squeeze Server 7.9 on Windows 2012 R2
    SB3 x1, Squeezebox Boom x 1 (Deceased - 2018), Radio with (battery) x 1, Touch x 1, piCoreplayer (with HifiBerry DAC+ Pro) x 1
    RIP - dBpowerAMP R16 to FLAC
    ID3 Tags - MP3Tag v2.89 & Discogs
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    133

    CLI - Telnet Client

    On 2/15/07, Paul_B <Paul_B.2m2atb1171569001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for
    > Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI?


    Start -> Run -> cmd -> telnet

    > In addition what should
    > be the settings? From the doc I see it outputs UTF-8 but how can I
    > transalte the output parameters such as "%3A" to ":" by default?
    >

    If you want to do this, you would likely need to use perl or some
    other scripting.

    -Chris

  3. #3
    Patrick Dowling
    Guest

    CLI - Telnet Client

    A very good and free one is PuTTY. I use it daily at work and have
    never had a problem with it.

    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/


    On Feb 15, 2007, at 3:15 PM, Chris Laplante wrote:

    > On 2/15/07, Paul_B <Paul_B.2m2atb1171569001@no-
    > mx.forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >>
    >> Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for
    >> Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI?

    >
    > Start -> Run -> cmd -> telnet
    >
    >> In addition what should
    >> be the settings? From the doc I see it outputs UTF-8 but how can I
    >> transalte the output parameters such as "%3A" to ":" by default?
    >>

    > If you want to do this, you would likely need to use perl or some
    > other scripting.
    >
    > -Chris
    >

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    1,774
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Laplante View Post
    On 2/15/07, Paul_B <Paul_B.2m2atb1171569001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for
    > Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI?


    Start -> Run -> cmd -> telnet
    [color=blue]
    He said "a good telnet client" ! Window's telnet is awful.

    Try any of these:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TELNET#Windows


    Search the forums - they are several CLI controllers and examples available.

    What are you trying to do?

  5. #5
    Robin Bowes
    Guest

    CLI - Telnet Client

    MrC wrote:[color=blue]
    > Chris Laplante;180863 Wrote:
    >> On 2/15/07, Paul_B <Paul_B.2m2atb1171569001 (AT) no-mx (DOT)
    >> forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >>> Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for
    >>> Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI?

    >> Start -> Run -> cmd -> telnet
    >>
    >>

    > He said "a good telnet client" ! Window's telnet is awful.
    >
    > Try any of these:
    > http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TELNET#Windows


    PuTTY also does telnet.

    There is a separate app to launch from the command-line: puttytel.exe, I
    believe.

    R.


  6. #6
    Senior Member Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    355
    Thank you MrC. I have used native Telnet client in Windows XP (it ain't good) and PuTTY to try to access the CLI. I am trying to play around with the CLI commands for use through my Home-Automation provider. They have released a new version that supports Slimserver and Squeezebox at a fairly basic level.

    I wanted to use a Telnet clent that was able to identify the escape characters and display the 'correct' symbol so I can play before feeding back with comments and scripts.
    Paul

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Squeeze Server 7.9 on Windows 2012 R2
    SB3 x1, Squeezebox Boom x 1 (Deceased - 2018), Radio with (battery) x 1, Touch x 1, piCoreplayer (with HifiBerry DAC+ Pro) x 1
    RIP - dBpowerAMP R16 to FLAC
    ID3 Tags - MP3Tag v2.89 & Discogs
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    1,774
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_B View Post
    Thank you MrC. I have used native Telnet client in Windows XP (it ain't good) and PuTTY to try to access the CLI. I am trying to play around with the CLI commands for use through my Home-Automation provider. They have released a new version that supports Slimserver and Squeezebox at a fairly basic level.

    I wanted to use a Telnet clent that was able to identify the escape characters and display the 'correct' symbol so I can play before feeding back with comments and scripts.
    Have a look at this thread. You can use the script there to replace the telnet client, and encode/decode sequences for you.

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...t=26293&page=2

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283

    CLI - Telnet Client

    On Thu, 15 Feb 2007 22:45:38 +0000, "Robin Bowes"
    <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com> said:[color=blue]
    > MrC wrote:
    > > Chris Laplante;180863 Wrote:
    > >> On 2/15/07, Paul_B <Paul_B.2m2atb1171569001 (AT) no-mx (DOT)
    > >> forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > >>> Can someone point me in the direction of a good telnet client for
    > >>> Windows that I can use with the Slimserver CLI?
    > >> Start -> Run -> cmd -> telnet
    > >>
    > >>

    > > He said "a good telnet client" ! Window's telnet is awful.
    > >
    > > Try any of these:
    > > http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TELNET#Windows

    >
    > PuTTY also does telnet.


    The Windows telnet is plenty good enough for the CLI. It's the
    Slimserver CLI that's awful (as in, not meant to be used by a human
    being over telnet). The %xx codes you see are not UTF encoded.

    Regards,
    Peter


  9. #9

    What settings to use with Putty

    Can anybody help me with the settings that I need to put in Putty to connect to the CLI?

    When I start it like this:

    putty -telnet -P <cli-port> <sc-server>

    the window open ups and waits but as soon as I type any commend, for example "restart" the window just closes and no restart is triggered.

    I also tried

    putty -raw -P <cli-port> <sc-server>

    but the result is the same.

    Any help is appreciated.

    I want to use Putty because telnet does not work properly on my Windows 7. I added it via the programs and features panel and it works if I call it manually from the start menu. However I cannot call it from batch scripts, which I'd need for automation.

    Kind regards, Robert
    Relevant Equipment: Synology DS-408; SqueezeCenter 7.5.0; SqueezeBox Classic; SqueezeBox Boom

    Photoblog: http://www.the-ninth.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283
    If you want to script look at plink. It's putty, but the command line version. It seems you might not need an interactive window.

    http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/...er7.html#plink

    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •