Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,531

    Is Repeat All the default setting for new players?

    Each time I set up a new SoftSqueeze client I notice that Repeat All is set. Or rather, I don't notice it until things start to repeat themselves. Is that intentional or is it a bug? Seems like an odd default.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    It's always been that way.

    Therefore it's not a bug, and it would be an enhancement to change it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,531
    So what's the reasoning behind having it the default? Other than "it's always been that way".

  4. #4
    Senior Member DrNic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Leaden Roding, UK
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    Each time I set up a new SoftSqueeze client I notice that Repeat All is set. Or rather, I don't notice it until things start to repeat themselves. Is that intentional or is it a bug? Seems like an odd default.
    Perhaps an "odd default" - but hardly a pain to change...
    Imagine the furor if it was changed to "no repeat" by default, those who like it that way will go into meltdown.

    - Posted with no malice intended -

    Nic

  5. #5
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,531
    Quote Originally Posted by DrNic View Post
    Perhaps an "odd default" - but hardly a pain to change...
    Imagine the furor if it was changed to "no repeat" by default, those who like it that way will go into meltdown.

    - Posted with no malice intended -
    Sure, very easy to change. Just struck me as really strange. It would be like turning on a CD player and having it power up in repeat mode.

    And it's always kick hearing the stories behind why some of these things work as they do in SlimServer. :-)

  6. #6
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    I turn it off on every one I install. I can only assume that it's an audiophile thing - you know, leave it on repeat for a few weeks to 'burn-in' before you listen ;-)

    But it's even harder getting an enhancement through than a bug fixed, so probably not worth worrying about ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •