Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    44

    SqueezeNetwork through SlimServer plugin?

    Is there any way to access the SqueezeNetwork through a Slimserver plugin? I use a number of SlimServer plugins that are not available when I use SqueezeNetwork (eg Weather and some of the scrolling plugins).

    Is there a reason why this can't be done?

  2. #2
    Former Squeezebox Guy andyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    7,396

    SqueezeNetwork through SlimServerplugin?

    On Jan 12, 2007, at 12:38 PM, SingleTrack wrote:

    >
    > Is there any way to access the SqueezeNetwork through a Slimserver
    > plugin? I use a number of SlimServer plugins that are not available
    > when I use SqueezeNetwork (eg Weather and some of the scrolling
    > plugins).
    >
    > Is there a reason why this can't be done?


    This is one of the things we plan to do for SlimServer 7.

  3. #3
    Senior Member byKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Grundman View Post
    On Jan 12, 2007, at 12:38 PM, SingleTrack wrote:

    >
    > Is there any way to access the SqueezeNetwork through a Slimserver
    > plugin? I use a number of SlimServer plugins that are not available
    > when I use SqueezeNetwork (eg Weather and some of the scrolling
    > plugins).
    >
    > Is there a reason why this can't be done?


    This is one of the things we plan to do for SlimServer 7.
    YES!

    My wife's grown fed up using our SB3s because she can never find what she's looking for on them. Invariably it's because she's looking for something that's on SqueezeNetwork (e.g., one of our Pandora stations) when the SB3 is talking to SlimServer.

    She's sick and tired of me reminding her to sign on to SqueezeNetwork first.

    "Why can't it just *WORK*?!?!?!!!!" she sighs.

    Indeed.
    Really, it was like that when I got here.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    44
    GREAT NEWS!

    My wife says exactly the same thing. She is always getting lost between the two modes. Integrating the two will ease the pain.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by byKnight View Post
    "Why can't it just *WORK*?!?!?!!!!" she sighs.
    Hah, exactly the same here mate.
    And in fact she does have a point!
    When is Silmserver 7 due?

  6. #6
    Member dc11ab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    91

    Wink

    I have to add to list of folks with a wife who have noticed and complained about the lack of SN and SS integration. How odd. It seems like a particular (fe)male design flaw factor

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by SingleTrack View Post

    I use a number of SlimServer plugins that are not available when I use SqueezeNetwork (eg Weather and some of the scrolling plugins).
    This is my main complaint as well. I love the weather screensaver, and it's really annoying to have to log off SqueezeNetwork before turning off my Squeezebox.

  8. #8
    Watcher of the Windows build
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,260
    Maybe I'm missing something very obvious, but why can't Slim Devices implement a feature in the SB3 firmware to recognize that the Slimserver is not available after a user-defined time out and switch to the SqueezeNetwork automatically? I do not keep my Slimserver on all of the time and have to find the remote to sign on to the SN whenever I shutdown my server. I was wondering if the following two settings could be implemented in the SB.

    1)Manual - As it currently works
    2)Automatic - If Slimserver/Slimnetwork is not available in x time switch to SN/SS. This option would also allow one to select either the SS or SN as the "Primary" connection. (Meaning that if the Slimserver is the primary connection and it times out connect to the SN, but every once in a while (user-defined) check to see if the Slimserver is available and switch back - Vise versa if the SN is the primary connection)

    I understand that this feature might interrupt a song/program in progress in the secondary conection, but if I'm given the above options then "I" can decide to switch to the "manual" option.

    A little screen icon showing weather I'm connected to the SS or SN would also help.

    A while back I questioned why some of these Weather/Sport Scores/Stock Ticker "Screensaver" plug-ins can not be implemented in the SN. I already have a VCR and DVR with LEDs showing me the time. As mentioned here my wife would also welcome a "passthru" to SN plug-in in the SS to seamlessly connect to the SN.

    Quoting the wife... "ON is ON why do I have to care about Slim this or Squeeze that?"
    Last edited by tamanaco; 2007-01-17 at 07:06.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    Re: SqueezeNetwork throughSlimServer plugin?

    > Maybe I'm missing something very obvious, but why can't Slim Devices
    > implement a feature in the SB3 firmware to recognize that the
    > Slimserver is not available after a user-defined time out and switch to
    > the SqueezeNetwork automatically?


    There are quite a few feature requests by Sean Adams himself which might
    cover this:

    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/buglist....ue0-0-3=easier

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •