Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    6

    Initial Slim Server "starting" problems

    I'm having issues with my initial setup of my SliMP3. The slimserver is in a constant state of "starting" and I can't access it via the browser.

    I've checked and have no firewalls/antivirus/antispy on, and
    I ran the netstat and nothing is on 9000, and
    I can ping my slimp3 fine,

    When I run "slim" from the command prompt, I get this:

    C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server>slim
    2007-01-07 21:49:47.5781 Warning: Migrating from 6.3.x used with MySQL!
    2007-01-07 21:49:47.6815 Database error: Can't create table '.\slimserver\metain
    formation.frm' (errno: 121) at /PerlApp/DBIx/Migration.pm line 115.
    2007-01-07 21:49:47.6828 ERROR: forceCommit: Trying to commit transactions befor
    e DB is initialized!

    Any idea what my problem might be?

    Thanks,
    -Shawn

  2. #2
    bum Ross L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    404
    Maybe try this:

    - click start
    - click run, type CMD and hit enter
    - in the dos promt, type : "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe" -remove
    NOTE: type in everything after type in:, including the quotes!
    - type in: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe" -install
    - hit enter, and reboot
    Ross L

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Ross.

    I get this result (regardless whether slim.exe is running or not):

    C:\>"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe" -remove
    OpenService failed: The specified service does not exist as an installed service

    C:\>"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe" -install
    slimsvc installed as SlimServer.

    Rebooting in a few minutes (have some files copying) to see if that fixed it.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    6
    That didn't fix it (didn't think so after the -remove command line response).

    Still in the "starting" stage...

    Any other suggestions?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    6
    Seems this is old hat. I was looking in the wrong forum.

    An uninstall, then a reinstall fixed it. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •