Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,152

    Transporter arrived but...

    Finally after hunting this thing around here in germany for some weeks it was delivered.
    Something is wrong or i am only to dump to set it up?
    Here is the humming it produces. Fresh out of the box recorded via my soundcard.
    Is it D.O.A.?
    Last edited by Wombat; 2006-11-29 at 14:55.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,156
    Mine makes a much more musical sound than that... with no noise whatsoever.
    Set it up properly and then see.
    Otherwise contact technical suppport.
    Sorry.
    MC
    Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known
    Last.fm/user/ModelCitizen

  3. #3
    Senior Member Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,152
    Nothing i can do... Just connected to Power and Line-Out.
    So it must be broken! Lucky me. If bet they even can┤t exchange it cause it was pretty rare in stock and back and forth shipping will take me at least 10 days...
    Fu&%3*!!

    btw.
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Mine makes a much more musical sound than that...
    grrrrr.

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Re: Transporter arrived but...

    > Nothing i can do... Just connected to Power and Line-Out.

    Check antenna cables to your tuner (remove them for a test). I had
    terrible hum before I added a filter.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    193

    Possible noise on your power circuit?

    Could this be your problem?

    http://www.audioholics.com/techtips/...oopcableTV.php

    - Tim

  6. #6
    Senior Member stinkingpig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    833

    Transporter arrived but...

    On 11/29/06, Wombat
    <Wombat.2i20ln1164837301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Finally after hunting this thing around here in germany for some weeks
    > it was delivered.
    > Something is wrong or i am only to dump to set it up?
    > Here is the humming it produces. Fresh out of the box recorded via my
    > soundcard.
    > Is it D.O.A.?
    >


    Nope, that's a ground loop. http://www.smr-home-theatre.org/Ground-Loops/

    First make sure you don't have a rat's nest of cable behind the stereo
    causing cross-talk -- I solved my last ground loop problem by bundling
    each cable up with a zip tie. (And I do mean rat's nest.... server,
    CRT monitor, printer, tivoli model two plus subwoofer, Squeezebox 2,
    fm and am antennas, two ethernet switches, two wireless routers,
    printer, three laptops, cisco router, three power strips, and assorted
    USB geegaws.)

    Next, follow the tips in that article.

    --
    "I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
    So across the Western ocean I must wander" -- traditional

  7. #7
    Senior Member Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,152
    Not exactly. There is no TV cable near. but it for sure has something to to with this ground loop. I tried it in 2 different rooms and setups. Sound varies but never goes away.

  8. #8
    Founder, Slim Devices seanadams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,879
    Quote Originally Posted by Wombat View Post
    Finally after hunting this thing around here in germany for some weeks it was delivered.
    Something is wrong or i am only to dump to set it up?
    Here is the humming it produces. Fresh out of the box recorded via my soundcard.
    Is it D.O.A.?
    Sounds like 50Hz line hum... have you tried it in two completely different systems? I am guessing since you recorded with your sound card that it was a separate enviornment from your hifi?

    In the firmware setup menu please see View Current Settings -> AC Line Voltage. Do you have a reasonable reading? (i.e. 230-240V).

    Also make sure Transporter is on the same grounded power strip as your receiver.

    If you call tech support they may be able to walk you through it a little better and hopefully pinpoint the problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,152
    Well. There are only my monoblocks and the Transporter plugged in my living room -> humming
    In my Pc-Room i tried to disconnect everything but the pieces i need for testing. Transporter to PC -> humming. I have a TV card in my PC. When attaching an antenna the humming changes!
    So i doubt i can do something at all..
    Other pieces don┤t do this so it must be a fault in the Transporter.

    Just saw your reply Seanadams. It shows 229VAC.

  10. #10
    Founder, Slim Devices seanadams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,879
    Can you see what happens if you float (disconnect) Transporter's ground? One way to do this is to break the ground pin off of a spare power cord or a cheap power strip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •