Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108

    Still having MusicMagic Problems

    So, last week I upgraded to SlimServer v.6.5. Since then, I have not been able to get MusicMagic to work correctly. I've reinstalled SlimServer a couple of times. I have no idea what the deal is. It's surprising to me that I'm the only one with this problem. Also, there seems to be a lot of duplicate song entries according to Slim Server. At this point, I feel like backing up to a previous version. Does anyone know where I can get v6.3?
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

  2. #2
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Still having MusicMagic Problems

    On 4-Oct-06, at 7:17 PM, ezkcdude wrote:
    >
    > anyone know where I can get v6.3?
    >

    not hard to find now that we have a nifty search feature on the forum.

    but, here it is anyway:
    http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads

    -k


  3. #3
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Thanks! I'll try this and see what happens.
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

  4. #4
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    I uninstalled SlimServer, and then reinstalled 6.5 (after trying 6.3 which didn't work). Now, I don't see any MM icons in the SS GUI. However, I can send MM playlists to SlimServer from the MM executable. So, for now, I guess that's good enough. I just don't understand why I lost the ability to make playlists from within SS itself.
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

  5. #5
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Re: Still having MusicMagic Problems

    On 5-Oct-06, at 5:52 AM, ezkcdude wrote:

    >
    > I uninstalled SlimServer, and then reinstalled 6.5 (after trying 6.3
    > which didn't work). Now, I don't see any MM icons in the SS GUI.
    > However, I can send MM playlists to SlimServer from the MM executable.
    > So, for now, I guess that's good enough. I just don't understand why I
    > lost the ability to make playlists from within SS itself.
    >

    c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic

    -kdf


  6. #6
    Simon Still
    Guest

    Re: Still having MusicMagic Problems

    Musicmagic is not working for me either - hitting the mm icons in the
    webinterface generates an empty list. I'll try to find time to look into
    it.


  7. #7
    Senior Member ezkcdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon Still View Post
    Musicmagic is not working for me either - hitting the mm icons in the
    webinterface generates an empty list. I'll try to find time to look into
    it.
    That's exactly what was happening to me at first. Now, after trying several different things, I can even get the MM icons back. In a way, I'm sort of glad to hear I'm not the only one having difficulty.
    There are 10 kind of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
    ShinyMetal
    Site| RSS |Forum

  8. #8
    Simon Still
    Guest

    Re: Still having MusicMagic Problems

    the log is showing

    MusicMagic: read cacheid of 0MusicMagic: got status - idle

    and i get a blank page when i try to create a mix

    What does that mean?


  9. #9
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493
    well, for one, the cacheid shouldn't ever be zero. there should also be a carriage return after it (at least with latest nightly builds).


    If you run from command line with --d_musicmagic does is say anything bad?


    also, when you try to create a mix, there should be more messages about "creating a mix" or "no type specified" etc, so this log snippet is not enough info to make any conclusions about mising problems
    -kdf

  10. #10
    Senior Member ob_kook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    242

    same problem - did you solve yours?

    Hi guys,

    I have the same problem as you and am wondering if you have been able to resolve yours? After upgrading to 6.5, I was getting empty play lists. Tried rescans etc, and finally to resolve a different issue, I upgraded to the 10-15 nightly.

    Now I do not even have the little mix icons on my library listings. I do have the "Use MusicMagic" option checked.

    I'm not sure where to go next - maybe try the beta which was listed from Predixis website, but if you have found a way to solve the problem already, I would be most interested in hearing it!

    Kook

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •