Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 104
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Haarlem, the Netherlands
    Posts
    14

    problem connecting to SN

    I'm having a similar problem connecting to SN. It was working fine until a few days ago.
    Any one have any ideas on how to get more information to locate the problem?

    The SB just says connecting to Squeezenetwork and then goes blank which is not much infomation to go on.

    My setup is:
    Slimserver 6.3.1 running on a Synology DS106
    Squeezebox 3 wireless /Firmware 55
    NETGEAR ADSL Router DG834G

    I would appreciate any help.
    Regards,
    Andy
    Last edited by andy1966; 2006-10-22 at 15:07.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Haarlem, the Netherlands
    Posts
    14

    Smile Cannot connect to squeezenetwork

    Not sure what the problem was but my connection to the squeezenetwork is working again.

    I deleted my SB from my SN account, then the squeezebox showed a new PIN number when I powered it up again. I filled this in on SN
    and then it was working again.
    Andy

    Squeezebox Classic / Chromecast Audio / Logitech media server 7.9 / HP media sever EX485 with Windows Home server V1

  3. #13
    Senior Member byKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by andy1966 View Post
    The SB just says connecting to Squeezenetwork and then goes blank which is not much infomation to go on.
    I encountered something similar yesterday. I had powered down my DSL modem and wireless router for a spell while I moved some furniture around.

    When I had everything back up, I checked to make sure my SB3 in the next room could still play my music. No problem.

    But it couldn't connect to SN. It had worked fine earlier in the day before I had powered down the modem and router. But now the SB3 screen would just report "Connecting to SqueezeNetwork..." and then go blank after several seconds.

    On a whim, I held down the Brightness button on the remote to force a firmware update on the SB3 (even though the firmware was already up-to-date). After that, my next attempt to connect to SN succeeded immediately.

  4. #14

    Thumbs up Good one byKnight

    Hi byKnight

    I noted that your whim worked for you so tried the same....I can now access internet radio. My SB3 firmware was also up to date at the time but the old finger on the brightness control seems to have done the trick.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15

    Didn't work for me

    I tried but the firmware non-update didn't help. I think it was updating the firmware that marked the beginning of this problem for me...

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    12

    More or less the same issue here...

    I can stream mp3s, connect to Internet Radio, AlienBBC and so on. BUT when I try to connect to SqueezeNetwork the SB3 screen goes to small font, then black. Error message is "Problem: can't connect to SqueezeNetwork" Now... I took delivery of this SB this morning at work, set it up there and it all worked (including SqueezeNetwork) - but when I took it home and plugged it in, no joy on SqueezeNetwork (which is a pain cos I subscribed to Pandora at work.) I'm wondering if it has something to do with the change of IP address? I've deleted the player in Squeezenetwork, reset the firmware, reset the SB to factory defaults, but still no connection. Have double checked router and firewall (don't think it's at fault as I can stream Internet Radio ok, so obviously making external connections is working.)

    Firmware v55, SlimServer 6.3.1, incidentally.

    Any help appreciated!

    Alan

  7. #17
    Former Squeezebox Guy andyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    7,396

    Re: Can't connect to Squeezenetwork

    On Oct 31, 2006, at 3:43 PM, AlanF wrote:

    >
    > I can stream mp3s, connect to Internet Radio, AlienBBC and so on. BUT
    > when I try to connect to SqueezeNetwork the SB3 screen goes to small
    > font, then black. Error message is "Problem: can't connect to
    > SqueezeNetwork" Now... I took delivery of this SB this morning at
    > work,
    > set it up there and it all worked (including SqueezeNetwork) - but
    > when
    > I took it home and plugged it in, no joy on SqueezeNetwork (which is a
    > pain cos I subscribed to Pandora at work.) I'm wondering if it has
    > something to do with the change of IP address? I've deleted the player
    > in Squeezenetwork, reset the firmware, reset the SB to factory
    > defaults, but still no connection. Have double checked router and
    > firewall (don't think it's at fault as I can stream Internet Radio ok,
    > so obviously making external connections is working.)


    Your SB needs access to the internet. Your firewall is probably
    blocking it. You should also upgrade to 6.5.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103
    Make sure your gateway and DNS server settings on the SB are correct.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    12

    Well...

    Doesn't the fact that I can connect and listen to Internet Radio? (BBC World Service, and many others) indicate that a) my SB can see outside and b) DNS and gateway settings are ok?

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    12

    Ugraded to 6.5.0

    Now at firmware v64. No change.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •