Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    104

    Slim Server Loaded Before It Will Play?

    Here's something I don't remember about 6.3. I seem to have to load slim server 6.5 before it will play music. Did 6.3 always behave this way?

    I can shut down slim server and it will continue to play but the first time I crank up the computer I have to start slim server to play music - is this normal?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    79
    Yes, SilmServer needs to be started to play music.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    104
    Thank you 111111

  4. #4
    Senior Member ceejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,314
    Quote Originally Posted by LHawes View Post

    I can shut down slim server and it will continue to play ...
    ... only if you're listening to internet radio, of course! Just remember that the SB is a very dumb device and needs to be connected to a slimserver (could be squeezenetwork) to do anything. But once connected to an internet radio station it will continue.

    Ceejay

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by ceejay View Post
    ... only if you're listening to internet radio, of course! Just remember that the SB is a very dumb device and needs to be connected to a slimserver (could be squeezenetwork) to do anything. But once connected to an internet radio station it will continue.

    Ceejay
    Except last night when I closed the Slim Server window it kept playing my music files, not internet radio.

  6. #6
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,825
    Quote Originally Posted by LHawes View Post
    Except last night when I closed the Slim Server window it kept playing my music files, not internet radio.
    It will play for a little while until it runs down the buffer. But if it kept playing for longer than that, the server was still running. Closing the web ui window does not stop the server. If you're running Windows, check the system tray for the slimserver icon.

    Getting back to your original question, it sounds like when you installed 6.3.1 you selected the option to start slimserver when the computer started. And it sounds like when you installed 6.5 you did not select this option, hence the need for manual starting of the server. If that is indeed the case, you can change it to start automatically via Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services > SlimServer > Properties > Startup Type > Automatic (assuming Win XP).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •