Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    With 6.5, how to switch to mysql?

    I just upgraded to 6.5 on a RHES4 box, and would like to use the mysql
    db. Are there some configuration docs on where I switch to mysql?
    Obviously the default still uses the sql-lite db.

    Thanks

    __________________________
    Johnny Stork
    Open Enterprise Solutions

    "Empowering Business With Open Source Software"

    http://www.openenterprise.ca (Technology & Business)
    http://www.dreamscapemedia.ca (Photography and Media)
    http://www.mountainlinux.ca (Linux Users Group)
    http://www.squamishblog.ca (Blog)




  2. #2
    Ben Sandee
    Guest

    With 6.5, how to switch to mysql?

    On 9/21/06, Johnny Stork <stork (AT) openenterprise (DOT) ca> wrote:
    >
    > I just upgraded to 6.5 on a RHES4 box, and would like to use the mysql
    > db. Are there some configuration docs on where I switch to mysql? Obviously
    > the default still uses the sql-lite db.
    >


    No, mysql is the default and if you're running 6.5 you're already using it.
    sqllite is long gone.

    Ben


  3. #3

    With 6.5, how to switch to mysql?

    Thanks....just realized that...but like many people I am sure, I already
    have a running instance of mysql so how do I set it up to use the
    existing instance...no point in running two and I am getting errors in
    /tmp/slimserver.log which seem to point to a prob lem



    InnoDB: Unable to lock ./ibdata1, error: 11
    InnoDB: Check that you do not already have another mysqld process
    InnoDB: using the same InnoDB data or log files.
    InnoDB: Unable to lock ./ibdata1, error: 11
    InnoDB: Check that you do not already have another mysqld process
    InnoDB: using the same InnoDB data or log files.
    InnoDB: Unable to lock ./ibdata1, error: 11
    InnoDB: Check that you do not already have another mysqld process
    InnoDB: using the same InnoDB data or log files.
    060921 15:53:45 InnoDB: Unable to open the first data file
    InnoDB: Error in opening ./ibdata1
    060921 15:53:45 InnoDB: Operating system error number 11 in a file
    operation.
    InnoDB: Error number 11 means 'Resource temporarily unavailable'.
    InnoDB: Some operating system error numbers are described at
    InnoDB:
    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Op...ror_codes.html
    InnoDB: Could not open or create data files.
    InnoDB: If you tried to add new data files, and it failed here,
    InnoDB: you should now edit innodb_data_file_path in my.cnf back
    InnoDB: to what it was, and remove the new ibdata files InnoDB created
    InnoDB: in this failed attempt. InnoDB only wrote those files full of
    InnoDB: zeros, but did not yet use them in any way. But be careful: do
    not
    InnoDB: remove old data files which contain your precious data!
    060921 15:53:45 [ERROR] Can't start server: Bind on TCP/IP port: Address
    already in use
    060921 15:53:45 [ERROR] Do you already have another mysqld server
    running on port: 9092 ?
    060921 15:53:45 [ERROR] Aborting

    060921 15:53:45 [Note] /usr/local/slimserver/Bin/i386-linux/mysqld:
    Shutdown complete

    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    2006-09-21 15:57:03.4647 scanPathOrURL: Finding valid files in:
    /mnt/Media/Music/Classic Rock/Led Zeppelin
    2006-09-21 15:57:03.4655 About to look for files in
    /mnt/Media/Music/Classic Rock/Led Zeppelin
    2006-09-21 15:57:03.4686 For files with extensions in:
    [(?i-xsm:\.(?:ape|wma|asf|wax|asx|lnk|wpl|shn|wav|wave| mp3|mp2|m3u|pls|x
    spf|flc|flac|m4a|mov|m4b|mp4|cue|mp+|mpc|ogg|aif|a iff)$)]
    2006-09-21 15:57:03.5063 Found 51 files in /mnt/Media/Music/Classic
    Rock/Led Zeppelin
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    2006-09-21 16:02:13.2894 About to look for files in /mnt/Media/Playlists
    2006-09-21 16:02:13.2915 For files with extensions in:
    [(?i-xsm:\.(?:asf|wax|asx|lnk|wpl|m3u|pls|xspf|cue)$)]
    2006-09-21 16:02:13.2972 Found 1 files in /mnt/Media/Playlists
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file
    File '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/?.conf' not found (Errcode: 2)
    Character set '#33' is not a compiled character set and is not
    specified in the '/usr/share/mysql/charsets/Index' file




    _____

    From: Ben Sandee [mailto:tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com]
    Sent: Thursday, September 21, 2006 4:06 PM
    To: Slim Devices Discussion
    Subject: Re: [slim] With 6.5, how to switch to mysql?



    On 9/21/06, Johnny Stork <stork (AT) openenterprise (DOT) ca> wrote:


    I just upgraded to 6.5 on a RHES4 box, and would like to use the
    mysql db. Are there some configuration docs on where I switch to
    mysql? Obviously the default still uses the sql-lite db.


    No, mysql is the default and if you're running 6.5 you're already
    using it. sqllite is long gone.

    Ben









  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,421

    With 6.5, how to switch to mysql?

    Am 22.09.2006, 01:10 Uhr, schrieb Johnny Stork <stork (AT) openenterprise (DOT) ca>:

    > Thanks....just realized that...but like many people I am sure, I already
    > have a running instance of mysql so how do I set it up to use the
    > existing instance...no point in running two and I am getting errors in


    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...LReplaceSQLite

    While it says it was pre 6.5 only, the instructions are still ok. At least
    slimserver picked up my changes I did that way for 6.3 and connected
    straight to my MySQL server.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

  5. #5
    Senior Member erland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    11,048
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Herger View Post
    While it says it was pre 6.5 only, the instructions are still ok. At least
    slimserver picked up my changes I did that way for 6.3 and connected
    straight to my MySQL server.
    I have been using 6.3 with mysql and when I switched to 6.5 I had to change:
    Code:
    dbsource: dbi:mysql:database=slimserver
    To:
    Code:
    dbsource: dbi:mysql:hostname=127.0.0.1;port=3306;database=slimserver
    Slimserver itself seems to partly work without this change, but the scanning process failed to connect to mysql if I didn't make this change. With 6.5b2 they both work but with 6.5.0 only the later seems to work, at least this is the case in my setup.
    Erland Isaksson (My homepage)
    Developer of many plugins/applets

  6. #6
    Senior Member hickinbottoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wokingham, UK
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Herger View Post
    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...LReplaceSQLite

    While it says it was pre 6.5 only, the instructions are still ok. At least
    slimserver picked up my changes I did that way for 6.3 and connected
    straight to my MySQL server.
    I did some work on those pages last night and added the following:

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...gMySQLInstance

    The idea was that this page would tell you how to connect to your existing MySQL instance rather than SlimServer using its own.

    Have a look at that and if you've anything to add then just amend it. I suspect this will be a common request.

    erland's workaround earlier seems similar to the one I've already documented on that page, but it might be worthwhile adding that one, too.

    Stuart
    "Never put off until tomorrow what you can put off until the day after - with Lazy Searching!"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5
    Many people are having problems connecting to their MySQL database once they have it all setup.

    Please test connecting to your database outside of slimserver using "mysql -u <user> -d <database> " etc...

    Something I noticed diffrent form the older config file is that the config file has "'"s for its dbpassword field (ie. dbpassword: '')

    You need to remove the "'" and just have your password

    ie... dbpassword: password

    Note: also if you are executing ./slimserver.pl it is executing as the user you are logged in as (ie. as root) where as the init.d is using the slimserver user that should have been created per instructions...

    The easiest way to check this stuff is to "tail -f /tmp/slimserver.log"
    Last edited by piglith; 2006-09-22 at 02:01.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •